Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
65 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I have been working at Crescenta Valley Adventist School for 16 years and what an amazing journey it has been! From the amazing students and families, to the awesome staff, and the beautiful campus God has provided, I have been extremely honored to be here. I can honestly say I would do it all again in a heartbeat! Over five-thousand families have been blessed by this school for 93 years!!! We want to live to be 100!!! We are still the best Christian school in Crescenta Valley. Students, families, and staff have come and gone throughout the years, but our culture still remains. We still begin our week with Chapel praising God through song and worship. Our parents still bless us with amazing Hot Lunches. Our Home and School association rocks, and we still have that family like atmosphere. Of course our teachers are amazing! Best of all, our students learn about God!!! As the years pass we continue to deliver a strong academic and spiritual foundation for His children. We recently re-branded the school, renovated our classrooms, purchased new textbooks, and made some eye-popping improvements to the grounds, including a security system! We still have music and band and joined a sports league including Basketball, Volleyball, and Football. We have added an Art Class and Cooking Class for after school. Through the years I have been here, we annually graduate out more students than we have brought into our kindergarten class. So we have reduced our size throughout the years but we are still who we are as a community and children of God. It is a misfortune that some people hang onto memories of people who have gone before, be it great , or not so great, and not give new people a chance to evolve. We appreciate families who help nurture and support this school with honest feedback and encouragement and be part of what creates this school, our families! We welcome new families to join our community here at Crescenta Valley Adventist school. We invite all who are looking for Christian education to come by and check us out! Look forward to meeting you and your family.
May 11, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
How do I begin to thank all of the people who make this school great? Much appreciation to all...our families, principal, staff, parents, students, our school board who devote their time, volunteers, our church conference, constituent churches and Pastors, Home & School Association... the list goes on!!!
Posted May 11, 2016

Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
Our principal does quarterly observations in each classroom to observe our teachers strengths and areas that could use improvement. Afterwards the principal will give the teacher a report and discuss these opportunities for growth and offer information and/or workshops to strengthen their professional growth. We also have weekly staff meetings and daily worships to keep us all on track!!!
Posted May 11, 2016


Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
Character development includes homework...sorry guys! However, it builds good work ethics and responsibility in the individual. Too much can be, well too much! But regular homework is necessary as it is impossible to get everything required in a day at school, done during school hours only! This also teaches a student to work independently and how to look for resources outside the classroom when they need. A great life skill!!!
Posted May 11, 2016

Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
Encouragement, encouragement, encouragement. Positive affirmation! Each person has special qualities. We encourage our students to build each other up! 'We Are One' and Learn. Grow. Lead are our motto's!!!
Posted May 11, 2016

Develops respect:
SCHOOL LEADER
Getting children's attention in this area can be tough in today's society!!! Again, modeling this throughout our school staff, students, and families is very important to us. We help students understand and practice this through Chapel messages, classroom worship, on the playground, and even teach manners on how to enter the office, or speak to one another. We practice the Golden Rule!
Posted May 11, 2016


Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
Just today our NJHS National Junior Honor Society students went to help 'clean up' another school. Our Home & School Association creates opportunity for community service events around the community. Modeling compassion is our best teacher. Treating each other with respect and compassion through action and prayer are a must hear at Crescenta Valley Adventist School.
Posted May 11, 2016

Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
One thing great about our staff is the time we dedicate to students on character building. This is a priority to take time out for to develop.
Posted May 11, 2016

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
I have been working at Crescenta Valley Adventist School for 16 years and what an amazing journey it has been! From the amazing students and families, to the awesome staff, and the beautiful campus God has provided, I have been extremely honored to be here. I can honestly say I would do it all again in a heartbeat! Over five-thousand families have been blessed by this school for 93 years!!! We want to live to be 100!!! We are still the best Christian school in Crescenta Valley. Students, families, and staff have come and gone throughout the years, but our culture still remains. We still begin our week with Chapel praising God through song and worship. Our parents still bless us with amazing Hot Lunches. Our Home and School association rocks, and we still have that family like atmosphere. Of course our teachers are amazing! Best of all, our students learn about God!!! As the years pass we continue to deliver a strong academic and spiritual foundation for His children. We recently re-branded the school, renovated our classrooms, purchased new textbooks, and made some eye-popping improvements to the grounds, including a security system! We still have music and band and joined a sports league including Basketball, Volleyball, and Football. We have added an Art Class and Cooking Class for after school. Through the years I have been here, we annually graduate out more students than we have brought into our kindergarten class. So we have reduced our size throughout the years but we are still who we are as a community and children of God. It is a misfortune that some people hang onto memories of people who have gone before, be it great , or not so great, and not give new people a chance to evolve. We appreciate families who help nurture and support this school with honest feedback and encouragement and be part of what creates this school, our families! We welcome new families to join our community here at Crescenta Valley Adventist school. We invite all who are looking for Christian education to come by and check us out! Look forward to meeting you and your family.
Posted May 11, 2016


Crescenta Valley Adventist School 1

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
It saddens me to give such a low rating to a once great school. Things do change and Crescents Valley Adventist School has unfortunately changed for the worse. The changes are very apparent with the number of principal’s the school has rotated through. CVAS is currently on its seventh principal in nine years. The School Board chair also was dismissed abruptly this year. There is only a single teacher that has stayed through all sever principals. If you ask the school they will tell you the problems started with the financial crisis and they have never been able to recover. Certainly the financial crisis did put a burden on the school, but the leadership was ill-equipped to recognize what made the school great in the first place and how to promote these qualities. Instead, what took place was a sad story of self-promotion at the expense of the school. The worst example of this was the promotion of Wendy Newmyer from day care lady to school principal. Wendy didn’t have the experience or qualifications to become the school principal and in retrospect her time at the school was the most devastating. Although Ms. Newmyer has been replaced, the damage done to the school still exists. Several good families left during this time and a very poor choice for teacher replacement was made with the hiring of Chanda Castaneda. I believe the spiritual examples of Ms. Newmyer and Ms. Cataneda are vacuous. I have no doubt there were forces fixated on destroying such a loving, happy, Christ centered school. I wish it were not true but at CVAS they succeeded.

Crescenta Valley Adventist School 1

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
I’m afraid this school has been infiltrated. There is no longer a loving Christian presence like when Ned Brown was the Principal. This didn’t happen overnight and there is no one person or even a group that can be blamed entirely. I can say for sure though that the School Board took a huge risk hiring Wendy Newmeyer as the Principal and it didn’t pay off. Crescenta Valley Adventist School is nowhere near the school it used to be. I’ve read a few of the reviews on this site and you can see a stark difference of opinion of how the school is doing. I’ve actually recognized a few of the five star reviews and these came from teachers and board members. In my opinion these folks are not unbiased.

Nearby schools

Crescenta Valley Adventist School
6245 Honolulu Avenue, La Crescenta, CA  91214
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (818) 249-1504
Last modified Crescenta Valley Adventist School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top