Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sundown Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lancaster

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $174,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2012

Sundown has been great, my two children love it there .They look forward to school. Every teacher has been awesome, my daughter is now in 4th and my son is in 2nd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

I am shocked at the comment that the new principal is rude and difficult to deal with. My grandson attended Sundown last year (2010/2011) in Kindergarten. He was having a significant amount of behavioral problems and the teacher and principal took an extreme amount of interest in his behavior and education. They were extremely understanding and supportive of our interest and we worked cooperatively to enhance his education and help control his behavior. He has since gone to live with his father and been diagnosed with ADHD. He is continuing to have behavioral problms despite the medication. The current teacher, principal and school are not nearly as understanding nor cooperative. I believe Sundown deserves a 5 star rating based on th cooperation and understanding we received.


Posted January 4, 2012

I noticed the previous complaints about the office staff being rude. I have experienced this over the 4 years that my children have been there but I must say that I have seen a great improvement. As parents we have a voice and a call or letter to the district office does not get ignored. Due to school traffic the bus for after school transportation has been a huge relief. It drops off three blocks from our house and they do not have to take it in the morning to be able to ride it home. I am confident my children are getting one of the best educations possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

I have had nothing but wonderful experiences at Sundown. My daughter has only been there for a month, but she can't say enough about how wonderful her teacher is. She is learning so much more than I ever expected. I communicate with her teacher on a daily basis and she is always up front and honest, good or bad. As far as the comment that a grandparent made regarding the mohawk, they are extremely distracting to students who often have a hard enough time concentrating in the first place. I'm sure if he had a haircut that reflected his heritage since the first day of school, and it was explained to the principal the reason for the dress code violation, she would be more than understanding. If a child is only four and is unable to follow the directions of the adults, maybe he is too young to begin a public kindergarten. The kindergarten students are kept separated in a single yard with direct supervision, and many four year old children aren't ready for that type of environment. I love Sundown and am proud to send my child there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

It seems to me alot of people agree the office staff is rude. The kindergarten teacher my grandson has is also rude. My grandson was lost the first week of school he is only four his parents received no calls no apoligies. There reply was we found him. The first or second day she also told my daughter that my grandson was very immature. How do you know that the first or second day. Among other remarks she has made my daughter got a call from the principle and said she has to cut his mohawk or he cannot return to school. I find that amazing they would take the time to call about his hair but not about the fact he was lost. What about all the other kids that have mohawks or different haircuts? He is part indian this is his heritage. Why dont they concern themselves with all the kids that are cruel to kids at that school and not about a four year olds haircut. My tax dollars at work!!!! I am sure there are kids that go to that school that there parents dont pay any taxes so focus somewhere else.


Posted April 26, 2011

I love that the principal knows each chld, and recognizes parents. My kindergartener is definitely challenged this year!! The curriculum and teachers are very helpful and competent. I think my only complaints would be the quality of lunches (made at the district office), and huge class sizes (32 in Kindergarten class with one teacher=sad :( ). Those are state and district issues...... Love Sundown! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

I really like Sundown this is my son's second year there. The only problem is that I do not think that the curriculum for kindergarten was challenging enough for the children, but other than that I really love the school..The parking police are brutal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

I was amazed how my child's education went up and every day she loved going to Sundown : thank you Sundown!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

I agree that the staff at Sundown seem to have an unpleasant attitude. Especially the new principal. Don't really have much good to say about the school, most teachers are nice, the kindergarden teachers need more training on how to deal with students new to a stuctured enviornment, teachers and principals need to learn that school should be a fun learning enviornment, not boot camp!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

I am rateing sundown as a five star elementary school. I am so happy that i feel secured with my kindergarten girl being there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

I loved sundown when my daughter went there. The staff and teachers were all so nice and m daughter thrived in the caring enviroment. Like most schools all over traffic is busy after and before school but I wont hold that against the school or staff. I give sundown 5 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

I think that Sundown is a pretty good school. I was going to rate it at 5 stars because my son's teacher is absolutely awesome. A huge turnoff for me is the poor attitude from the staff in the front office. I hate going in there because they are often quite rude and short with me. Also, good luck if you're picking your child up after school. The traffic is a nightmare and there is no place to park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

My son has been at Sundown since 1st grade and is in 5th grade now. It use to be one of the top elementary schools. I was extremely happy with Sundown until this year. I'm shocked at the communication level with his teacher. I still after 3 weeks of phone messages, emails, and notes sent to her have not yet recieved a response on a simple question. My son seems so dis-organized and has lack of interest in learning. He has always been a near straight A student and I can't even get an update on how he is doing. He's also been getting bullied by classmates which never happened before and even came home saying '(this kid's) gang...!! He can't even eat lunch without kids trying to take it from him. I'm extremely disappointed with Sundown. Before I never worried for his safty now I do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

My Son was diagnosed with ADHD, and was put on medication, with behavioral problems still happening while medicated. Almost getting him expelled from his kindergarten class in a School San Fernando Valley. He was then sent to live me (Dad) in the middle of the year, he was enrolled in Sundown and was also taken off the ADHD meds. Due to issues at his prior school he was put in a Special Ed. class. With the help of wonderful staff at Sundown, he was showing major improvement and was able to earn his way back in to a General Education class within 30 days! The first month at Sundown he shown a 70% behavioral improvement with out medication. He has continued to show improvement. Staff members and I are still working together( 1st grade) to make my Son grow up to be a Successful! THANK YOU SUNDOWN!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

This School is One of the best schools in Quartz Hill, California Probley the Whole Los Angeles Area I am so happy with my sons teacher Mrs. Morreale. She is so fun. and helps my child out with anything he needs extra help with we love Mrs. Morreale
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

I am a parent of two students attending Sundown. This is an excellent school. I am very impressed with the school district's selection of teachers. I am convinced that the teachers of Sundown are of the highest quality. My children are held to high academic standards and are making excellent academic growth. I have never had a concern for my children's safety while at school. The administration enforces appropriate security measures to ensure a peaceful campus. The school offers several academic interventions for students in need and have met the individual needs of my students in any way necessary. I believe that the staff truly cares about each and every child. I am proud to have my children attend Sundown Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

I agree that the school is over crowded. They keep adding YMCA bungalows. The only good thing about this school is there's a lot of parent volunteer. The school needs teachers that are competent.


Posted February 12, 2008

The school is over crowto ded and not academically challenging for students that wants to learn more. The school needs teachers that love/knows to teach and care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

I'm happy with my childs education, and teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

I am VERY concerned about the numbers of students per classroom. Homes have been built right up to the front door and it is unfair that our kids who have lived in the area for 8+ yrs have to suffer because of real estate greed! Sundown does NOT rate well in academics contrary to some of the reviews I read on here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

798

Change from
2012 to 2013

-38

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.

This school's
API score

798

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-38

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females49%
Males45%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate43%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students66%
Females63%
Males69%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females47%
Males53%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate44%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students59%
Females60%
Males59%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate51%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females70%
Males60%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females77%
Males75%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females57%
Males52%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate34%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students40%
Females37%
Males43%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)49%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented73%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate47%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students46%
Females41%
Males52%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented73%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate28%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females60%
Males52%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate58%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students48%
Females51%
Males46%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate40%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate58%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 52%
White 36% 26%
Black 16% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 11%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Timothy Barker
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (661) 722-0196

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6151 West Avenue J-8
Lancaster, CA 93536
Phone: (661) 722-3026

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Academy
Lancaster, CA




Lightwood Academy
Lancaster, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT