Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
102 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 156 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New West Charter School 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
We are a 6th grade family here at New West and have only had the ABSOLUTE BEST experience with the teachers, staff and principal at the school. Our son started out very happy and even commented that he never knew "learning could be so much fun!" 2 months into the school year, he started having a really hard time coping with the academic and social demands of 6th grade. We were very concerned and the teachers, staff and principal responded quickly, efficiently and empathetically. They were all there helping our son and us. My husband and I cannot say enough good things about the support we have received from the school.

New West Charter School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Barnett is the most caring and responsive principal I've ever met. Very happy she is at New West


New West Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
This school handled sensitive issues with discretion, care and great concern. The teachers really care about their students.

New West Charter School 5

Posted April 13, 2016
- a student
I am a senior at New West Charter. I couldn't have asked for a better school and overall community to have learned in. Fantastic teachers and curriculum.

New West Charter School 3

Posted April 08, 2016
- a community member
Hi, I am a prospective parent to New West. My daughter is on the waitlist for 6th grade next year. I am concerned about the recent comments and high staff turnover. Can someone please elaborate? It seems this school is run more like a business than a caring nurturing learning environment. Is it all a façade? There have been great reviews over the years and many red flag comments lately. I would love to hear from more parents, staff and students to help our family make this very stressful decision. Thanks!


New West Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 29, 2016
- a community member
Mr Herrera as he is such an amazing teacher in such a school that no no longer values anyone

New West Charter School 1

Posted March 29, 2016
- a community member
This school got lost in the process of making a high school. I'm so glad it's my daughters last year for middle school. My oldest son had a very different experience when he went there as the school had not expanded. This's school year the school, lost over 16 staff members. Some of their best and reasoned teachers are now gone. Why? It's sad to see how the high expectations are no longer there.... It's really sad to see how such a high performing school isn't a glimpse of what it used to be. This year we lost teachers and staff members mid year! Look elsewhere...

New West Charter School 4

Posted March 29, 2016
- a student
Hello this is a student and I would like to shout out this school. It has the most amazing environment. I have learned so much since I've been here since 6th grade. You have to give it a shot before shutting down the school. This is the biggest hype on upcoming schools. Shoutout to the Front office people. An Straka.


New West Charter School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 29, 2016
- a student
Straka the best Teacher and Vice Principal at new west. He has done such a great job after taking over. No regrets on this move.

New West Charter School 1

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
This school is only great if you fit their mold -- no IEP, no thinking outside their box, no outside interests, no asking questions, no interest in interacting with teachers or administration. You either buy-in to their way 100%, or "there are plenty of people on the waiting list that would be happy to take your place." They are so focused on making the high school a success that they have let the middle school go downhill (what a shame as it used to be terrific), and the high school is a mess. Many teachers have left (under secrecy -- no explanations, just silence), which speaks volumes. Our family once felt so lucky that our lottery number was picked. We wasted years hoping this school was as good as they want to be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New West Charter School
1905 Armacost Ave, Los Angeles, CA  90025
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 156 reviews. (310) 943-5444
Last modified New West Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-11. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top