Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

First Street School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2013

My son was tested for GATE as a 1st grader at Lincoln Crossing Elementary. While waiting for the results to come in, we pondered the thought of what we would do if he was identified as GATE. Are we going to send him there or not? The overall looks of the school was bad in comparison to others and the school ratings was even worst. After being identified as GATE and attending the initial parent/teacher conference we've made up our mind to send our son to First Street GATE as a 2nd grader. It didn't take long before we realized that it was about the best decision we could have made for him. His teacher, Mrs. Gonzales is a WONDERFUL TEACHER. I've helped out in her classroom weekly to get a first hand experience in her mastery of the class as a whole; loving at all times but tough when it needs to be. He loves going to school and being challenged. He loves being surrounded by kids with similar interests and learning levels. Of course, if you can pull your own weight then you'll need to find another school... but you'll be surprised how quickly kids morph into their new surroundings and methods of learning. We hope Mrs. Gonzales is there for our other two sons when it is their time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I agree with many of the parents that have posted their comments. I had a choice to have my kids go to a more asthetically appealing school but I chose to have them attend the oldest and most diversified elementary school in Lincoln. My daughter is in the GATE program and absolutely enjoys it. In the short 3 years there, I can see that more parents are getting involved. However, more parent involvement is needed and I can see that the teachers really try to make up for it. There are also more activites after school, such as, technology, piano, choir, etc. Ocassionally, I'll go to the other surrounding schools for the kids' events and note that their schools have larger fields, better playgrounds, etc but I know that my kids education lies with not with the structure of the school but the teachers and my own involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

I've been very happy with First Street School. My daughter went to 12 Bridges for Kindergarten, then Lincoln Crossing for 1st Grade, and then First Street for 2nd Grade GATE. We are both thrilled that she has finally found the BEST school in the district for her. I might notice the 'imperfections' of this school, but she doesn't. There are wonderful caring teachers and staff, an award winning Principle, and a diverse student population at this school. Test scores do matter, but you have to look beyond them to see the whole picture. My child is finally happy to go to school and that's worth more than 5 stars to both of us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I have two daughters that attend this school and at first I did not want to send them there. But after their first complete year I am glad that I didnt make any changes. My daughters kindergarten teacher was great!! She was older and I was concerned at first and I thought they were not going to get along well... Well, they did and better than I thought my daughter is currently advanced for first grade and I beleive she is ready to move onto second... My other daughter is also doing just as great and she just loves the teachers that she has had in first and second. I think the office staff is great and they really do know all the children. All the parents are friendly and not judgmental like some of the parents at other schools in the area. First Street School is an excellant school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

I enrolled my son in first street school for his first year in kindergarten. I had nothing but trouble with the teacher that was assigned to him. I would 'not' recommend putting your son/daughter into this school. I had to pull my son from the school and held him back a year (by 'my' choice). The teacher was rude and too overbearing for kindergarten children. Although, some may not agree with me I don't feel like a teacher should be a drill sargent when teaching small children. I won't go into great detail about what happened with my son but I would never put him back into the school. When I complained to the principle he basically just said 'Sorry, I'll talk to her' I wanted action taken, nothing ever happened. Just know that this school is in program improvement for the next 2 years (what does that tell you?)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

First Street is the home of the Lincoln area GATE (Gifted and Talented Education)Class. God has sent us an incredible new teacher for this program and the children are simply at their best. We have an awesome music instructor that gets out into the community with our children's choir! Parent involvment is lacking to say the least, but our teachers just fill the void in every way! We are blessed by each of them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

I, personally found that this school was not the best for my daughter and transferred her out of the district to another school. Her Kindergarten teacher did not take personal interest in the students and was very disconnected. I felt that the instruction was not as good as it could have been. Other issues not directly related to the school but a factor in removing my daughter was their absolutely horrible 4H afterschool program which is not related to the school but is located on campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

First street school is awesome. First of all, it has a maximum of 500 students allowed on it's campus, because of the size of the land it is on, therefore your kids won't get lost in the shuffle. I have a 2nd and 4th grader and we have been here for 2 years. Every teacher is excellent. Couldn't have asked for better. Class size is small. The office staff is friendly and knows every child, since it is such a small school. For K-2 the English learners, hispanics, are separated from the English speakers and then intermixed from 3-5. First Street school also has a GATE program with an incredible teacher, which my daughter is in. I had reservations about this school to begin with, but we have had such a positive experience. We highly recommend it to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

795

Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

795

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students32%
Females36%
Males28%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino22%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability33%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only45%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)26%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students49%
Females51%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students33%
Females31%
Males33%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate14%
Parent education - high school graduate17%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students43%
Females34%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability42%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females54%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females70%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate62%
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females59%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females84%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner65%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate80%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students70%
Females63%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 67%
White 28%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 1%
Black 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/AN/A
English language learners 49%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ruben Ayala
Fax number
  • (916) 645-6284

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 First Street
Lincoln, CA 95648
Phone: (916) 645-6330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT