Advertisement
Advertisement

Meher Schools

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lafayette

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $869,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2009

All three of my children attended this school and had the best experience of all their academic years. Loving, supportive, good education and a mix of arts that made for a winning combination. Eternally thankful for the school and how it impacted my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I have never loved another school as much as I loved the Meher Schools! The teachers are amazing, the support is incredible, and the community is always behind you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

This school lives up the true ideal of education. Love support and compassion.


Posted September 17, 2009

Besides the A,B,Cs this school teaches our children about Respect and Caring for others. It also is a relatively low-cost private school designed to service parents who need affordable schooling for their children, with aftercare and before care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Prior to my disability, I taught at Meher Schools for 16 years. Throughout my tenure there, the faculty and staff were not only supportive of the students--but of their families as well. Many graduates of our school return to teach there. It still amazes me when I find out that another of my former students has become a substitute, part time or full time teacher. Many more volunteer their time there. It is one wonderful school dedicated to the principle that children learn best in a loving, caring and nurturing environment. The school has always lived by that philosophy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The staff is extraordinarily kind, understanding, compassionate and dedicated! The academics motivate the student to love lifelong learning. Great community support! '
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My son and the children of many of my friends have attended Meher Schools. It offers a non-judgmental, caring environment in which the children learn academics and also respect for themselves and others. Meher Schools provides a wonderful foundation for future learning. Children return in later years to reconnect with the teachers who offered them so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The creative arts programming is outstanding. Children have an opportunity to develop creative as well as practical skills, build confidence and interpersonal skills, all in an atmosphere of non-judgment and caring support.


Posted September 17, 2009

I love the Meher Schools because they're doing today what the best schlools will be doing tomorrow.


Posted September 6, 2009

My daughter is in the preschool program. It is an amazing place, with a strong focus on the arts and literatures. High achievers, great teachers. I am very impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 78%
Asian 14%
Black 4%
Hispanic 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

999 Leland Dr
Lafayette, CA 94549
Phone: (925) 938-9958

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Meher Schools
Lafayette, CA




The Dorris-Eaton School
Walnut Creek, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT