Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Innocents Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 149 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Long Beach

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $299,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,220.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2014

HIS is amazing! The teachers and administration are great, they treat the parents and children like family. The curriculum is spot on, preparing the children to be the leaders of tomorrow. Yes, it is rigorous and parents have to work with their children outside of the school. However, the teachers go thru great lengths to educate the children. The teachers are strict, but incredibly caring. They know their students weaknesses and strengths and really work with them to help them succeed. The principal is strict, she doesn't mess around. However, she is kind and understanding. The sense of family is very strong, everybody knows everybody's name. The parents are encouraged to participate in the functions that take place in the school. Overall, my son's experience has been great. He loves his school. I am comfortable dropping him off every morning, because I know I am leaving him in a school that offers a safe and nurturing environment. I would recommend this school to any parent who is looking for a good school that enforces a strong curricula while installing morals and values to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

LOVE it! So friendly, caring and helpful! I feel like my child is very safe here. Class sizes are a bit on the large size, but orderly. Teachers are direct and do not allow for the distractions and such that take place in other schools my daughter attended. They do a great job and they really care about each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Absolutely Wonderful People so willing to help with any situation..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

My son is finishing 5th grade and has been there since kinder we are very happy with the support of the staff and the other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

As a parent of student that attended HIS from K-8 graduating on to Poly High School as a member of the PACE Program, I am very satisfied with the academic and religious education my son received at this school. Initially I was concerned with uniform policy that included wearing a tie, eventually I learned to appreciate it. From kinder to 4th grade, my son's classes were large, but the classes never felt crowded. I spent many of my parent hours volunteering in the office or classroom and had the opportunity to observe strong bonds and relationships built between the administration, faculty, staff, parish with the students. Many of the relationships forged between my son and his classmates remain in place today. His 8th grade class had a total of 23 students, 17 of the students had been together since kinder. I found that to be quite special. HIS is a special.


Posted February 17, 2009

I graduated a while back from HIS. 2 of my 4 kids graduated from HIS & I have another currently enrolled & 'maybe' one in Sept. I have to agree with a prior post re: the prior principal- she knew the kids & families & was very personable. There have been quite a few changes since the parish got a new pastor which I think have been partly the cause for the problems in the school. Although most of the teaching staff remain the same, there are some difficulties communicating with the office staff. I've called a few times to ask for info & most times the sec'y does not know the answer nor will she volunteer to find out or pass a message along to someone that can assist me. I've heard of problems from other parents & I'd pull my kid out too if I couldn't get resolution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I have two kids. One currently in 4th, and one who graduated at Holy Innocents. I was very happy in 2005-06 because the prinipal was great. They recently have changed the prinipals and it has been a total disaster. Pleaseplease dont believe that this school is 5 stars in prinipal leaderchip. Teacher quality is 5 stars. Parent Involvement is awful. There is no parent involvment ! Safety and discipline is 4stars. If you want to go to a good Cathloic School, send your child to St. Lucy , St. Joseph , St. Cypian , St. Anthony. Anything But Holy Innocents ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2007

My children are very happy at holy innocents and I love the fact that it is a small school were everyone knows everyone. It's like a home away from home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

My child is in the 3rd grade and has been attending since the 1st grade. Yes, the class size is large for a private school; however, each class has a full-time teachers assistant. This adds value to my childs learning. She gets all the individual attention that she needs. I also like that they provide an excellent tutoring for Reading, and are dialed into the Lng Bch Unified school district, which allows my child to attend summer school. I am very pleased with the education my child is receiving; and the religious & moral values that she is learning is great too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2005

Kindergarten classes way too large did not sent child to a private school for large classes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

The teacher and staff are really wonderful. I couldn't be happier about the quality of this school in all aspects and I just couldn't ask for much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 23% 1%
Black 13% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 11%
Two or more races 2% 3%
White 1% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sr. Mary Elizabeth Barbosa
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 Pacific Avenue
Long Beach, CA 90806
Phone: (562) 424-1018

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Robinson Academy
Long Beach, CA




Pacific Baptist School
Long Beach, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT