Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Carden School of Fresno

Private | K-8 | 155 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fresno

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $139,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2013

Carden school of Fresno is one of the best schools in Fresno unlike St Anthony and Granite Ridge Carden's teacher teach important lessons that will help you succeed in life. When I went to Carden in 7th grade the teachers were wonderful especially the teacher in the English Department who revealed all interesting novels such as Hemingway, Stevens and Bradbury. When your child goes to our school he will be prepared for his journey to high school and beyond and will be ahead of all the other children, our 8th grade of 2013 class scored post high school. Off all my 3 years of going to Carden I would like to say thank you to the principals for the timeless effort to make our school great. Former Student


Posted November 14, 2010

My child transition to public school, but math was below for acceptance to Algebra, despite getting A's at Carden
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

My four year daughter completed the Carden JK 3/4 year old program in June. She is a very active outgoing child so when we enrolled her we were concerned about her ability to sit still and learn in the Carden environment. Not only did she excel she can't wait to get back there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

Carden is an excellent academic school. However, they push the children to advance above their abilities. It is done too early in their development. We found our daughter exceeding academically but being so overwhelmed that she did not enjoy school at the age of 4. Moreover, there is not enough emphais on other aspects of learning to make a child complete. Carden needs to be careful of it's strict expectations. There are ways to make learning enjoyable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

I have both of my children at Carden, and I was a student of Carden myself from K-8th grade. I can't say enough great things about this school. The teachers are fantastic, and the curriculum is far superior to any other I've seen. Not only are my children performing well above grade level (and loving their studies), but their schooling reinforces the values we teach at home: discipline, ethics, hard work, and being well-rounded. I think it's rare to find these attributes, especially combined with a warm, loving atmosphere. Carden School does exactly that. I would recommend this school wholeheartedly to anyone looking for a top-notch education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

I have 2 children that attend Carden School of Fresno. I have nothing but praise for the teachers and staff of this school. The curriculum is challenging and it keeps my children stimulated. I also completely believe in the current parent run school board. What attracted me to the school was the fact that the school has a strict code of conduct. It isn't for everybody but if you want a structured well disciplined jump start on your childs future, I recommend you send them to Carden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

I am a recent graduate from Carden School of Fresno. While at Carden, I seldom realized the outstanding material I was learning. After graduating from Carden in 2008, I took SAT I. You can not believe how simple most of the questions were to me, because of my background as a Carden student. You will not regret sending your child to this school. After your child's journey at Carden, he/she will be as proud as I am when we say 'I am a Carden School of Fresno student.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

I am a recent graduate from Carden School of Fresno. While at Carden, I seldom realized the outstanding material I was learning. After graduating from Carden in 2008, I took SAT I. You can not believe how simple most of the questions were to me, because of my background as a Carden student. You will not regret sending your child to this school. After your child's journey at Carden, he/she will be as proud as I am when we say 'We are Carden School of Fresno's students.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2008

Carden has taught my son so much, he's has learned so much, his mind gets challenge every day. Small classes make it easier for teachers to interact more with each students. great school highly recommended to anyone who wants their child to reach their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2007

great education, although the classroom for Pre-K was a bit cramped in the bungalow
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

Our daughter has attended COS since kindergarten and is now in the 5th grade. As parents we notice that, as a rule, Carden students reflect the school's emphasis on character and individual responsibility. We have always been impressed with the way even the oldest students relate to our daughter. This school maintains a high academic standard and is easy to recommend. Don't be put off by the sub-standard facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

My husband and I are both professionals and we have found Carden's reputation to be greatly exaggerated. Carden has some talented teachers, but the leadership has been, at best, problematic. The school is also quite weak in its science curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

Carden offers a terrfic academic experience. Carden is a school where the child comes first the school strives for academic excellence and is a safe nurturing enviroment. The teachers are terrific, kind aknowledgeable and [caring]. The Director is a the reason we enrolled. She educated us on the Carden Method and how it can bring out the best in our children. The one draw back I see is the parent run board which can seems to on ocasion put their childs interest above the good of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2006

Great caring nututing enviroment. Provides a holistic learning experince benefiting the whole child. Terrific teachers, Director is wonderful, Music program is outstanding, French Teacher is great, Wonderful gym teacher. Jsut a great enviroment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

Carden School has been a great disapointment. It's true that there are some fabulous teachers, but the overall curriculum is inferior to the public schools (with the exception of language arts).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

Absoultly a great educaional experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

Carden has lots to offer-music, french, and computers, however, the director doen't generate a good moral amongst staff and sometimes has an agenda all her own. Communication lacks most times between her and staff. Staff has a good knowledge and foundation of Carden curriculum and teaching to the levels of each child.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 26, 2006

This is a fantantastic school with a curriculum that focuses on the basics. Your child will be prepared for the future!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 24, 2006

Great school - Terrific Curriculim, Wonderful teachers, Campus does not p[resent well buyt the education is first rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

Carden School of Fresno may not look like much from the street view. I hoped that the quality of education within the classrooms were of a higher standard than the sub-standard, aging building. I have been pleasantly pleased with the quality of education, emphasis on character and encouragement of extra activiies, i.e. French, Music, Drama and Computer classes. I have found the majority of parents to be highly concerned and especially involved the education and care of their children. Each of the families I have met recognize the importance of education. The teachers are committed to the Carden method and the continuity of method is valuable as children change grades. I am very pleased with our decision to enroll our children at Carden School of Fresno.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 71%
Two or more races 22%
Black 3%
Hispanic 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2%
Asian 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carolyn Carter-DeMoss
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (559) 323-0980

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6901 North Maple Avenue
Fresno, CA 93710
Website: Click here
Phone: (559) 323-0126

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT