Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Anthony Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 167 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Long Beach

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $188,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2013

My son loves this school. This is his 4th year there and he is doing well. He is learning a lot, playing on the sports teams and really enjoying his school experience. The teachers are very loving and I feel that my child is safe there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2012

Teachers genuinely care for student's education, safety, religious studies and parent input. This school has more to offer than test taking skills. There is real rigor and there is exposure to ALL subjects, that are readily ignored in public school. My children truly enjoy their teachers and the shool climate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

I have two daughters enrolled here. One in 8th and the other in 4th grade. Both have been there since pre-k. The education and the emotional support that they have gotten from staff and friend at SAES is outstanding. My daughters both cheer and play sports. They have a strong faith base and know that they are very special. When a 13teen girl loves to go to school, then they're doing something right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2010

We have had our child enrolled at St. Anthony's since PK and he is currently entered into 8th grade. We could not have asked for a better school, our child is one of the top students in his class. The teachers at St. Anthony are wonderful and care about their students. St. Anthony isn't just a school, it becomes your second family. How often do you feel a sense of community/family at a public school? We highly recommend St. Anthony Elementary. Give them a call.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

St. Anthony Elementary has good academics, a wonderful intimate atmosphere and the children seem to respect each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

As a parent of two, Im expecting catholic schools is a better school and can provide a better education. Im very dissapointed that St. Anthony elementary school cannot provide the good quality of care to my child. Teacher needs more training in parent involvement. I also agreed to one of the comments here that it that SAES has no differences to public school. Teacher act likes they were teaching in public schools. SAES lack of equipment during break time. Lack of teacher aides. Lack of curriculum and Does not have structure teaching techniques And one dissapointment i encountered when it comes to judgemental statement to the student and parent. School needs more improvement for teacher quality, extracurricular activities and discipline procedures as well as leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

St. Anthony Elementary School is a great school. I have two children in the school both who started in Pre-K. My children have learned so much at this school, not only in academics, but also in religion, morals, faith, family and friendship. I recommend St. Anthony Elementary School to everyone I meet. Give them a call, you won t be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

My oldest son went to SAES from Kindergarten through eighth grade and is currently a senior at Saint Anthony High School. I also have a son in seventh grade and a daughter in kindergarten at SAES. I have seen the changes over the years and both schools have improved tremendously. The current ratio of students to teacher is around 20 to 1.The teachers are very helpful and you can see that they genuinely care about their students. One of the biggest changes has been the Parent Teacher Organization. It has gotten stronger as parent participation has increased. I know that I made the right decision to keep my kids at SAES and SAHS and I plan on keeping them here until they they graduate and go on to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

I have just signed my daughter up for middle school at SAES. I was very pleased to see the new additions to the school and I also had the opportunity to meet one of the new teachers. She was so friendly and my daughter is very excited to return to school now. I think that the new principal has made amazing progress in turning this school around in the past two years. The school bulliten advertises new classes to challenge middle school students, and I am excited to see new teachers who will have high learning expectations. I bet that the parents who gave mediocre reviews will change their tunes soon... I also know that a few children who left the school have returned this year. New Parents: The parking lot is a very secure area, gated on all sides, and monitored by adults always, not a main thuroughfare. Join the
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

This is my first year at SAES and I must say, I'm disappointed. I expected so much more since it was a private school. SAES is not advanced more than public school. The children play in the school parking lot without playground equipment. My child walks around during recess and lunch time. The parents are very involved with the school, the school just needs to improve. SAES needs to make improvements inside and outside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

My child is Middle school level and is also doing well academically. However, the school needs to be more challenging. The public schools are becoming more challenging especially in college prep programs. St Anthony's need to catch up with academics. Private schools are known for being more advanced academically then this. I think that they are behind in academic studies compared to other private schools and the LBUSD Middle school programs. Prices are rising for the school, but nothing extra is happening for the children. But the Staff is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

My son has been at this school since kindergarten and is currently in the 7th grade. He has been doing exceptionally well, although not challenged enough. The classes are small and the teachers are always available for parents. Parent involvement is better in the lower grade levels than in the higher ones. We are currently going through some tough transitions, and I hope that the parents will be supportive of the skilled teachers that have given so much of their time and teachings to the students at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

I have 2 children attending SAES, my oldest is going on her 6th year at the school. The curriculum is challenging and the teachers provide one on one tutoring weekly. The parents are highly involved with their children's education and its a tight nit community. They keep a small class size (usually around 25 children). Its a great school with awesome teachings of morals and values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2004

St. Anthony is a good size for more personal contact with all of the staff at the school. My daughter will know most of her classmate, as well as the rest of the school throughout her years here. The curriculum is good and there are plans for an even stronger academic program. There is also a good moral basis for the children to follow.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 70% 52%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Black 8% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
White 5% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Priscilla Doorbar
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

855 East 5th Street
Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone: (562) 432-5946

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Montessori On Elm
Long Beach, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT