Advertisement
Advertisement

La Jolla Country Day School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in La Jolla

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $810,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2013

Very disappointing! Even though they have a learning center program which is supposed to support, teach strategies, they basically have no work structures, no plans and no real knowledge of any kind for children with disabilities. The school has a outrageous number of rules that they follow and even though they tell you they will accommodate your child, they really don't saying the rules are the rules! There is no flexibility whatsoever so it doesn't work for kids with disability. They practically offer little accommodation to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

La Jolla Country Day School has exceeded my expectations in every way. It treats each student as an individual and took my son from a point where I wondered whether college was in his future and now, we believe, he may be Ivy material. This isn't a school for parents who want a cookie cutter approach and want to sit back and critique the place. As with all schools there are plenty of challenges when shaping and re-shaping students. But they did a marvelous job with my sometimes cantakerous son and I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

Unfortunately, LJCDS has not faired well in the financial down turn. They have accepted an increasingly large number of underperforming, poorly behaved, spoiled kids over the last 5 years. The results have been disastrous. If you have a high functioning, hard working child, this is NOT the school for you. Most LJCDS kids don't want to work hard, and the main emphasis is social connections for the parents. This is not an academic institution no matter how many times the head of school says it to you. If you have a lot of money, and can afford a country club environment, complete with spoiled bratty children,many with learning issues, that don't want to work hard, this is the school for you. Otherwise, you best go elsewhere. Many teachers are dedicated and trying hard with the students that they have to deal with. Lots of bullying by nasty overindulged kids. Glorified, expensive, public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

La Jolla Country Day is the finest school in San Diego, no question. Demanding academics taught by a faculty who cares and is willing to work to insure that every student reaches their potential. An arts department that is fantastic and some of San Diego's most competitive athletic teams that win multiple championships each year. LJCD produces young women and men of character who are sought by, and accepted into, the country's finest universities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2013

Be careful. This is school that thinks the parents work for them. We had our daughter here for several years and just pulled her this last year. We are so much happier. The administration and the teachers want the kids to fit a very specific framework. They talk a wonderful amount about what they care about and their theory of education but in reality they practice something very different. Our daughter is so much happier at a new school, private and nearby. We wish we hadn't wasted these years. Some of the teachers truly care and truly try but they are overwhelmed by the focus of the administration and the overall tone of the school. The more we research, the more we have found out about how many kids have been leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

Expensive, and worth every dime. Our son attended the best SD public schools before coming here, and there is no comparison. Don't kid yourself. . . your child will get a far better education in a class of 10-20 students than in a class of 30+ students. Besides pure numbers, these kids (for the most part) WANT to be here. What a concept. . .getting kids to recognize education as a prvilege (rather than a burden)!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2012

Best of the best in San Diego. Closest competitors are Francis Parker or Bishops. However, FP is ugly and in a questionable part of town, and Bishops is religious and requires the kids to wear uniforms (Yuk!). LJCDS looks like a mini college campus, with beautiful, spacious grounds in one of the best, safest areas of San Diego. LJCDS foreign language offerings are incredible. Girls' sports are top-notch, especially basketball and volleyball. The rest of the sports programs are sort of "B+". Great faculty with very happy kids. Not nearly as many "brats" as you would think, given the sort of "fluffy" school name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

The potential is there, but the school really needs some changes...clean house, get rid of the bad teachers and stop taking the weak kids who hold everyone else back. Most importantly, let's see more than talk from the admin...let's see some action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

How very blessed we are as a family with 2 Country Day Students. One currently enrolled and the other just recently graduated. As a low income family we were so fortunate to receive the financial support from the school. This allowed my children to be part of this wonderful community called La Jolla Country Day. I read the majority of the reviews and find it very difficult to understand how any parent could be critical of the School. With the most beautiful campus in the Country to the magnificent Teachers and Staff, Country Day has what every kid needs, character. I just can t emphasize this enough. La Jolla Country Day School is one of the best all around college preparatory schools in the U.S. and the graduates will rock the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

We are so happy our children are in the care of loving, supportive, challenging teachers. They look forward to going to school each day. But I totally agree with the previous review. The lack of air conditioning in several classrooms of the lower school is ridiculous. There is no reason for our kids to come home lethargic and cranky for a month when simply adding air conditioning would create a condusive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

