Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Hawthorne, CA
Students enrolled: 781
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bud Carson Middle School 5

Posted April 16, 2012
- a community member
i went to this school in 7th grade year of 2010-2011 school year, ive been to three different middle schools out of all three this was the best one,i recommend this school, teachers are great, students are great

Bud Carson Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a student
i am an 8th grade honors student currently attending this school. i feel that there are a few select good teachers but there are a majority of teachers and staff that cannot seperate their personal views of the kids with their jobs. Also the school is run like a detention center and has gates all around. WE also have had a few drug incidences and unjust treatment of the races by the vice principal in certain fight cases. Academically our school is doing 'Ohkay' to say the least but academically we are EXTRAORDINARY WE HAVE THE BEST ATHLETES IN THE H.S.D school district. I leave you with this thought- i have no personal vendetta against BCMS its just i would only send my kids here is it were one of my secondary or 3rd choices


Bud Carson Middle School 2

Posted April 23, 2009
- a parent
Bud Carson Middle School is a struggling inner city school with very limited resources, hard working teachers who try to educate the students. Bud Carson Middle needs many things, such as a school administrator and staff with a positive attitude about their students and the community. In my opinion the school is run much like a juvenile detention center, (similarly ran is the Prairie View Middle school on Prairie Ave. in Hawthorne.) Bud Carson also needs that a solid PE program in which the students 'suit up' for PE, and are fully physically engaged in the process of their own physical education. Also needed a solid PTA or PTO program to help raise much needed funds for books, supplies, field trips, projects for the students.By adding this it could bolster the morale of the students and parents and become a resource entrepreneral training for the students and pride for the

Bud Carson Middle School 2

Posted May 01, 2008
- a community member
I attended this school and left the school with straight A's. The school, education wise, is lacking. it is to easy. For thoughs who fail, i have no idea what to tell you.

Bud Carson Middle School 1

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Bud Carson Middle School 5

Posted November 15, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bud Carson Middle School 5

Posted September 03, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Bud Carson Middle School 3

Posted August 26, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is in honors classes at Bud Carson. The teachers are good to mediocre. The children ABSOLUTELY need lockers! My daughters backpack is VERY heavy and she has to bring her books home everyday to study. She takes food from home to be sure that she has something to eat everyday. Whomever is planning the meals is doing a lousy job of making sure that the children have 1) a variety of entrees and 2) ENOUGH of each entree. The lines are too long.


Bud Carson Middle School 0
no rating

Posted August 23, 2007
- a student
I am a 7th grader and I attend BCMS. It ia okay but it can be improved by adding lockers , a P.E gym, and having more extracirruculum activites such as dance squad. Also by having more computers in the classroom for school project. they can improve the tutoring service for kids that are behind and need that extra help like myself. By: Jasmine

Bud Carson Middle School 5

Posted June 29, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bud Carson Middle School
13838 South Yukon Avenue, Hawthorne, CA  90250
(310) 676-1908
Last modified Bud Carson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bud Carson Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top