Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
234 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
66 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wesley School, The 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
I love the whole school, but the middle school is the jewel in the crown. The English teacher is so talented and engaging he is the kind movies are made about. The math teacher is so advanced he has been written up for his formulas, and students find him so supportive that high school students getting ready for exams come back to his study hall at Wesley to regroup with him. That says a LOT about him. The community is warm and friendly, and as a parent you can be as involved as you would like, or if you can't be there is no pressure. Wesley is about ten grand less expensive than the majors surrounding it, but honestly I think it is a better environment at any price.

Wesley School, The 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a teacher
The best school in the Valley, hands down. Administrations, faculty, parents, and kids - all top notch.


Wesley School, The 5

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
We are beyond happy here. Our boys thrive and the teachers are so supportive and interested in their students. Class sizes are capped out at 20-something and their are normally 2 teachers per class, which is nice. Great place!! Friendly environment and parents are allowed to come on campus any time. Their not shunned at the door like some of the other private schools.

Wesley School, The 5

Posted April 05, 2014
- a parent
Wesley is a great blend of traditional and progressive. It's small and quaint, but not oppressively small. My son has enjoyed Kinder through 2nd grade thus far. He is growing and evolving and I am kept up to speed and armed with information as we go. I have no regrets choosing this school over Campbell Hall, at least for elementary school. I feel a large school is not really an asset during this time.

Wesley School, The 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
Wesley is a wonderful environment, academically competitive and the staff is very supportive. The anti-bullying policy is strictly enforced. My kids are happy, happy kids and love going to school every day. The new head of school has made some excellent choices on recent hiring of teachers, replacing others that needed to go.


Wesley School, The 5

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
We moved our two children to Wesley beginning this academic year from one of the top LAUSD elementary schools (which they both loved). I have to say they couldn't be happier!!! My oldest child would have slipped through the cracks at any other school and my younger child is given all the space he/she needs. Every single kid at the school gets the opportunity to speak at Chapel and everyone: upper, lower, staff, parents support each other in a way I haven't seen before. I am happy with the academics and sports -- and the character building is over and beyond what anyone could expect. No sign of bullying. No matter what I have to say I, as a parent, am listened to at the very least. More ethnic diversity than at most privates, I wish there was more understanding for families with same sex parents though -- my one struggle is the fact that quite a few families are conservative (from an LA point of view at least). A gem of a school that is still not that well known. I highly recommend it.

Wesley School, The 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
My son is a freshman at an academically rigorous High School, and thanks to the middle school program at Wesley, he's incredibly well prepared. Wesley gave him the academic foundation, taught him the value of building relationships with his teachers, and prepared him to thrive in a challenging environment. Beyond academics, Wesley fostered the self confidence and drive that helped insure a smooth transition into High School.

Wesley School, The 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
I grew up in a tight-knit community, so it s important to me as a parent that my kids feel loved, supported and encouraged the way I was as a child. My son is a bit shy and can struggle in social situations, but since he started at Wesley a year ago, his confidence has grown tenfold and he s really starting to blossom and come into his own. This past spring, he performed well at a district wide chess tournament and was recognized during chapel to a rousing applause. My son didn t stop smiling for days! He felt so loved and supported by his peers, his teachers and the entire Wesley family. He ll never forget that moment, nor will I. Sending him to Wesley was hands-down the best decision we could have made; we love everything about it, as does he. As the saying goes, it takes a village to raise a child, and I couldn t have picked a better village to help mold, educate and prepare my son for his journey in life.


Wesley School, The 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of a first grader at Wesley. I dropped in the other day to take my daughter her lunch. (which I forgot to give her) As I peeked into the classroom, I noticed my daughter raising her hand (along with most of the other children) to answer a math question. All of the kids were engaged, verbal, having fun and were happy. As I left her classroom I noticed some 7th or 8th graders gathered around on the grass with their teacher talking about poetry. They were all engaged and smiling and learning. As I kept walking through the campus, I noticed many kids talking to each other with smiles on their faces and just looked happy, confident and secure. My daughter tells me every day that she loves Wesley and going to school. I can't help but remember how hard it was for me growing up going to school everyday and not liking it. Even these days I notice how unhappy many kids are about school and learning. I am so impressed with Wesley and their staff. They are truly making a difference in my child's life both in academics and in life skills. Can't wait for my 2yr old to be old enough to start Wesley. Thank you John, Vereena, Teachers and Staff!!! -Michael Canepa

Wesley School, The 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
I m a parent of two 2nd graders and a 4th grader at this school. I remember first walking onto the Wesley campus after touring 3 other schools and it just felt like like a big hug for my whole family. The mission statement headline is Academic excellence and character development within the circle of family . What the circle of family means to me is that the whole lower school faculty knows my kids, even if they re not their current or past teachers. As for character development . . . go visit the school for a tour, guided by the middle school students. Two of the most impressive people, REGARDLESS of age, that I've met. And one of the open secrets of Wesley is that it s a great educational value, and with three kids enrolled that s important to us. All I know is when I talk to my kids teachers, I can tell they really care, I mean like are personally invested, in my kids well-being and education. That means everything to me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wesley School, The
4832 Tujunga Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  91601
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. (818) 508-4542
Last modified Wesley School, The is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top