I've attended public school from kindergarten to 8th grade and I can say there really is a difference between the public school system and CD. I've been here for 9th and 10th grade so far and am looking forward to my next two years here. Teachers are available and are extremely willing to talk after class and during free time. Most teachers take a genuine interest in their students and their future. For example, just last week I was able to talk with my history teacher for over an hour (on his free time) about history related extracurriculars that he'd recommend for me next year. Student body is extremely diverse in race and personalities. There really is a group for everyone. The Student Diversity Leadership Club/Conference attendees also work hard to promote tolerance and respect between people of different race, socio-economics, religions, and sexual preference. I myself being a minority, don't feel any tensions here or experience the same amount of labeling I did in public school. Lastly, many programs here depend on the leadership of the students and create many opportunities to get involved! Getting involved is super important to enjoy your time here.


Posted May 29, 2011

Our son just started as a Freshman and has had a terrific experience at this school! Beautiful facilities, yes, but more importantly, an energetic Admin team, willing to to look at everything with a critical eye and move mountains to deliver a top-notch education. As parents, we enjoy the 100% transparency the school operates with- no pretense. Doesn't often win them the PR game more deftly played by other local private schools that present a more "perfect" image. Diverse student body and an amazing faculty teaching these kids to think for themselves. LOVE it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

Campus resembles a college. Middle school buildings look like a prison and Upper School is so small the kids are on top of one another. Middle School teachers have been there far far too long and are bored and boring. Curriculum is mundane and needs new blood and fresh eyes! Lower School is a joke. $25K for art, sci and music 1x a week! You can get that in public school! Don't come here for elementary. Beware of Middle School unless you enjoy mean girls, cliques and horrible teachers (with a few really great exceptions). If your child is smart, you won't find the challenge they deserve because LJCDS wants them all to fit in a little box. Lots of BMWs in the lot - sixteen and driving Porche's. It's the overarching message sent to the kids here. Lots of entitlement. No community sense whatsoever, very urban, very standoffish. Not for our family.


Posted February 23, 2011

A phenomenal school. It's emphasis on the whole student -- the scholar, the artist, the athlete of character -- fit perfectly with what we hoped for our child -- a rich and balanced life. He has had that and then some at Country Day. I owe the good teachers and forward thinking administrators much for what they have done for my son and my family. You might hear some griping about the place -- but only from parents whose children chose not to engage fully in a school that offers so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

I have two kids at Country Day and I feel lucky every day that they're at school. The arts, athletics, and academic program that is incorporated in the daily curriculum is unlike any program in San Diego. You really are paying for a top-notch education here. I can't imagine sending my kids anywhere else. It's horrible to see how programs are being cut from the local schools and teachers are being pushed to the max - not so at Country Day - small class sizes, daily arts, music, athletics - it truly is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

Amazing place. Rebuilt from the ground up in recent years. World studies, community service, athletes, scholars and artists all. Highly endorse the place


Posted January 9, 2011

First off, a quick correction regarding the language program at Country Day....as of the 2011-2012 school year, Latin will no longer be taught at LJCDS. (It used to be a required class in 5th and 6th grades, but, after the current year, this will no longer the case, and the language program will no longer offer Latin as one of its languages. Yes, they have begun to offer both Mandarin and Arabic, and continue to offer both Spanish and French, but the loss of the Latin program is most regrettable. As for the quality of the education, it varies from teacher to teacher and year to year. Most of the teachers are indeed excellent, while others should have retired years ago and truly have no business still teaching. Rather than conducting nation-wide searches to bring in the best and the brightest educators, they often just promote from within. On the positive side, students are exposed to a number of disciplines (art, music, science etc.) at levels not found in the public schools, and the smaller class sizes and close interactions between the (better) teachers and the students make for a pleasant environment in which the children generally thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Overrated and overpriced. Families are realizing this and yanking their kids. The middle school is just awful. Upper school is better, but a lot depends on the teachers. Some are good, many are incompetent. I thought private schools had no unions but you wouldn't know it from the way bad teachers are protected here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

Our children were "lifers" at LJCDS. The school delivered everyhing we could have hoped for their future: strong academic achievement in college, successful professional careers, and responsible, caring participants in society. Though not every teacher is a star, enough of them are stellar. They have made significant, positive differences in the lives of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

LJCDS provides a wide range of educational experiences and opportunities to its students that go beyond academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Two or more races 11%
Asian 8%
Hispanic 8%
Black 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9490 Genesee Avenue
La Jolla, CA 92037
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 453-3440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT