Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carver Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in Long Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $425,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2010

Carver is a fantastic school! As a teacher, I recognize how lucky my own children are to attend this school and I would choose Carver over ANY school in the LBUSD. A small neighborhood school, strong academics, and caring teachers make this the school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

Carver is a great school with great teachers and principal. So glad my kids are at Carver!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

I cannot say enough positive things about this school. I love the small, family atmosphere and the ability to get to know the other students and parents. Carver has fantastic teachers that truly care about their students. Lots of parental involvement and our new principal is friendly and approachable. My two children have really excelled here. This year we received the CA Distinguished School Award. Carver is a great place to learn and grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

The wonderful caring teachers, active parent support and administration and staff all have the best interest of each student in their sites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

My daughter is a 1st grader at Carver and it has been another amazing year there. I love the teacher's I love the classroom sizes! Too bad that next year 2nd grade will have to increase but i'm sure the school will handle it. When I hear parents who are looking for a school I always recmomend Carver Elem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

My child is currently a 3rd grade student at Carver. We've absolutely loved this school, its learning environment, and my daughter's teachers. Curriculum is strong, standards-based, and enriching for students. My daughter has experienced many rewarding activities that are unique to Carver. I won't be surprised when Carver is awarded Distinguished School this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

Carver provides students with a challenging curriculum and postive atmosphere. The majority of the teachers have their Master's Degree and are continuing their education at the nearby university, taking courses to keep them current on various strategies and topics in teaching. Teachers at Carver are professional and care about all the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 9, 2009

Carver is okay, but I wish I could have kept my child at Lowell. I find my child not being challenged enough, & not given enough homework. I'm still up in the air about him returning in the fall. He has also come home upset about fights in the bathrooms & the older kids kissing, I am assuming it's the older kids but it is upsetting considering this is a K-5 school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

This is our second year at Carver. I have a child in Kindergarten and 1st grade. I was concerned about sending my children to a public school after being at a private religious pre-school. I have to say that Carver has been a truly wonderful experience. My children's expereinces so far have been very positive and have pushed them to challenge themselves. The Kindergarten staff is so loving and caring. They have truly helped to re-inforce our education foundation. I could not have asked for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

We are finishing up our first year at Carver (1st Grade) and we have loved it! It really is a community (but without the cliques), as there is huge parental involvement and everyone helps out. The PTA is extremely active and effective. The school is up to date, safe, and clean. They get out at 2:10 but there is free supervised play until 3:30 everyday and also in the mornings. My daughter's teacher is so kind and understanding, and she works VERY hard inside and outside the classroom, as do all of the teachers. I really value how she works with every childs individual needs and levels, helping the slower ones and challenging the higher ones. Carver is working very hard to maintain their high score and we have never had a problem there. I would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

This is our first year at Carver and I have to say that we love it. My son started Kindergarten and looks forward to going to school everyday. The entire staff, teachers and administration make you you feel so welcome the minute you walk on to the campus. I highly recommend this school to anyone that is looking for a warm caring environment with challenging and rewarding academics. We feel so blessed that this is our neighborhood school and our child can experience this wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

My three girls all went to Carver. There is a helpful, friendly atmosphere and the PTA is wonderful. They provide lots of resources for children who need help. The teachers, principals and nurse have been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

My son started Kindergarten this Fall and loves it. We are very impressed with the Kindergarten team, everyone is so caring and loving - especially Mrs. Jarzomb we love her. Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

My son is in 5th grade this year at Carver. He has had quality teachers through out his years at Carver. My son has some anxiety issues and all of his teachers have been so caring and supportive to him. I will miss Carver as we go into the 6th grade next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

Carver has a half-day Kindergarten, which we love, and the Kindergarten team is *amazing*. We wondered if our daughter (DD) would be challenged and we are so happy that they do reading at the child s pace. DD was on the verge of reading when she started school and in two months she started reading to me! She is writing sentences and loves going to school everyday. The homework is a bit overwhelming, though. We are very happy at Carver!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Carver Elementary provides students with the highest quality education. The teachers truly treat each child as an individual and really care about the child's success. The kindergarten team is amazing. The children have so much fun they don't even realize they are learning. I have had all three of my children at Carver and I would recommend this school to any family in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

I'm proud to have my children at Carver. The principal, teachers, staff and parents show great concern for a healthy learning environment. It's great to have such an outstanding school right here in our own neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2003

Both of my boys attend Carver as I did as a girl. The teachers and principal are VERY involved with the students as individuals. I receive constant feedback from both of my boys' teachers. My boys are cared for and encouraged every step of the way! Carver Elementary is a Five Star school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

900

Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

900

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females77%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females81%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disability40%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females83%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students93%
Females97%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females90%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females72%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females72%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students64%
Females56%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 26%
Hispanic 23% 52%
Two or more races 15% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 11%
Black 6% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5335 East Pavo Street
Long Beach, CA 90808
Phone: (562) 420-2697

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Nazarene Christian
Long Beach, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT