Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 474
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wallis Annenberg High School 1

Posted September 10, 2014
- a community member
Horrible school, it use to be a great school. Incompetent staff, they get new staff every year. Really unsafe school, the staff is rude to the parents. They only hire friends, so no one is good at their job. I only have negative things to say about this school, really wish they would have kept the old structure and old staff. You are better off sending your kid to Jefferson or Santee HS because this school lacks programs, they cut AP classes, their sports programs went down the drain when they hired some incompetent teenage girl to coach Volleyball and soccer. The school use to care about academics, now students cant even pass basic classes. Just look at their test scores and graduation rate. This school turned from Time Magazine school of the year, to one of the worst schools in the area. If you want your kid to get beat up, get bad grades, slack off in school, have staff that doesn't care about parent concerns, then this is the school for your kid! If you care about your childs education, don't enroll him/her in this "school".

Wallis Annenberg High School 5

Posted November 04, 2011
- a student
The teachers are amazing answer all the student's questions. The leadership in that school is so great. They allow students to participate in programs such as "MESA", they also provide after school programs such as "ROE" the principals are doing a great job. my test scores are improving so much.


Wallis Annenberg High School 5

Posted May 28, 2010
- a student
There may be times in which staff members may yell at us for no reason, but would you rather have a school in which students have safety and trust, or a school with everyday violence and disrespect towards teachers?Despite what people may think about Wallis Annenberg High School, it is undoubtedly among the schools in Los Angeles that allow students to call it home. Although a great storm of confusion and problems has just past through here, the end of the storm is in sight! I see the slow change of direction towards the necessary progress of WAHS. I, as an 8th grade student at WAHS, am proud to say that I go to Wallis Annenberg High School!

Wallis Annenberg High School 0
no rating

Posted January 21, 2010
- a parent
I too believe that the high school principal talks over issues, deliberately cuts off parents during meetings and does not have control over her teaching staff. Also i have a senior at the high school and don't recommend anyone to send their child to the high school department, however the elementary department Tas is a good program.

Wallis Annenberg High School 5

Posted May 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Wallis Annenberg High School 5

Posted January 04, 2009
- a student
WAllis annenberg is one of the worst schools. The principal tries to cut off everything she possibly can in order to save money. The principals here just get worse and worse. They dont respect the students and they roam around watching what we do as if we were some sort of criminals. They yell at us for no reason at all. You cannot even great another alumni without having the principal saying that it is incorrect or a violation of the school laws.

Wallis Annenberg High School 5

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Wallis Annenberg High School 2

Posted June 19, 2007
- a parent
The school has taken a nose dive in the last few years. It is no better than any other LAUSD school. The leadership is poor and the after school/summer school programs are a joke compared to what they used to be. The only good thing is they still have some really good teachers. We have been involved with the school for a long time so we'll give it one more year and hope things don't get worst.


Wallis Annenberg High School 4

Posted April 06, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wallis Annenberg High School
4000 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA  90037
(323) 235-6343
Last modified Wallis Annenberg High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wallis Annenberg High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top