Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stonebrae Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in Hayward

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $330,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2014

Good PTA-a specific group of parents are involved. My son went to the regular English class (not the Mandarin program). He completed K with Ms. Crossman (excellent Teacher). there is a noticeable difference in the student population as well as the teacher background/experience between the Mandarin classes & the regular English classes. My hope for the school is to level this difference & apply what has worked for its popular Mandarin program to the English only classes (i.e. teacher experience & motivation, Parent involvement). Principal involvement for the English only classes; the principal takes a lot of pride in the Mandarin program; I wish that the same level of pride and commitment can be applied to the English only classes (I.e. providing more class room options-as an example for the 2014/2015 - there are only 2 1st grade classes offered which limits the choices for teacher options; we hope that the first grade teacher will be as good as the K teacher. Improvement is recommended for its English only classes - i.e. offering more teacher training and working with good student-teachers from Cal, Standford, etc. to be an additional resource to the English teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

The Mandarin program is challenging, however if you are willing to put in the work and effort its absolutely rewarding. For those parents who are making judgments about the school and staff, how involved or invested in the school are you? Some days the principal does not respond to my requests either but since she has over 700 students with concerns I can forgive her. That's why we remind her of our concern. Volunteering in the class, is a job and to be honest not all parents are qualified. Are you able to handle a group of children who may test boundaries? Do you know how to work independently without the teachers assistance? Can you photocopy using the Rizzo? The more you get involved in the school the better you are informed to make judgments, but as a parent who is involved the more understanding I become! Get involved and commit to your child's school. Then have your say!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

I totally agreed with reviews Oct 7, 20 & Mar. 4. Many other school districts are having full time kinder for years. Principal's leadership is a disappointment. She may look friendly, but does not get things done. Don't expect assistance or support from her. Yes, front office stuff are rude and not always helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

I am in total agreement with the Oct. 7th and 20th, 2013 Reviews. I have experienced the same disregard and brush off from both the teachers and principle at Stonebrae. I am currently comparing schools to move my student somewhere that actually provides support and assistance. Great location, awful staff including the office staff, they are rude and dismissive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

Just read the review from Oct 20, 2013. Not sure how this parent thinks volunteers are picked. That is not the case at all. All the teachers love volunteers and especially the Kinder Mandarin teachers. I personally know both teachers very well---kids have had them and they WOULD NEVER turn away a parent wanting to volunteer. They welcome them! The only thing stopping a parent to volunteer is if they have not filled out the proper volunteer clearance papers. It's for our kid's safety...if you aren't cleared, you can't volunteer in class. It's the same with any school you go to. I personally have had great success with my 2 kids at Stonebrae.. I like how they are challenged. If your kid is either ahead or behind in class, talk to the teachers...they will work with you to make your kid the best they can be. I have 1 kid who is academically ahead and one that needs a little more improvement. I talked with both teachers and we are working on different things with each kid. In regards to Kinders, most schools have half day Kinder class because it is hard on the little guys to be in school all day until 3 pm. Ask any parent of a kinder. Stonebrae is a BIG thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

Teachers aren't willing to do anything extra if your child is either ahead of the class or if they're falling behind. Indifferent and unwelcoming attitude from them as well. Principal appears to be outgoing and personable but doesn't help. You ask questions and get inaccurate answers. For example, why aren't kinder students there the whole day? I was told they can't handle being there that long and they would cry. It's true about not letting you volunteer. Only a select few are allowed. Who knows how they are picked. When I finally was allowed after insisting, the teacher accepted on a day devoted to arts and crafts... holiday. Almost feels as if they don't want you to see what they do and don't teach. By the way, this is the mandarin program. It's a shame people transfer I'm thinking they're going to get something great. I was sorely disappointed and am seeking a private Chinese school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

Stonebrae is a nice school, howevever I am deeply disappointed in the leadership and teaching staff. As a concerned parent wanting to support the teaching staff I found them to be passively stubborn in communicating with me about my child, her progress and ultimately her grades until the last minute when grades had been finalized. The principle made herself appear to be helpful when it really was a brush off, an attitude experienced with other Stonebrae teachers. Unfortunately, my impression has been that they haven't wanted to disclose how they run their class, and sad to say they only want to do the minimum amount of work. So for kids that need that extra help, they are out of luck. Ultimately we removed our child because of this attitude. We needed her to be in a caring and open environment where there is a desire to position her for success. Not in a place where parents are turned away and brushed off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

I have graduated from Stonebrae last year. I started as a kinder and ended as a 6th grader. I was there since the school first opened. All my teachers were wonderful, especially my 6th grade teacher. She taught so well I got advanced in both L/A and math for the STAR Test. To me, it all depends on which teacher you get. Everyone is different and can succeed in different ways. The lunch wasn't so good, though. They mainly put packaged food in the oven and cook it. I always brought my own lunch. I was very disappointed with the music program. I believe I stopped the required music in third or fourth grade. My mother wanted me to play the violin in their after school music program, but it was only for 6th graders. Once I was old enough, they didn't have enough money to fund it, leading to it closing down. Overall, Stonebrae is an okay school and I would recommend sending your child here, coming from a former student.


