Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Creekside Oaks Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Creeekside Oaks Elementry is a great school. my granddaugher loves it there. The teachers and staff are great.


Posted March 20, 2014

Our 2 little girls are excelling in there classes. Thanks too there teachers and all the talented staff. We're greatfull for there diligent work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

I think that this school has such a dedicated and caring staff. We are new to the district and attending as an overflow student but would not change schools for anything. The teachers and staff are so involved, our daughters teacher wants to attend his students sporting events because he invests in his kids! Very happy with the education and I think the school is judged by a lot of people because of its age, instead of the quality of education their children are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

I love this school, teachers and staff. Have had a wonderful experience so far. My son is very happy here and so are we. Thanks for being a great school COES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

This past year at COES has been a blessing. My daughter has been challenged and Mrs. Burns is a FANTASTIC teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

My son has attended COES for the past 2 years. His kindergarten year was good except for the lack of communication from his teacher and the everyone learns at the same level attitude. Now in First grade he is loving school and his teacher (Mrs. Pellegrino) is excellent. She is always keeping us update with what's going on in her class and at school, if there is any problems with my son she let's us know right away and she is always available to talk with. Even though she is one teacher with 26 kids she makes sure they all learn at their level, while helping all the are kids learning all state mandated materiel at least. My son has really improved his reading and math now that he can learn at his own pace and not be held back. The only complaint I have with the school is the lack of parent involvement, which is more on the parents and not the school; however I have been told that more parents would volunteer if the PTO wasn't so "clicky" The new principal is a lot more friendly and involved with the kids. He introduced himself the first day I saw him, I saw the old principal a dozen times last year before I finally knew who she was. She was all buisness and not welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

My oldest will be entering second grade and my middle child will be entering kindergarten. The staff is very helpful and supportive; returning phone calls, answering questions, overall helping to make sure my children are succeeding. We are thinking of moving into a bigger home which would put our children into a different school boundry, but if this does happen I would request an interdistrict transfer so my kids can keep attending Creekside Oaks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

This school and WPUSD are beyond incompetent. I asked for a YEAR for an IEP for my son and was denied. When I suggested that I would get an attorney, he had one by the end of the week. While he ended up with an IEP, it was riddled with spelling and grammatical errors that should have made them blush. These are the people to whom we are entrusting our childrens' educational experience! There is a serious bullying problem, and the teachers look the other way. I ended up sending my eldest son to school in Lake of the Pines to get him out of this district, and my youngest ended up in a private school. I cannot imagine a worse experience. I have nothing positive to say about this school or WPUSD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

This is a great school. It is crowded --as all the schools are in our district. But I feel my three children get a lot of individual attention and they have excelled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Both of my children have attended this school. They have lacked safety on numerous occassions. There is alot of nightly homework rather than better use of class time. I feel that this schools staff oversteps the boundries between education and parenting. My children have had a couple of great teachers at Creekside Oaks. But for the most part I have been dissapointed and feel no support from the school principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Our child is currently in the third grade at COES and has attended since Kindergarten. Each teacher she's had we have been extremely happy with. Academically if there has been an issue of her needing more help, it has always been offered to her. At the beginning of second grade our daughter needed extra reading help and was placed in the reading program with Ms. Wold. At that time she was reading at a first grade,third month level. Ms. Wold worked with her in a small group (5 kids) every day for a half an hour. Mid year we picked up additional after school reading tutoring twice a week (offered free at the school). By the end of second grade our daughter's reading level jumped to a third grade 7 month level! Principal, teachers and staff care about COES kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

I am active in school leadership, a former school teacher, and a parent of 3 children attending COES. The teachers are kind, supportive and work hard. The principal puts in many long hours and works extremely hard. There are many wonderful field trips and assemblies for the children. I would like to see more extracurricular activities for the children, such as after school clubs, spelling bee, student council, etc. Also, more parents attending the PTC meetings. Many parents volunteer in the classrooms. There are a lot of stay at home mothers in the community. I think the school has a lot to offer. There is a diversity of cultures and social economic classes you don't always find in other schools. It would be nice if there was more equity between the schools - other schools purchase musical equipment, climbing walls, p.e. uniforms etc - best acquired with parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

My 2 sons attended 1 year at Creekside Oaks until the new school was completed.The discipline was good,academically it was average, alot of field trips,and a polite school staff.I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

My daughter is a current Kindergartner at Creekside Oaks. Her class size is about 28, which is an improvement from last year. Mrs. Maul is fantastic with the children and really strives to make each child grow academically and personally. Class structure is great, so far I have been pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

My daughter is in 1st grade and loves all the interactive curriculum, enjoys the science, music and computer pull-out classes and has had nothing but success with her wonderful teacher, Mrs. Maynard. We are looking forward to many more years at Creekside Oaks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2006

My son is a kindergartener at Creekside Oaks Elementary School. I am disappointed by the class size. There are 32 kids in his kindergarten class & and the teacher always seems short on supplies & time. I have donated what time & money I could; however, I some how feel that is not enough. I do not think that it's the school or the teachers fault, it is our Governors fault. Unfortunately, with a class size this large, my son has not been able to get enough one on one with his teacher - I feel he may have done better if this were the case (again, can blame the State). Overall, his teacher, Mrs. Hinnenkamp has been excellent with all of the children and I highly recommend you put your child in her class (if you can). She is a mother too & understands triumphs and falls of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

Great school. Great District doing some innovative things. The outdoor learning center is a tremendous asset and as it grows, it will give students a great tool that no other district can offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

In the last two years I have become disappointed with the cirriculum and class size. It has proven difficult to find adequate cirriculum that challenges my child without burdening him with more work. The children are very restricted in what they may say and what games they may play during free time and their are numerous inconsistencies from one child to another with regards to discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

Good school. Fro the most part, good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

793

Change from
2012 to 2013

-23

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

793

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-23

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females63%
Males51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state62%

Math

All Students59%
Females59%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females52%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state31%

Math

All Students57%
Females50%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability64%
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females69%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students62%
Females56%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females56%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students52%
Females55%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)40%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students63%
Females60%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Hispanic 36%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Black 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/AN/A
English language learners 21%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Scott Pickett
Fax number
  • (916) 645-6383

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2030 First Street
Lincoln, CA 95648
Phone: (916) 645-6380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT