Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Adaline E. Kent Middle School 5

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
Unbelievable principal and assistant principal set the tone for an incredible middle school experience. Wonderful transition provided from 4th to 5th (elementary school 5th grade experience but on the middle school campus) and from 5th to 6th ("real" middle school with lockers, changing classes, electives, etc.). Extremely involved parent community, outstanding PTA, and tireless KIK Foundation that provide a "private" school enrichment experience at a public school. Most teachers not living in the District petition to have their own children attend Bacich and Kent. Programs like Mathletes, Archery, Robotics, Mural Design, Project Fashion Runway, and an amazing Student Activities teacher round out the experience for all ages. Nothing better in all of Marin, public or private.

Adaline E. Kent Middle School 2

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
Kent is over-rated and on the decline. Generally, good kids at the school, but the administration is poor and pays lip service only to parent's concerns and feedback. There are a few very good teachers, but on average the teachers are adequate only, comfortable in their tenure and coasting. Many teachers are rude to their students, and the quality of the curriculum is declining quickly. The math program in particular is weak and getting worse. We had teachers tell us they couldn't help our children because they were too busy with their private tutoring practice class outside of class hours.


Adaline E. Kent Middle School 1

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
Beware, Kent middle school is poorly run by staff. The principal is stuck up, when I told him where I had plans of going to highschool (redwood) he laughed. The school generally takes the side of the accuser (when a student conflict), and nourishes that person like a baby. Much like Redwood high school, the teachers are overrated and take little kindness in the students outside activities. Forget what the parents are saying, I was a student and I went there. The rules are outrageous, detentions are given out for simply holding a basketball in the library. Pressure is overly high on kids to do well (think about it, its only middle school!) which takes away the fun of actually learning. You might ignore the only one star this school has, but Kent middle isn't a smart choice for your kids. I wouldn't be writing this much if it was... Just prepare yourself and your kid for an unenjoyable time. God bless you.
1 person found this helpful

Adaline E. Kent Middle School 2

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
Our two children went to Kent, one chose to leave on his own because he was unhappy with the school. The issue for him was that the teachers allowed a small number of disruptive students ruin the experience of the rest of the kids. For whatever reason the teachers did not curtail the disruptions. Over the years we found that teachers, and administration were not responsive to the concerns expressed by parents. There are a few new teachers who offer a ray of hope that this school will improve, but there are a few of the old, tenured guard who dial it in and bring down the school - the principal included.
1 person found this helpful

Adaline E. Kent Middle School 4

Posted March 22, 2012
- a parent
Although the academics as well as the extra curricular activities are far superior at Kent MS than most schools in CA, there are issues with how students are treated by other students and staff. There is supposed to be no tolerance for bullies, but children being bullied are not allowed to defend themselves, and if they do, they are punished, and in many cases their bullies are not. It's very disheartening.


Adaline E. Kent Middle School 5

Posted December 04, 2011
- a parent
Kent Middle School is an amazing environment for a tough time in kids lives. Not only academically focussed, but socially supportive. The Foundation (KIK) works hard to raise over $1.2 M to fund all the 'extras' most public schools have had to cut because of budgets. (p.e., art, music, tech, library). The admin and staff are the best, brightest, most thoughtful and caring educators anywhere. We came from private school in SF to the Kentfield School District and are very happy to be part of this school community.

Adaline E. Kent Middle School 5

Posted December 03, 2011
- a community member
My teachers all all pretty nice, and we are one of the best schools in Marin. We have many activities at school like before school band and chorus, after school band and chorus, during school band and chorus, art, drama, technology, typing, creative writing, wood shop, architecture, and Spanish. We are very lucky at our school to have a technology room and a library stocked with many great books and it also has computers like the two technology rooms.

Adaline E. Kent Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
We moved here from Nevada just for this school. The faculty and staff are all top-notch!


Adaline E. Kent Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
My children have been in the Kentfield School District for over 8 years attending both Bacich Elementary and Kent Middle School. The faculty at both schools is outstanding; committed, experienced and longstanding. While the district consistently achieves outstanding academic results, the schools do so without the students feeling pressured. Instead, the focus is on learning and achieving one's potential. I would recommend the district to any parent without reservation.

Adaline E. Kent Middle School 5

Posted February 25, 2009
- a parent
This school has been great for my two kids. Both are very different. Both have been allowed to succeed in their own way. Bravo.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Adaline E. Kent Middle School
800 College Avenue, Kentfield, CA  94904
(415) 458-5970
Last modified Adaline E. Kent Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Adaline E. Kent Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top