Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Lake Forest, CA
Students enrolled: 507
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Santiago Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
My son went to this school last year in 2013 and he is in the special ed program. The special ed program in Santiago elementary is excellent and his teachers are wonderful. My son was in Mrs. Jasniys class and she is a awesome teacher along with her staff. I love this school and have had nothing but the best experience. I am not sure how the regular class instruction is but for special ed its a A+

Santiago Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
Love this little school in the woods. Great, dedicated staff that loves each and every student. Kids and parents love to come to school everyday and the principal even does valet service!


Santiago Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2011
- a parent
As a family new to Santiago elementary this year we have been immensely impressed by the principal,teachers,staff and PTA. Dr. Norman is approachable, accessible and truly cares about the welfare of ALL of her approximately 600 students.Dr. Norman and her staff are committed to rolling out innovative technological programs and their application in the classroom to further enhance the educational experience of her students.The PTA is very active and dedicated and we look forward to more fantastic events like the the family fun night we just attended.Accommodations for any student , not just those for children with food allergies,can provide parents the opportunity to teach their children empathy and compassion for others and need not be viewed in a negative light. I have every confidence that we will have a spectacular year and am proud to now be a Santiago Eagle!

Santiago Elementary School 4

Posted September 09, 2011
- a parent
We have been told that due to one child being allergic to peanuts, the school is asking approx 400 other families to not send peanut butter sandwiches, cokkies or candy...... I believe this is wrong for the following reasons: First and foremost is if this child were mine, I would not be willing to chance my childs health on 400 other families doing what you requested......Life shows us 10% of the people never get the word... 40 families or there abouts is not worth the chance..........Now lets address the fact that kids love peanut butterand jelly sandwiches, especially younger ones and even doctors say peanut butter his healthy for youngsters..... There has to be a better solution rather than punishing all the kids that do like peanut products.......
1 person found this helpful

Santiago Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2010
- a parent
We changed schools from a below par to Santiago. The Staff is excellent and the Parents are very invovled. The students are creative and friendly. We are so happy that we moved.


Santiago Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
Santiago is led by a talented principal with positive leadership. The community environment fosters friendships, confidence and the academic foundation to be successful in middle school and high school.

Santiago Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
We love Santiago because even though its a small school, we have a great staff and great sense of community.

Santiago Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a teacher
The teachers are dedicated and really care about what's best for the children. The school is small and has a very good family atmosphere.The PTA is incredible and supports our programs with time and money.


Santiago Elementary School 2

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
Our family moved to CA from another state 3 months into the school year, and unfortunately Santiago is the school we were assigned to. Our child has gone from being a straight A student at her previous school, to nearly failing now at Santiago. I understand that a big move effects children greatly, but our experience with the school has been more than disappointing. The school as a whole seems to be fairly decent, but her insensitive, discouraging, harsh teacher has made it difficult to observe any good.

Santiago Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
Our family has been at Santiago for 6 years now and we truly love the school. From the principal, the quality of teachers, the support staff and the outstanding PTA and programs...Santiago is a wonderful school! Santiago strives to be a family and it is evident. Parent supported programs, like the Nutcracker performace are exceptional and well done. Dispite tremendous budget challanges, the parents and teachers have done a great job of meeting the educational and extra-ciricular needs of our children. Thanks to the leadership of Dr. Norman, we feel Santiago is top notch!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Santiago Elementary School
24982 Rivendell Drive, Lake Forest, CA  92630
(949) 586-2820
Last modified Santiago Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Santiago Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top