Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Los Altos Brethren School

Private | K-6 | 125 students

We are best known for excellent education & music.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

Our daughter is in Kindergarten at Los Altos Brethren this year. We searched both private and public schools before we finally found this amazing school. They have a developmental approach to education, so they learn through play and through hands-on experiences. They cover all of the traditional school curriculum--math, english, etc--but also do art, social studies through blocks, music, p.e., cooking. There is limited homework that takes my daughter about 30 minutes per week. The student-to-teacher ratio is outstanding. Parents can help in the classroom. The program is an optional full-day, which is great to help your child transition into a full day of school, five days per week. One benefit of the small class sizes is that the teachers really get to know your child, can identify any challenges the child may be having, and work with the parents to solve the issue pretty immediately. This is by far the best school out there if you want to instill a love of learning in your child from day one. The teachers and staff here love these children and only want the best for them. We couldn't be happier with the school and highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

This is an amazing school with high academic standards, great environment, band program, arts, computer, low teacher/child ratio and great families. I sent all 4 of my children there and couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

What an amazing school. Both my sons went to pre-school and elementary school at Los Altos Brethren. My oldest son graduated from 6th grade and transfered to a "public" middle school and has flouished! He fit right in, made a group of great friends, is active in music and makes all A's! My youngest son is still at Los Altos and looks forward to going to school everyday. He is excited to learn because of all the great learning opportunities - and field trips! His teachers are the best - and make "learning" fun! Our principal has strong leadership skills, is hands in the classroom and on the playground and knows every student by name! Los Altos Brethren has truly prepared my bosy for higher learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

My boys went to preschool here for one year before Kindergarten. The preschool staff is wonderful. My kids were nutured and taught many skills. They each had a teacher that was such a great fit for them. I couldn't be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

We finally found the Christian school that we have longed for! My youngest child is about to complete his first year at Los Altos Brethren, and we just love the place! It's what we've wanted all along in a Christian school, as we have been so disappointed by other "Christian" schools that, despite their own rules and supposed disciplinary systems in place, have allowed too many problem students, parents and even teachers create a negative environment. Los Altos Brethren is spiritually and academically rich, providing a school environment and experience that cannot even be compared to the other Christian schools that my 3 children have attended. From the first time I stepped on campus and attended a chapel service, I was amazed at the difference I observed in the students' behavior and attitudes. They were respectful yet participating and truly enjoying their time at school. These are the same students that have been so friendly and welcoming of my child, the "new kid." And the music program is AMAZING...a nice little bonus about being at this school. We are so very happy with Los Altos Brethren. I wish we would have found Los Altos Brethren 10 years and 2 children ago!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

I call this school my "Little House on The Prairie"!! There is no greater reward than living in the middle of a big city and having the blessings of a small school. Both my children have received an excellent education while thriving developmentally and emotionally. Los Altos Brethren is truly "One of a kind".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

I wish I could give this school (at least) 10 stars!!! I had such a great experience going to school here from pre-k through 6th grade! My faith was planted and grown here with the love and support of the wonderful staff and fellow students and families! The teachers are incredible and have a very tangible style of teaching that engages and challenges students to do their best everyday, in and out of the classroom. The music department is also spectacular! I am so greatful that my roots are at this school & I would recommend it to anyone! The things you will get out of attending this school will be indescribable!!


Posted August 24, 2009

My son attended preschool and just graduated the 6th grade. The schools was awesome, very good christian foundation and values. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

We have had kids from Kindergarten through 6th grade and its been a great experience. Great kids and great learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

We couldn't be more pleased with this school. We have graduaed from the pre-school and now I have two kids in the elementary. School is developmentally based, strong Christian values, very low student to teacher ratio. One class of every grade. Faculty knows all kids by name. Great music program. Kind and caring staff. Couldn't have picked a better place to lay a strong foundation for elementary school. Parents are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

We had 4 year old in preschool 2 days a week for 10 months. We think highly of Los Altos Grace Brethren and recommend without reserve. The wonderful spiritual addition to the curriculum is the added bonus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

My son went to preschool here and we thought that he learned alot and the all the staff new who he was and were very courtieous and helpful. Our son love's to go to school and learn. Its academics is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Our daughter attended school here from pre-school to 6th. We believe the high quality of teachers contributed greatly to her high standards of education and christian values.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 26%
Hispanic 10% 52%
Black 4% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Rick Lenger
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Brethren
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (562) 431-7013

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • Our Advanced Band was one of the first Elementary School bands to be asked to perform at Disneyland! Plus they have invited us back each year since then!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Brethren Christian Middle/High School
McAullife Middle School (Los Alamitos)
Lakewood Christian School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6565 Stearns Street
Long Beach, CA 90809
Website: Click here
Phone: (562) 430-6983

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Gant Elementary School
Long Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT