Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barton Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to the principal for saving the school and saving their lives. School is everything and those other parents don't see it. Not the school's fault. We need to appreciate and support and help.

Barton Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
Some teachers are amazing, some are good, some are there to do their job. Then they go home but others run clubs and do school events.


Barton Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
It varies teacher to teacher so it is what it is. They are open to getting more though if you want it.

Barton Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
The school was loud and clear about trying and not giving up. They even wrote articles and gave ideas for parents at home so we can help our kids reach goals and have what the principal says is "Growth Mindset". My kids talked about it at home and told me that I didn't have Growth Mindset. What? They know more than me.

Barton Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
The office staff, the principal and vice principal are all calf and great. Got have to be in neighborhoods line ours to be successful.


Barton Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
They have a character education program and give out awards for them. Students are all getting better especially my kids.

Barton Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
The school is getting better. It has gotten better every since Mr. Littlejohn for the three years ago. it has been amazing. My kids love the school. i have 3 kids there now. They are a STEM school and their STEM Expo is a great experience for students and parents! they have several Robotics Clubs and they said they got a huge grant for STEM for years to come! I am so excited and my group of parents live what's happening. The district better leave the principal here at the school. The school doesn't get enough credit and help from the school district so the teacher and principal are doing it all themselves.

Barton Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
Staff and students are sooo kind!!!! Every morning staff tell you good morning!!! And when you leave they tell you have a great day!!!


Barton Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
My child has told me that sometimes tells me that sometimes there are kids who lie when they get in trouble

Barton Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
My child loves this school. Their staff are so kind and loving they treat you like family!!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barton Elementary School
1100 East Del Amo Boulevard, Long Beach, CA  90807-1010
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (562) 428-0555
Last modified Barton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top