Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Private
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 73
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New World Montessori School 5

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
We love New World! Two of our children attended New World, and we were extremely happy with our experience there. Our oldest son started at a fancy private school, and it was a disaster. He came to New World mid-year with little enthusiasm for school. Within a week, he was happy with school again. We definitely credit Miss Vivi for turning him around and working through the tough transition with him. The preschool was fantastic for our middle son - Miss Marissa is so kind and patient and in tune with the kids' needs. They are extremely flexible and really tailor the learning process to your child's strengths and weaknesses. Our kids became so much more independent and confident after being at New World, and they truly looked forward to school every day. We only left because we moved out of LA, otherwise son #3 would be starting this year!

New World Montessori School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are truly what make this school special. They are so dedicated to the students and the school, and they are very easy to stay in contact with.


New World Montessori School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
Yes, because of the independent learning process. They are taught to be self-motivated and select their work (given the basic framework of Montessori), and this helps kids grow into the expectation that they own their own learning process.

New World Montessori School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
We absolutely love this school! My daughter began in the toddler program at age 2, and she is now finishing 2nd grade at NWMS. It is a loving, caring place, where your child will learn at or above grade-level. The Montessori philosophy treats each child with respect, and encourages independence and self-discipline. Even at the toddler age, it was amazing to see our daughter's development, which set the foundation for preschool and beyond. I remember being nervous about potty training, and they literally had it done in one week! The pre-school is amazing, and ALL of the children are learning beyond their years, which continues through kindergarten and elementary. The teachers work with the students individually, and as a group, so every child s personality and learning style is taken into account. It is reasonably priced, and the education is superior to many more expensive schools. It takes some parents a little getting used to the Montessori method, but you will not be disappointed with the results! Math, reading, science, as well as manners, and a true love of learning that will serve your child for a lifetime. As you can see, I can t say enough good things about this school.

New World Montessori School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent the teachers the staff everything about this school is top notch. The PK and K teachers are just wonderful educators and people. You really can't go wrong with any grade level at New World Montessori.


New World Montessori School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Best Preschool with best teachers , high quality, I love this school and i am so happy and proud to say my son is going to this School... Love the overall attitude of the school. Teachers are so loving and respect kids as an individual and guide them, its a pleasure to see how they handle kids!!

New World Montessori School 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
My 3 1/2 year old has been at the school for about a year now, and we've been very pleased. After having a terrible time with a small, home Montessori school, this place was a delight. My son loves it, we've had no issues at drop-off (which we struggled with at his previous school). He's learned great social skills and self-discipline. Both of these are as important to future success as topical learning, which we have no complaints with that either there. When he wasn't wanting to sit at circle time at first, they were patient and loving with him. We appreciate the healthy, hot lunch option and the sugar-free environment. We and he also love the extra-curricular activities that are offered for kids who stay at afternoon care. We'd rather do other things on the weekends with him then cart him to soccer. After my previous experience, I thought child care and difficulty solving issues naturally went hand in hand, but at NWMS, my experience has been very different.

New World Montessori School 2

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
Maybe fine for ages 7 and under as a day-care and kindergarten. It is a safe environment for younger kids, but NOT a good school for 3rd grade and up for the money. You can find better. Principal is defensive and seems to only care abt money. The staff turnover is high. The upper elementary teacher hides from parents and they don't do a good job teaching math.


New World Montessori School 5

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
New World Montessori is an incredible school. Our daughter started in their infant class and is currently in the toddler class. NWMS is a wonderful environment for a young mind to grow. The teachers and staff are all very warm and open, and we couldn't be happier. Our daughter learns something new every day. We often get comments on how advanced she is when people hear her counting or her vocabulary, and we know a large part of that is because of NWMS. We are expecting a second child and it wasn't even a second thought that she'll also be attending this wonderful school.

New World Montessori School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
As a professional I have spent over 20 years helping parents navigate the school system for the specific needs of their children. When it came time for me to do the same for my family, I feared that it was going to be a difficult journey. I am glad to say that NWM turned out to be the perfect fit for my child and I have since referred many families to the school, particularly families with gifted children whom were not allowed to work above their grade level at very highly rated elementary schools. The teachers are top notch and I cannot say enough about how much I appreciate the welcoming front line administrative team. Parent involvement is not mandatory however there is a very real presence of parents on-site. Many of the parents who work full-time tend to contribute with their vast intellectual knowledge (designers, doctors, researchers, grad students), and my child has benefitted from every second she has spent in this community. Thank you Ms. Yasmine for the incredible school you have created!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New World Montessori School
10520 Regent Street, Los Angeles, CA  90034
(310) 838-4044
Last modified New World Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades K-6
New World Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top