Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tarbut V'torah Community Day School 2

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
For $21,350 - $24,675 per year not including additional costs, I would like faculty to be more customer service oriented and kinder to parents and children. I would like academics to be as strong if not stronger than local public schools - which they are not at this time. I would like Jewish studies to be more substantive and meaningful.

Tarbut V'torah Community Day School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
This school really helped my son to develop and succeed in Middle School with small class size and teachers who care. We left public school after 5th grade when my son asked for a jewish experience and the people that my son has befriended and the families that we have met are so nice, that this alone makes the school worth every penny. Regardless of the level of observance of the child - this is the place for jewish kids to finally "belong."


Tarbut V'torah Community Day School 5

Posted March 23, 2012
- a parent
TVT offers an incredibly enriched program and whole-child approach, along with a warm, compassionate environment, that makes this school truly outstanding. TVT instills in its students caring about the larger world and those around us right from the start and teaches excellent values. Our children are enjoying learning and feel empowered to reach their potential and express themselves creatively and uniquely. TVT uses many modes for teaching, most of which are very hands on, and offers an excellent academic curriculum. The class sizes are small, allowing the teachers to give each child plenty of attention and truly get to know each child. Our teachers have been outstanding, and the children have wonderful friends at school. The teaching Staff and Administration are easy to communicate with and have a refreshing "'partnering" attitude with families with respect to educating the children. The Art and Music programs are truly phenomenal, and the PE programs are also top-notch. There are plenty of opportunities for parent involvement on campus, for those that have time or wish to participate in this way.

Tarbut V'torah Community Day School 5

Posted December 10, 2011
- a parent
My Daughters started TVT in Kindergaten and both have had an amazing experience to date. Once we started our first daughter at TVT we knew we could go nowhere else. Each year the girls have had an amazing experience with excellent teachers that help them soar. The girls thrive in TVT's academically and Judaic rich environment that helps them achieve academic success but also reinforces our family's Jewish values and help them to be a "mench". Our girls are receiving an excellent education where they are becoming critical thinkers. TVT offers an amazing lesson plan which provides the children not only the basics, but also includes as part of their curriculum, a robust science program, music, art, computers, foreign language, and Jewish Studies. We have one more child who will be joining the TVT family in 2012 when she starts kindergarten, and I am confident that her experience at TVT will be the same as her siblings. TVT's kindergarten set the stage for children to have a passion for learning that will stay with them for the rest of their lives. If you are looking for a private school K-12 please take a tour. You will see why I am so excited by TVT!

Tarbut V'torah Community Day School 5

Posted November 09, 2011
- a parent
My son has attended TVT since Kindergarten and is now in the 3rd grade. He absolutely loves school and all his classmates. It is amazing to me all that he is learning and I love how the teachers make each class so interesting and fun. My son gets good test scores and he is very proud of himself, as are we! The teachers really show an interest in the students and want what is best for them. They are always there for you( the parent) and have many opportunities for parents to get involved. I feel that Tarbut has an excellent learning environment and a well-rounded academic and cultural curriculum!


Tarbut V'torah Community Day School 5

Posted July 24, 2011
- a parent
We have three children at the school. One child in high school, one in middle school and one in elementary school. We are reform and not observant. We started our eldest there 10 years ago. Our children have been very happy and have thrived in the small classrooms. One is an advanced learner and one has special needs. The school has accommodated both. You will not find better arts or music programs in elementary or middle schools in the area. We love not having to shlep to hebrew school or Sunday judaica school as it is part of the school day. Having free nights and weekends to do other things is great! Our children are not athletically gifted, but each can play three sports a year in middle and high school. Both our children and we as parents have made good friends at the school. The school is not inexpensive and the local public schools are excellent...If you can afford it, would you drive a Rolls Royce or a Cadillac? The school does have generous financial aid for those who need it.

Tarbut V'torah Community Day School 5

Posted July 12, 2011
- a parent
Have a son who has attended the school for middle school and is entering the high school. We love the school, the families we have met, and the amount of access we have to teachers and administration. Our daughter has attended a nationally known public school for her first two years of high school and has just enrolled at Tarbut. Despite being an "A" student in the public school, she feels that there are more opportunities for her at Tarbut. The public high school had some fabulous and very committed teachers. Unfortunately, it also had some who were just awful and one who even bragged that the kids could complain all they wanted, but that the district wouldn't fire her. And that, in a nutshell, is one of the reasons private schools have like Tarbut have an advantage. Tarbut also happens to have an excellent college advisor who is responsible for about 40 students per grade vs. 1,250 per grade in the public school. Expensive, no doubt. Worth it? No doubt.

Tarbut V'torah Community Day School 5

Posted December 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Tarbut V'torah Community Day School 5

Posted October 06, 2008
- a student
At TVT, the student body has an advanced curriculum and is ready to take on the real world once graduated. The average SAT score for the class of 2008 is an 1868. (National average just above 1500) 16% of the class of 2008 was accepted to UCLA, and students have attended prestige universities such as: Yale, Princeton, Cornell, MIT, Dartmouth, UCLA, UC Berkley, USC, Brown, Northwestern, and NYU.

Tarbut V'torah Community Day School 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
The staff, in general, cares a lot about the students and wants to see them succeed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tarbut V'torah Community Day School
5 Federation Way, Irvine, CA  92603
(949) 509-9500
Last modified Tarbut V'torah Community Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Tarbut V'torah Community Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top