Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John C. Fremont Elementary School 4

Posted April 27, 2013
- a parent
Fremont is a strong school. It has a cohesive staff that responds well to parent input . There are assemblies, celebrations, sports day, welcome parent activities, book fair, etc. They recently implemented a school-wide anti-bullying plan to prevent any proliferation of bullying. My criticism is the lack of consideration for working parents. During my daughter's K year, the then-principal refused to have after-school care for K students, stating there wasn't a need nor room on campus. No survey, no input, just her decision. When the new principal who had children came, suddenly there was after-K care. Previous principal didn't accommodate working parents. The current PTA schedules its meetings in the morning. Vital information is given during these meetings and if you can't attend, you're out of luck. The PTA's FB updates don't cover the necessary info in detail. The volunteer appreciation tea is scheduled for the middle of the afternoon. If you work, you have to take time off to volunteer in the classroom/events and then take more time off to be appreciated. It's a lack of consideration for working parents that really does a disservice to this school.

John C. Fremont Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2012
- a parent
We feel very fortunate that our daughter has access to such a great school. Fremont is a special place that offers a wonderful blend of academic and extra curricular activities. We are as engaged as parents in the school (thanks to the strong leadership of or principal) as our daughter is in her studies---due in large part to the great teachers she has had through the years. Each one has treated her as an individual working to bring out her best potential. If you're looking for a excellent academics and a warm, caring environment for your child, Fremont is the place for you. We have been very happy here.


John C. Fremont Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2012
- a parent
This is an excellent school. The writing program is phenomenal - I was blown away how well my kids could write at the end of kindergarten and am even more impressed at the upper grade level. My children have been nurtured by caring teachers who push them to do their best. In addition to great academics, Fremont is unique in the quality and number of special programs events and technology available to the students and teachers. A computer lab full of brand new Mac computers and computer teacher is visited by all students K-6 each week. The school has an art docent program in every class as well as choral and instrumental music. The school has incredibly active parent organizations, which results not only in great events and programs but a high level of volunteerism in and outside the classroom. There is a strong emphasis on character and ethics. The school has a strong sense of small town community, where the Principal knows the kids names and the kids know the volunteering parents by name. In some grades the teachers work as a team, in others they have individual curriculum. We moved to Sparr Heights because of Fremont and feel incredibly fortunate to have our kids there.

John C. Fremont Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2012
- a parent
Fremont has involved parents, and teachers and staff who want to make Fremont better every year. The principal listens to input from the parents and tries to help make Fremont a great school.

John C. Fremont Elementary School 1

Posted June 11, 2012
- a parent
This school is a mixed bag. Some of the teachers are excellent with strong curriculums in their classrooms. However, there is no apparent or obvious consistency within the grades. For example, in 4th grade, some of the teachers require the students to read several accepted core curriculum literature, and others maybe read one book. This creates unequal access to education in the school itself and in the district. Also, some teachers are allowed to have the same students in their classroom for two years, say both 1st and 2nd grade - all the same students and same teacher. This sets ups cliques in the school environment and in the community. My child had a teacher that was late to class in the morning the majority of the school year, and was so unorganized that the children ended up losing privileges like P.E. because she didn't remember to get the students out to the field. Yet, other teachers are very dedicated and would never behave in that manner. The supervision at recess is poor and the aggressive students run the roost, and the school lunches are frankly, just sad.


John C. Fremont Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2011
- a parent
This school is a wonderful school. I am so glad to have my daughter attend here.

John C. Fremont Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
very good school. Good teachers and I like the way the teach. Excellent school for the area.

John C. Fremont Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2011
- a parent
I feel so fortunate for my daughter to be a student at Fremont. She has learned and grown so much in the three years she has been attending. The teachers and staff give so much of themselves and it shows! I am constantly in awe how much of their extra time, energy and knowledge they are willing to give to their students. The family/parent involvement is also very apparent and we all benefit from that. It's not called fabulous, friendly Fremont for nothing!


John C. Fremont Elementary School 3

Posted March 24, 2011
- a parent
I give three years to be one of the worst schools of this area because the kids are only learning how to play. There are good teachers at Fremont and, those are the parents teaching in home, their kids to give good raitings to the school. Or thats what happen on k.

John C. Fremont Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2010
- a parent
I cannot say enough good about this school. The teachers really care. It is an excellent facility with wonderful parent involvement. I send both of my children here and I feel so fortunate to have such a wonderful school in my district

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John C. Fremont Elementary School
3320 Las Palmas Avenue, Glendale, CA  91208
(818) 249-3241
Last modified John C. Fremont Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John C. Fremont Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top