Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
547 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Simon And St. Jude Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
They have become a technology school haha. Only the teachers do not seem to know how to use the chrome books or to give website information that is current.

St. Simon And St. Jude Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Too much busy work and far too much parent homework for any grade. Too many trees are killed for the 7-10 posters the children make each year


St. Simon And St. Jude Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
If a child complains they will feel retribution. My daughter complained about a classmate pulling her hair and asked to be moved. She ended up behind a much taller child and could not see the board.

St. Simon And St. Jude Elementary School 1

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
This school would be fine if it stopped at fourth grade however any grade above that is a waste of time. A typical SSJ student will spend more time gluing and pasting in the upper grades than they will on technology. The discipline is non existent although the teachers yell all the time. The spanish, art and music are a waste of time. They only begin to learn spanish verbs half way through 8th grade. Spanish instruction starts in 2nd grade. Their are better art projects on pinterest. If you are looking for an alternative to public school. Do your child a favor and please keep looking. I wish I had

St. Simon And St. Jude Elementary School 1

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
With exception to a few, most of the teachers are tired and just want to kids to "read the book", don't bother them with questions. Their so-called special programs are a joke! After 2 years of Spanish, my child can't speak Spanish (although he can do "word searches" well). After three years of music, they play the recorder (plastic flute) and are great with bells! Really? After 3 years of a so-called music class, my child wants nothing to do with music because all he heard or learned about was Bach, Beethoven and the like - how about learning about different styles of music, jazz, blues, etc? If you call "cutting and pasting" Art, then I guess you will like their Art program. They need to focus more on academics and stop spending so much time and money on "special programs" that are so lame!! If you are a part of the "in crowd" you will have a great time, if not, don't even think of making suggestions. As for the principal, maybe the school should be renamed "Mrs. Smith's Kingdom at SSJ". Don't know anyone more impressed with herself! If you plan on your child attending this school through 8th grade, don't ever ever ever question her or her teachers!


St. Simon And St. Jude Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
The bullying that goes on here is atrocious! Every year they go on about how the principal doesn't put up with bullying in any way, shape or form. I pulled both my children out of this school because my oldest was being bullied and she (the principal) refused to do anything about it even though others saw it and he had bruises and torn clothing. Even a parent who saw my child get punched was dismissed. Do NOT put your child in this school!

St. Simon And St. Jude Elementary School 2

Posted January 27, 2012
- a parent
Read all the reviews....same principal.....same problems from past years....unless your family is a wealthy donor or very involved in PFA or other school programs you won't be heard when you have a problem. Numerous kids who should be discliplined aren't corrected because their parents are connected. If your child is the target of one of these kids....good luck! No one is going to help you. Academics.....good....too much "parent" home work....so again ....If you work....be careful....you'll be up late!

St. Simon And St. Jude Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2011
- a parent
We are new to this school and have found it to be everything we hoped for our daughter. The kids and teachers were very welcoming it made the transition easy (even for a 5th grader). There is always an activity for the kids (and parents) to get involved in. The curriculum is challenging but not too difficult. I like how the kids have mass every week and religion, technology, music and Spanish classes. I'm 100% happy with our decision to send our daughter here.


St. Simon And St. Jude Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
SSJ has been a part of our lives for 11years now, with 2 years to go. I've had one child graduate, and one still attending. The level of education is top notch. The curriculum and extra curricular activities are expanding, where many schools are cutting back. The leadership of the school is excellent, and adapts readily to the fluid times that we live in. All of this in the context of a faith filled environment that you would expect from a Catholic School. We are a tight knit community with our children's all around best interest as our main focus.

St. Simon And St. Jude Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2011
- a parent
Sts. Simon & Jude is the best school in Orange County for educating the complete child. Highly recommended for any parent wanting the best education for their children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Simon And St. Jude Elementary School
20400 Magnolia Street, Huntington Beach, CA  92646
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (714) 962-4451
Last modified St. Simon And St. Jude Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top