Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nancy Cory Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 761 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

We are very happy with all of the staff at Nancy Cory, including the duty aides! They are actually helping parents unload the kids the first thing in the morning, by opening the car doors for them in the drop off area! This gets the kids moving and helps with the traffic flow, which is great for those of us who have to get our older kids dropped off at the middle school after we drop off our younger kids! Also, one of my children sang in the school Holiday Program right before the Christmas Break and the program was wonderful! It was a perfect way to start the holidays and because we had out-of-state family staying with us for Christmas, they got to see the program too! I was told that the teachers had volunteers helping with the program, so I am going to go through the process this year to do that, as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

We just moved to Lancaster and my daughter is attending Kindergarden at Nancy Cory. So far I'm very please and my daughter loves her teacher and her new friends. Soon I will be able to help out as a volunteer and become more involved with the program. Looking forward to working closer with the teacher and my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

This is my sons first year at Nancy Cory and I already want to switch him back to West Wind. While the teachers are absolutely wonderful, the duty aids in the playground/crosswalks are very rude to parents and even the children. This is only the second week of school and I have had a few incidents. The duty aids have been nothing but rude and disrespectful to me and have even been rude to my son. Seems like MOST of the duty aids do not like their the job and they are not kid friendly. They are grouchy, rude and impolite older women. The only one who has been nice and friendly to me and my son is the duty aid with the long blonde hair. I don't know how Nancy Cory hires or trains their staff but this is unacceptable and I will not tolerate being treated this way. I have already filed a report with the Lancaster School District. I am completely unsatisfied with Nancy Cory and I hope to see some changes very soon!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

I have two when boys starting kindergarten this year. I was very impressed by the registration. The principal was very friendly and introduced himself to my sons. I felt the staff was knowledgeable. I'm excited about my sons starting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

love Nancy Cory school! My daughter has attended since kindergarten and now she is in 6th grade. Her teacher, Mrs. Rice is wonderful and my daughter loves her! The principal Mr. George has been wonderful also. I have noticed only positive changes since he came a couple of years ago. It is obvious that he cares about our kids and their families. He is easy to talk to and very concerned about the safety of the kids. I wish Nancy Cory had 7th grade so I could keep my daughter there another year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

I had two children attending this school. Both my children have special needs. their services and compliance was unsatisfactory. I repeatedly attempted to get them to comply with the IEP. i eventually let the district and drive 6 miles so that they can get an approprialte education with responsible professional that care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I am a mother of 5 children who all attended Nancy Cory from Kindergarten through 5th grade. My youngest son is currently a 5th grader here and I must say I have been extremely happy with all the teachers and the support this school has to offer for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

i think students learn more here then any school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

We loved Nancy Cory Elementary because of the dedicated teachers. In addition to regular academics, the school has spelling bees, geography bees, oration contests, band, strings, basketball, and many other activities built into the curriculum. All children have the opportunity to participate, try out, and work hard - if they choose to. Unfortunately, the school environment has suffered because of the recent influx of many apathetic parents who refuse to help with the PTO,in the classroom, with their children's uncivil behavior or they make excuses for their children not completing work. Too often these parents blame the teachers or the principal. Many caring families have left Nancy Cory because of these parents and their unruly children. There was a small number of dedicated parents who worked hard to help teachers and all children. They made a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

774

Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

774

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females55%
Males53%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females69%
Males71%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner88%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students27%
Females29%
Males26%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino15%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)39%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Non-economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability29%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only31%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate21%
Parent education - high school graduate18%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduate33%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students48%
Females46%
Males50%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females73%
Males56%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females70%
Males67%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females59%
Males47%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate42%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students55%
Females50%
Males59%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate45%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students53%
Females48%
Males57%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 38% 51%
White 28% 27%
Black 25% 7%
Asian 5% 11%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Eric George
Fax number
  • (661) 722-0625

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3540 West Avenue K-4
Lancaster, CA 93536
Phone: (661) 722-1010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Jordan River Academy
Lancaster, CA



Country Christian
Lancaster, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT