Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

987 students|Cabrillo Unified
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Thank you for submitting your review of Half Moon Bay High School on greatschool.org. Our faculty, staff members, and administration take great pride in providing a high quality and comprehensive educational program to our Coastside youth. Any concerns regarding particular programming, curriculum, extracurriculars, etc can be relayed by contacting us directly. Please visit our website at hmbhs.schoolloop.com for contact information. We look forward to discussing the concerns and opinions of our valued community members and parents. Go Cougars!
January 31, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Half Moon Bay High School 5

Posted July 07, 2014
- a parent
Half Moon Bay High School is a " diamond in the rough." I know that may not sound great but it expresses the new energy and commitment by the faculty, staff and parent community to create and sustain top notch academic programs. My daughter graduated two years ago, along with five other children from our neighborhood. All of them got into the college of their choice and, more importantly, all of them are excelling. The AP programs were great - challenging and engaging. Also, the school is making its mark in sports (Bay Area top 25 basketball team; superior swim program despite a terrible pool, etc). The only drawback seems to be the district's inability to hold onto top level management. The last two principals left for higher pay in what may be perceived as "superior" districts. My daughter petitioned to go to HMBHS (we wanted her to go to one of the private schools in the area). Reluctantly, we said yes and we're super happy we did. We're proud to be a cougar family!

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Thank you for submitting your review of Half Moon Bay High School on greatschool.org. Our faculty, staff members, and administration take great pride in providing a high quality and comprehensive educational program to our Coastside youth. Any concerns regarding particular programming, curriculum, extracurriculars, etc can be relayed by contacting us directly. Please visit our website at hmbhs.schoolloop.com for contact information. We look forward to discussing the concerns and opinions of our valued community members and parents. Go Cougars!
Posted January 31, 2014


Half Moon Bay High School 4

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
I have two children at Half Moon Bay High School. I think the teachers at the school are generally excellent. I do think there is a lot of pressure to have kids take AP courses if they are college bound. This would not be a problem but in such a small school this leads to essentially a two tier educational track. Sometimes there is a large discrepancy between the academic demands of the higher level courses and "basic" non AP courses with little in between. However for bright motivated kids the rigor and quality of the AP classes is comparable to what is available in private schools. Graduates from HMB HS can and have gone to competitive Ivy League universities and more than hold their own. I do find the administation lacking in warmth and support and seem more motivated on advancing their own agendas. The music program at this high school is small and underfunded but a marvelous director makes it a highlight of most band and chorus student's high school careers. I would like to see less emphasis on sports achievement and more on academic achievement. You might have a 5.0 average but if you are a sports star you will find you get a lot more attention at this school.

Half Moon Bay High School 2

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
After two years with a child at Half Moon Bay HS, I feel I must post a cautionary warning. This is a tiny agricultural community barely keeping up with the competitive academic atmosphere of the Bay Area. The administration and especially the office staff are cold and not interested in the individual needs of students. The class offerings are slim and the teachers are simply sub par. Avoid this high school if you can or plan to pay for supplementary tutors and programs so your child can be college ready. I hoped for better and I am sorely disappointed by our experience with this school and this community. Parent involvement is average, at best, although the community takes great pride in their support of the school! It's a little sad.

Half Moon Bay High School 5

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
My daughter graduated with the class of '09 and is now at a UC campus. She was happy and successful at HMB High. We especially appreciate the wonderful music program and its director.


Half Moon Bay High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The teachers and staff are doing a great job with much less money per child than any other near by high school. They are working very hard to care for all the students and to improve everyone's life regardless of race, class or gender.

Half Moon Bay High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
My son graduated from HMB High in 2007. They have wonderful ART and Music Departments. The Community Spirit keeps these programs alive. We are so fortunate that the School District recognizes that education is not complete without appreciation of the Arts.

Half Moon Bay High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The Center of Community for the Coastside. HMB High does the best it can with the financial resources available. The Per Child expenditures are not equal on the coastside to other school districts, and yet the school still manages to excel!


Half Moon Bay High School 5

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
I have two students in Half Moon Bay high school. For such a diverse population, they do an excellent job with limited resources. The counselors are very involved and exceptional in my opinion. We had the option of private school, and chose this school instead.

Half Moon Bay High School 5

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
Beautiful campus, involved and dedicated teachers and diverse student population. I have 3 children who went to HMB high and I recommend it to others.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Half Moon Bay High School
Lewis Foster Drive, Half Moon Bay, CA  94019
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (650) 712-7200
Last modified Half Moon Bay High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top