Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 285
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences 3

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
UPDATE: A new principal is going to give the school a much needed opportunity to reset expectations, establish functioning processes, engage and involve parents in meaningful ways and enrich and inspire students in science. This is all GREAT news and we very much look forward to turning this into a GREAT SCHOOL! Updated the ratings to a 3-star as there is now real hope for success! ----Are you a parent with high expectations and want the best education for your child? Do you plan to be very involved in school life? Do you want your child to go to LACES and succeed? Then you will be very disappointed at this school! As a parent, at every turn, you'll meet obstacles. Whether you are trying to get answers to basic questions, wanting to volunteer and offer your support, needing to use the parent center, visiting your child's classroom for observation, looking for an audience with the principal, receiving basic communication of school events or getting involved in school councils you will be frustrated! Your child will likely be unprepared for the demanding and high quality education at LACES so prepare to tutor them. If you are up for a challenge, willing to put in the work as a parent to stand up for parent rights, improve the school, resourceful and are in it for the long haul, then this is the school for you! This year, many parents have raised their concerns to the district and are fighting to gain their support to change the administration and fix the dysfunction. Such a shame as the school has so much potential and the students deserve better!

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences 3

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
I, too received a phone call that district has stepped up and removed the principal. This is very good news. Accent on VERY. I am putting three stars because we now have a fighting chance to make MidCity great. This is a real opportunity to change lives. Does every parent understand that a high school graduate only earns 62 percent as much as a college grad? Google it. MidCity feeds one of the highest rated Middle/High schools in the state of California. This is a gift. Prior to now the old principal did not support this relationship. We now can all step up and do what we can for our child and the MidCity community to get our kids on track to be successes in elementary school middle school and high school. Let's step up and jump on this real opportunity.
2 people found this helpful


Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences 1

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
UPDATE: I have just heard the principal was removed! I personally know of a parent at this school who was removed from the School Site Council (a parent volunteer) out of retaliation by the principal for asking questions about the title 1 monies and budget decisions. LAUSD obviously supports this kind of behavior by it's principals, because she is still at the school. I have been to the SSC meetings and they are a JOKE. I have even seen the principal talk back and humiliate a district administrative employee at one meeting and was mortified for the poor woman. The principal is a bully to the parents and staff and needs to be removed for this school to succeed.

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences 1

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
This is a small school that has a lack of parent cooperation and communication. Only a few teachers are well prepared.

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
Laces is the end game, but Mid City doesn't care if you succeed once you get there. So in a sense, yes children are determined to succeed because they are doomed to fail coming from Mid city to laces.


Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
School and staff could care less about the children. It is very disturbing to watch the staff speak to the children in such a disrespectful way.

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
There are no award ceremonies to celebrate the children doing well. There are some sort of Mid City currency the children receive, but what those fake dollars buy, I have no idea and neither does my child. The school could care less if your child is a good citizen. I would describe it best as a baby prison. Treat all children as future criminals!

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
My child's teacher actually complained during the parent teacher conference that my child did too much, too comprehensive of work. First time I've ever had that complaint from a teacher. The extra mile and curiosity is discouraged at this school.


Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
The principal has very little faith in these kids and personally resents the attachment to LACES. Her expectation on their success is low and thwarts parent involvement at every turn.

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
The children are kind at this school. But they are verbally abused by the staff. It is not a warm and nurturing environment where their needs are met.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences
3150 West Adams Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90018
(323) 731-9346
Last modified Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mid-City's Prescott School Of Enriched Sciences Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. Top