Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 1,861

4 stars
Based on 64 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


70 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School 1

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
Not the best school if your child has an Iep. My son had good grades but everything changed since I enrolled him in this school. Staff has bad communication. .they don't return calls and ignore bullying and blame the victim because of it. I don't recommend it they don't follow the iep accommodation either. Worst choice we made.

Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School 3

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
I think this school is losing its prestige and I think I know why, it's the principal she really doesn't do anything for this school. The school owes a lot of money, for this reason they had to take out a lot of programs. I think if you're not fit to be a principal I say quit and give another person an opportunity to better the school.


Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School 3

Posted July 23, 2014
- a student
This school, like any other school, has its pros and cons. Yes, it is ridiculously small. The school was not built to hold as many students as it does. Yes, there is no gym. All sports and physical education are done at a poorly maintained park next to the school. Yes, this school has almost no funding. All sports equipment are paid for by the students. All other extra curricular activities that are still up and running are the ones funded for and maintained by teachers. Yes, there are some amazing teachers. However, most of the teachers are very rigid, demanding, have unattainable grading scales, and a lot are, quite frankly, very rude. Yes, they do have wonderful medical and science programs. There are only a handful of sports available here, and they are not well endorsed. If your child can handle the academic challenge and if you can handle the teachers, your child will receive a good education here. If you want your child to have a high school experience, i.e. large school, understanding teachers, pep rallies, a gym, a wide variety of sports and extra curricular activities, then I, as a student here, suggest you enroll your child elsewhere.

Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School 5

Posted June 28, 2014
- a student
Bravo is the best high school you will find around the LA area! The teachers are amazing, they motivate, encourage, and always find ways to get students involved and to do their best. As a Bravo alumni I can say Bravo truly prepared me for what is out there. The long sleepless nights, and the abundant amount of work given to students allows us to catch a glimpse of what college will be like. Bravo really isn't too much about sports since our priority is academics. However, we have great and fun sports teams. The school is small so it will be easy for you to accommodate yourself fast. It is a bit crowded but it shouldn't really be a problem. You have plenty of time to get to your classes and stop for a little break. The staff is also amazing. I have never seen anyone care so much about others. The staff are constantly checking on students and making sure they are maintaining good grades. They are kind and sweet however intimidating at times but only because they want the best for Bravo students, Above all, Bravo is perfect! I would definitely recommend sending your children to this school. Bravo students go on to do great, big things! (: GO BRAVO KNIGHTS!!!

Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School 4

Posted June 20, 2014
- a community member
To the review from "A Parent" from Feb 16. 2014, Yes it is small, but after being there a year or two, you get used it it & hardly even notice. Filthy? Sometimes, but that's because the custodians recent got all of their hours drastically cut so we have less people taking care of the school, and have you tried to get 1,800 teenagers to clean up after themselves? Not exactly easy. Also, if you think only a few teachers are good, your son must have only ever had some of the bad teachers, and you know what? Bad teachers are at every school, it's not a special Bravo thing. We're not perfect, but there are some AMAZING teachers there and you need to try harder to get them. The counselors will make it happen. And "no good sports"? Really, when every single sports team made it to the CIF playoffs last year? But no, there's no good sports apparently. Bottom line, there's good and bad at every school. Yeah, we have our negative aspects, but Bravo provides a unique high school experience where academics are celebrated and an incredibly accepting environment is cultivated. It will never be perfect, but the students are proud to have gone there. Sincerely, a 2013 alumni.


Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a teacher
In response to some of the comments related to sports, this year every team made it to play-offs so we do have quality sports programs. In response to the comment about bad teachers, that should be brought to the attention of the principal and if nothing is done, her administrator. Every school has ineffective teachers but Bravo has more effective and earnest teachers than most. We have one of the highest API scores in the district and we teach student's from every area of the city not just wealthy gifted students like others schools with similar scores. Bravo is filled with opportunities for students who apply themselves. For example, students can intern with professors at USC researching in their labatories on the heat output of synthetic retinas. How many other high schools offer that? Bravo is not perfect but it is a school that most students appreciate being alumni of once they have completed their 4 years. If Bravo is not the best school, then students and parents should work to make it the school they would like it to be. It is a team effort.

Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School 5

Posted May 21, 2014
- a community member
"She don't know, what she is taking to student - " direct quote from previous reviewer. What in the world does this mean? If you cannot intelligently comment, spell and/or construct a sentence, why would anybody take your advice?? I am always amazed at the uneducated folks who post here and expect to be taken seriously.

Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School 2

Posted April 21, 2014
- a student
I had to transfer out of this school after an oral operation I was absent for around a week and none and i mean none of my teachers let me make-up any work. Therefore, if you have bad grades here then you are screwed. People think especially parents assume that their child will become a doctor after going to this school total bs. This school is wayyyy to small and overcrowded you can't even walk up and down the stairs without rubbing against someone's breast or butt . Teachers are not the best some are hard to understand. Many students who go here are not really motivated to put in effort so bottom line not the best school so keep looking.


Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School 1

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
Bravo has being a disappointment I have a daughter ther she is going to 11 grade she need help I asked for that help and they never respond like they have to:(

Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School 1

Posted February 16, 2014
- a parent
Not a good school. Small, filthy, not funded, awful teachers. Only few teachers are good in bravo but other than that no. My son who is in honors saids how unfair and bad the grading system is. There are no good sports and no field for the kids the play in, how are the kids going to be healthy without a place to play in? The field is only about the size of a gym swimming pool, that's how small it is. Especially dr.pace, perez, fetti and sepulveda are one of the worst teachers. I do not recommend this school.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School
1200 North Cornwell Street, Los Angeles, CA  90033
(323) 227-4400
Last modified Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. Top