Posted August 29, 2013

This school is a secret gem Hayward in regards to the dedication of the teachers and the programs they have. Wonderful and involved parents. Beautiful area too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

We debated enrolling our children in a public school at Hayward and almost went to a private school. When we found out about the Mandarin Imersion program at Stonebrae, we decided to give it a try. I enrolled my daughter for kindergarten Fall 2009 - it was one of the BEST descision we made. The school is amazing. The teachers and staff care. The principal is on top of everything and the parents and PTA are involved - they even have a great Watch DOGS (Dads of Great Students) program. This is probably one of the only schools in Hayward where kids from outside the district actually transfer from other districts to attend! By the time both my kids were in 1st grade they were able to read, write and speak Mandarin! The curriculum is extremely challenging and kids LOVE thier school to the point where they never want to be out - both of them had 100% attendance this year!! Go Huskies!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

Like this school---also have to give a thumbs up to the Mandarin program. They have some great teachers with a huge amount of parent involvement. My kid spoke some mandarin once to someone at a chinese restaurant. They understood my child and even commented how well they spoke (we do not speak mandarin) so that was wonderful and a testament to what a great program this is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

Stonebrae- Nice school in a beautiful area near Stonebrae Country Club. The teachers are great. Great programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

My son is in K so I can't speak for grades after K but he loves his class & teacher (he is in the mandarin immersion program) and is learning in well in both languages. Parent involvement in his class is high which helps also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

very good school. i have my positive support to it. awesome. great culture. great going staff..


Posted June 18, 2012

Parent participation varies for each classes. Some classes are lucky to have lots of parent volunteers. Others has none or very little volunteer. Some class has no room parent. The class with more parent volunteers benefits more. The school really need to address this issue. Volunteer recognition or rewards, or something to get parents more involve. I think the parents involvement will indirectly help the school ratings! I am happy with the newly added after school that is offered (Kung Fu and Singing), but my kid is only 1st grade and not eligible. More after school Enrichment Program is highly expected. Principal is there a way to work with HARD (Hayward Area Recreational District) to bring dance/art/drawing/language/music/theater on campus site with a fee. Children who wish to attend can pay small fee through HARD. Just provide a place where activities can happen after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

There are lot of room for improvements are expected. Parent participation varies for each classes. Some classes are lucky to have lots of parent volunteers. Others has none or very little volunteer. Some class has no room parent. The class with more parent volunteers benefits more. The school really need to address this issue. Volunteer recognition or rewards, or something to get parents more involve. I think the parents involvement will indirectly help the school ratings! I am happy with the newly added after school that is offered (Kung Fu and Singing), but my kid is only 1st grade and not eligible. More after school Enrichment Program is highly expected. Principal is there a way to work with HARD (Hayward Area Recreational District) to bring dance/art/drawing/language/music/theater on campus site with a fee. Children who wish to attend can pay small fee through HARD. Just provide a place where activities can happen after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

I totally agree with the previous reviews about the principal. If you have children with processing problems and leaning challenges, you would get no help from her. The principle is absolutely unfair and obliviouse of how to take care of kids with processing disabilities. parents I knew including myself never get a reply from her regarding our inquiries, we wrote at least 3 times. There was no empathy nor care from the principle. Its been our observation of the school principle that she neglectfully only cares about school ratings and her job and not really wanting to help our child. This principle is absolutely heartless when it comes to our child's wellbeing. she cares only about her bureaucracy. The principle would not help. At least she could provide solutions or suggest resources. She did not and would not even when we met and talked to her. Talk the talk never gets anywhere. What is the district thinking when hiring her? She does not fit to be a principal. She does not care about the students at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

We enrolled our child in their well advertised "Mandarin Immersion Program" for 2 years. All the Mandarin teachers are very green but the ones that my kid had learned from are hard working. Very very limited spots for after school care especially given that the school is way way up the Hayward hill. The school are too reliant on government grant and should have taken care of providing alternative on-site after school care that the parents have offered to pay. I'm disappointed that I have to pull my child because of this reason. Principal Nolting , please provide an alternative on-site after school care. I'm sorry but 4C's is not the solution!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

I was a student in Stonebrae and it was okay. I started going to Stonebrae in 1st grade. It was a very nice school until 3 or 4 months later, the school started to look like a mess. It stank whenever you pasted...well..anywhere.. The teachers are really really nice and really work their time in class to help us learn. There is only one teacher who I will not name that has anger issues! She ruined my 3rd grade year. Anyways, the rest of the teachers I had were awesome! I was really really struggling with math, but, with the help of my teachers (not the 3rd grade one), I became an honor roll student! I am now in seventh grade and will be missing that school i was growing up with. GO HUSKIES!


Posted November 14, 2010

I went to Stonebrae for elementary and I absolutely loved it! The teachers are amazing, as well as the principal. All of the students feel like a Family there. Go Huskies! (:


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

816

Change from
2012 to 2013

+17

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

816

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+17

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females58%
Males53%
African American69%
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner37%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate15%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students56%
Females52%
Males63%
African American69%
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner34%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females47%
Males57%
African American39%
Asian65%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females55%
Males79%
African American48%
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females59%
Males58%
African American50%
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students52%
Females48%
Males58%
African American42%
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate18%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females82%
Males58%
African American63%
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students53%
Females53%
Males53%
African American46%
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students54%
Females51%
Males58%
African American38%
Asian63%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females44%
Males68%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students43%
Females31%
Males54%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate14%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 34% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 21% 11%
Black 20% 6%
White 19% 26%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 7%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28761 Hayward Boulevard
Hayward, CA 94542
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 723-3910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Northstar School
Hayward, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT