Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Long Beach, CA
Students enrolled: 773
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


McKinley Elementary School 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Last year my Daughter was harassed by (colored students) they locked her up in the restroom and threatened her. I brought this matter to the attention of the Principal and the Teacher and the Counselor. They say that they have taken care of the problem but the fact of the matter IS is that my Daughter still sees these kids that did that to her and she is frightened. This school year, we get a letter in the mail from the School indicating that first day of school is 9/4 9am. And everyday for that matter, they will start at 9am. huh? what? why? And on top of that, they indicated that the new school color that was added to the uniform chart is red blouse. why? so that these ghetto people can decide if they want their kids to wear Blue (cus) or Red (Blood) gang related colors? I don't like these new ideas at all. I am going to try to transfer my daughter out of that school. another problem is Is that I have already purchased her school uniform (blue and white) this school frustrates me!!

McKinley Elementary School 1

Posted June 25, 2010
- a parent
There is a land field about a block away from this school. The smell is horrible during the summer. There is also a refinery about 2 blocks away from this elementary school. Not a healthy environment for kids.


McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

McKinley Elementary School 1

Posted December 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


McKinley Elementary School 1

Posted March 15, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

McKinley Elementary School 4

Posted February 26, 2007
- a parent
I have a son in special education kindergarten class.I could not ask or pay for a better academic program for him.He has far surpassed his annual goals and over excels in other areas.The care and attention he receives from the teachers and staff is exceptional.He is cared for and paid attention to in the same manor at home.I have large bins filled with the art work of each of my four children who attend Mckinley.When any activity is unavailable at our school, we go out and look for it.We don't wait for it to find us.A teacher's job is to educate our children for six hours of the day.It is a parent's job to teach them everything else they need to know.Parent and teacher involvement coincide in having a successful student.The principal is only enforcing rules that were always there.He's just doing his job.Thank you, Mrs. Rachel Veloz


McKinley Elementary School 2

Posted February 21, 2007
- a parent
I have a second grader at McKinley, and I am always amazed at the fact that she almost never gets the chance to do any art or 'fun' learning activities. I have yet to see her go on any field trip this year and last year she didn't have one. I wish the school would spend more time with the individual learning of their students rather than giving so many workshops to the parents. I believe the Principal needs to be more positive and back off on so many rules. We are constantly being told what we can not do, what about the things we can do? Children are still just that, children. They grow up so fast. What happened to the days of enjoying school? Doing art projects and celebrating the various events of the year. Children need to enjoy what they are learning to make it be effective.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

McKinley Elementary School
6822 Paramount Boulevard, Long Beach, CA  90805
(562) 630-6200
Last modified McKinley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
McKinley Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top