Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 64 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Los Angeles Leadership Academy 5

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
Dedicated staff members to ensure success. Constant changes to the school adding small improvements. Improvements are slight, But greatness does not come over night.

Los Angeles Leadership Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
Specifically my advisor, always checking up on my grades and showing support towards my weaknesses. Perez you the man !


Los Angeles Leadership Academy 5

Posted June 13, 2016
- a community member
The school is always improving in some way which opens more opportunities for the students already here or the ones coming in. The teachers have time to have one on one with students that need a bit of extra help because the classes aren't over crowded like other schools which teachers barely have the chance to get to know their students.

Los Angeles Leadership Academy 4

Posted June 13, 2016
- a community member
Los Angeles Leadership Academy is a thriving school that seems to improve year after year. Most teachers will listen to you when you need help in any subject. What makes the school unique is that it offers opportunities to its students be it study abroad, internships, or field trips more often than most schools. The majority of its students end up going to community college, university, or a trade after they graduate. They are very helpful when it comes to applying for college. Recommend to those who want a small school with a myriad of opportunities.

Los Angeles Leadership Academy 2

Posted May 27, 2016
- a community member
Always the same at this school. New principal says that things have changd, but the school has most students failing, AP program is a joke, and no discipline at the school. This school currently has a massive drug problem, and the principal doesnt know what to do.


Los Angeles Leadership Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 27, 2016
- a community member
The teachers that I am thankful for: Phylis, Brian, and Al. These teachers made the school unique.

Los Angeles Leadership Academy 1

Posted December 29, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school but only if your son or daughter is doing really bad in another school. You can say that this is like the last resource for those students failing because in this school they'll accept you even if you have the worst grades. If your daughter is a good student who really wants to learn and expand her knowledge, this is not the right place for her, take her somewhere else. In this school they have a new principal every year so everything changes all the time. This is the first year for my daughter here and she doesn't like it, she says the middle school was better because they keep the same principal all the time. Her friends told her that every year gets worst in the high school, most of the students are failing their classes and the school doesn't care. As I said before, if your child is having problems or failing all of her classes somewhere else, bring her here because she will find help, otherwise look for a better option.

Los Angeles Leadership Academy 5

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
LALA is the first school that my son has attended where, as a parent, I actually f feel that the teachers, the principal, the administrative staff and the after-school program counselors truly care about their students and truly enjoy their work. Most importantly to me is that my child is thriving here, He is earning mostly A's and A+'s. He likes all of his teachers, he is learning and he is enjoying the process of learning. Everyday he talks to me with enthusiasm about things he did at school, from the art he has created to the cool stuff he learned in Biology etc... He participates in the after-school programs and he willingly signs up for other activities that the school offers, such as field trips and volunteering opportunities. At first he was reticent about going to this school and disliked the fact that he would have to wear a uniform, but he seems to have adapted to the rule without suffering any undue side effects. I feel that LALA and its educators and staff have managed to create an atmosphere where my child feels motivated to learn, to make an effort and to excel, with a focus towards his future and towards achieving his goals.


Los Angeles Leadership Academy 5

Posted December 04, 2014
- a teacher
Outstanding small school. I was welcomed with open arms. Class sizes and teacher rapport is outstanding. Everything is done in teams and suggestions, opinions and idas are all welcome.

Los Angeles Leadership Academy 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a student
In my opinion, I think LALA is an excellent school to get a good education and it is a place where you will always feel safe. The teachers will always care about the students no matter what actions they take. The school provides you with several school supplies and you are always cared for. Here at LALA, we are a family !

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Los Angeles Leadership Academy
234 East Avenue 33, Los Angeles, CA  90031-1937
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. (323) 227-7719
Last modified Los Angeles Leadership Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top