Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences 3

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
Progress is slow, maybe the kids will learn how to read and write better this year...yes, its lacking in academics and there are no real science programs. What happened? Where did the funding go? no accountability for the last principal expenditures so our kids pay the price and go with out science? This is a promising school... The carrot at the end of the stick is that its a feeder school LACES! but is it worth going to school and not being prepared? No computer time, no classes being taught to work on these skills. This school would benefit greatly from an after school program that taught a sport and created teamwork. It could use some enthusiasm. One good thing is that its after school program improved! Parents should speak up collectively more often. If you sign your kid up for this magnet be prepared to home school them at the same time so they won't fall behind.

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences 2

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
AMEN! Our prayers were answered! There is a new secretary in the office!! No more bad attitude when you come to say hello or ask for info. Education is still a bad! Why should our kids suffer?? We need better teachers!!


Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences 4

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
Things are looking up at Mid-City Magnet. Don't let the previous reviews dissuade you from visiting the school. We have a new principal and the tide of change is here. We have a positive attitude and teachers are working hard to help our children succeed. Let what's in the past be just that. The focus is academics and the ability each of us has to assist our children to achieve their best potential is our goal. My child overall is doing well at Mid-City elementary. My job as a parent is ongoing. Our job as a community is to empower our kids to look to other resources such as libraries, documentaries, new papers, museums and local issues to teach them too. I don't leave all the responsibility to the school. Come see for yourself how well this school is doing. Check in at the front office as an observer, don't interrupt the class. Make up your own mind. Sincerely, a Proud Mid-City Prescott parent

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences 3

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
I, too received a phone call that district has stepped up and removed the principal. This is very good news. Accent on VERY. I am putting three stars because we now have a fighting chance to make MidCity great. This is a real opportunity to change lives. Does every parent understand that a high school graduate only earns 62 percent as much as a college grad? Google it. MidCity feeds one of the highest rated Middle/High schools in the state of California. This is a gift. Prior to now the old principal did not support this relationship. We now can all step up and do what we can for our child and the MidCity community to get our kids on track to be successes in elementary school middle school and high school. Let's step up and jump on this real opportunity.

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences 1

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
UPDATE: I have just heard the principal was removed! I personally know of a parent at this school who was removed from the School Site Council (a parent volunteer) out of retaliation by the principal for asking questions about the title 1 monies and budget decisions. LAUSD obviously supports this kind of behavior by it's principals, because she is still at the school. I have been to the SSC meetings and they are a JOKE. I have even seen the principal talk back and humiliate a district administrative employee at one meeting and was mortified for the poor woman. The principal is a bully to the parents and staff and needs to be removed for this school to succeed.


Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences 1

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
This is a small school that has a lack of parent cooperation and communication. Only a few teachers are well prepared.

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
Laces is the end game, but Mid City doesn't care if you succeed once you get there. So in a sense, yes children are determined to succeed because they are doomed to fail coming from Mid city to laces.

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
School and staff could care less about the children. It is very disturbing to watch the staff speak to the children in such a disrespectful way.


Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
There are no award ceremonies to celebrate the children doing well. There are some sort of Mid City currency the children receive, but what those fake dollars buy, I have no idea and neither does my child. The school could care less if your child is a good citizen. I would describe it best as a baby prison. Treat all children as future criminals!

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
My child's teacher actually complained during the parent teacher conference that my child did too much, too comprehensive of work. First time I've ever had that complaint from a teacher. The extra mile and curiosity is discouraged at this school.

Nearby schools

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences
3150 West Adams Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90018-1828
(323) 731-9346
Last modified Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top