Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Cornelius Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 293 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Long Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $425,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2014

I went on several tours to choose the best catholic school for my daughter. After, narrowing it down to my top 5 I went ahead and chose St. Cornelius. The principal and teachers were very welcoming and very open to any questions I had about the school. My daughter was accepted into the TK program. I am looking forward to this upcoming year. I am confident I chose the right school for her. This school sends their students to not only Honor programs in local High Schools but to well known college prep High Schools. I can't wait for her to start the TK program this fall :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

I've been at this school for sometime now and I fall in love everyday !! My son always has something nice to say about his teacher so or his friends. All I can say is I love,love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

My three children have attended this school over the last six years and the experience has been fantastic. All three of the children are testing well above there grade level due in large part to the hands on instruction given by the highly dedicated teachers and administration. The school truly operates like a family. The teachers are very interactive and communicate proactively with parents. The principal is fantastic. Like most principals, she has to deliver difficult messages from time to time and always exercises strong judgement and balances the needs of the community and the students. I would give the highest recomendation to this school, teachers, administration and parish staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2011

My son and my daughter attend St. Cornelius Elementary. I am amazed at how much information they are learning. All the teachers are truly dedicated to the children's academic future. The principal is a great lady, a fine leader and well respected among teachers and parents alike. If you want your kids to do well in life, send them to a public school; if you want your kids to be good students, send them to a private school. However, if you want your children to be outstanding citizens with exceptional knowledge and skills, send them to ST. CORNELIUS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2011

My son attended public school for two years, and I am so glad we decided to change to St. Cornelius. Bad behavior has always been adressed by the teachers. My son felt very welcomed by the students and staff. My second child started last year and he is doing wonderful. Such a loving enviornment. We are happy on every level!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

The teachers at this school are fantastic and the curriculum is challenging for those who want to work hard and learn. The social environment is terrible though, especially for a newcomer. There is bullying and a lot of bad behavior that is being ignored. I am looking elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

Save your money! When I first put my child in this school, I could not have been happier, but honestly this year has been awful. The teacher and principal have not done anything to help the situation. I cannot wait for this year to be over. Thankfully, we have already selected another school and my child will not be attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

We are just back to school and I am thankful to have found and chosen St. Cornelius for my children several years ago. My two very shy, reserved children have developed into really terrific pre-teens and have many friends in their respective grades. It is more than just books at St. Cornelius. It's about the child's development and growth into being the best that they can be, with a strong foundation in Faith based education. If I had a magic wand I would add a band and drama club. But, given time, I am sure the improvement-driven principal will find a way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

All my children have or are attending St. C. I believe they've received an excellent education especially with the basics. About 7 years ago the math program wasn't as strong as it needed to be. There was a shift in math teachers and the currriculum was brought up one full year. Additionally, because of the activities the kids have in class and church they become very good public speakers. Something I am not. Yes I wish there was a large playground, but it is a small price to pay for children who are well prepared for high school and have peer interaction and problem solving skills. All of a child's education is not simply accademics and I think St. Cornelius educates the child in a more real-world sense which includes their spiritual and moral development. When my older kids have continued on to public high school, and college they have excelled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

St. Cornelius is a wonderful school. The values based education is important for our children in today society. The faculty and administration is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

My child is new to the school this year. We just attended the open house and are so thrilled with our decision to move to St. Cornelius. The teachers are spectacular and the curriculum is engaging for the students. Regarding the bullying described in some reviews, in my experience the situations were dealt with swiftly by the staff. I do feel the school community could stand to be a bit more welcoming to newcomers, however. All in all, we feel very fortunate to have found this school for our child - good academics and values being taught here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

I attended this school myself, and am unfortunately very disappointed in its lack of progression over the past couple years. The lack of supervision and discipline is very apparent, as well as the horrible bullying that occurs frequently. I have also come to notice, that the principal is far too busy to address these pressing issues. I would suggest a more parent-involved system, which would bridge many more thoughts and ideas. Favoritism has always been an issue at this school, even when I attended as a child. All in all, I am am not impressed with this once fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

In our fifth year at this school and it just keeps getting better and better. Admin and faculty is always seeking to improve on what is already terrific. Kudos to St. Cornelius in Long Beach. Great school and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

I have been a Long Time parent of St Cornelius and I have been VERY pleased with my children's academic and personal growth. The teachers are dedicated and eager to teach and most importantly, teach for the LOVE of teaching. This school, in conjunction with our family values, has assisted in producing well-mannered, educated, and self-assured children. I feel honored to have my children attend a school of this caliber. The adminstrative staff is committed to excellence while setting the same expectations for the children. The school enviroment is loving and Faith-Filled. St Cornelius, by far, is and excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

As a parent at this school, I have to say that it has been extremely sad and disappointing that this school has not changed for the better. The classes are crowded, (approx 38/40 children per class)the playground supervision is lax, which has lead to numerous incidents of bullying...If a complaint is made to the teacher, she seems to exhausted to give it much attention. The principal seems to be most concerned with cramming the already bursting classrooms with children who are sometimes discipline problems. It is with a heavy heart that I write this as I genuinely loved this school 3 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

I was invited to attend my Grandchildren's school today as a guest. The children were polite and very well-mannered. All of the classes performed a song which was enjoyed by all. We then were able to visit each child in their very impressive classrooms. Their teachers were warm and inviting and the facilities were immaculate. It was a wonderful way to spend the day with my Grandchildren.


Posted April 21, 2008

Even through the most difficult financial times, my decision to keep my children at St. Cornelius has been the best decision of my family's lives. My children receive many compliments on how well behaved they are. They have learned how to respect others, as well as themselves. My son is graduating from St. Cornelius this June and is well prepared to start highschool. He has been accepted into the Honors programs at Wilson, Lakewood and Bosco. I am confident that St. Cornelius and being an involved parent, has given him the wings to fly and the confidence to achieve honors in highschool and college. My daughter is in the third grade and is at the top of her class. She loves school, her teacher and the entire environment. I highly recommend this school for you child. They will never slip thru the cracks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

We are very happy with the whole experiance our children are having at St Cornelius. The academics have been great and the caring, loving enviroment is tops! Listening to other parents who have their children in public school and some of the issues they encounter, we are more than happy to write our tuition checks. Getting those great grades on their report cards is wonderful, but the fact that St. Cornelius helps reinforce what we their parents are trying to teach them that caring and respecting those around you is so important. A well rounded child is important to us and so we feel really blessed that our children have all the awesome opportunities to develop into prepared good hearted teens by the time they are ready for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

Good, solid foundation academics. Tremendous faculty and staff. Great K-8 facility that is welcoming to newcomers and oldtimers alike. Great environment for children to develop and learn. We have been very happy with our decision to have our children attend St. Cornelius school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

I have been a volunteer at this school for some time. I know of no other Catholic K-8 school in California that is so highly regarded that it actually has a waiting list for admissions, even after recently expanding for an additional kindergarten classroom. Back when my 3 children attended this school it was a very good school, but there was no waiting list. Now it is truly a 'Great School!'


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Nancy Hayes
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3330 North Bellflower Boulevard
Long Beach, CA 90808
Phone: (562) 425-7813

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Henry K-8
Long Beach, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT