Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dahlia Heights Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 379 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

63 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2014

My son has attended k-6 at Dahlia. I've been pleased to have him with so many amazing teachers. He loves the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

I went to this elementary school from 2002-2005 when I first moved from Mexico to the United States and couldn't have asked for a better transition. I really do wish I could have attended all through my elementary years but unfortunately only experienced 4-6th grades. Every teacher I had was absolutely amazing and helped guide me and prepare me for later success. There was a lot of fine arts which I think still persist; it was a great way to make kids excited about each day. I believe 2 of the 3 teachers I had are still in the school. We ended up moving away and my brother finished school elsewhere, it was a day and night difference: this school cares about who students will eventually grow up to be.


Posted October 24, 2013

Parent involvement and influence seem to have reached an all time high. The parents involved have created funding for arts programs, field trips and general teacher/student assistance. Its good to be a part of such a pro-active parent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

We are first year parents with our daughter in Kindergarten. The PTA and Principal are extremely pro-active and the classroom size/student body is manageable. We are VERY impressed thus far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

With the last of three children having graduated from Dahlia in June, it is bittersweet to be leaving our Dahlia home behind. We will truly miss the school, faculty and staff, and consider many of them good friends. My kids obtained a great education, and are prepared for the next phase that lies ahead. Dahlia families are very committed to this school and work very hard to provide the kids with opportunities in, and beyond the classroom. Congrats to the families that are entering this year, you will be surprised and amazed with this special and beloved place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

I was a student in Dahila Heights between the timeline of late 2007 to mid 2009, I've been in this school for almost two years and I gotta say it was by far the BEST Elementary School I've been to! It is very organized, there were fun programs afterschool, and the bullying rate in my opinion was low. When I graduated in this school I was sad that I had to leave my friends and the friendly staff. The Principal was nice too. I would say this was one of my best schools i've ever been to.


Posted August 21, 2012

i dont have any comment right now because class just started. my daughter enjoying her class
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

Our family moved from a small Beverly Hills apartment to a beautiful Eagle Rock house two years ago. We were naturally concerned with moving our two boys from BHUSD to LAUSD, but this school has proven to be a great success. It may not have all the "Beverly Hills bells and whistles", but the knowledgeable staff, and challenging curriculum definitely make up for it. I have never felt a greater sense of community and parent involvement than at Dahlia Heights. I really love all aspects of this school and I am proud to have my kids attend here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

We came from a charter school that really didn't work for my child. In contrast, the principal and staff at Dahlia have worked with us from day one to get him the proper support he needs. This is a far cry from other schools that just passed the buck. His anxiety has tapered off, his self confidence has improved and I he really likes this school. The exemplary staff and leadership really sets an example for other schools to follow. Also worth mentioning is the after school program, ARC led by Domi. He and his staff have been very understanding to our unique situation and I will be forever grateful for the way they have made the transition process much smoother for my child. The parent participation is one to be envied. The community of teachers, parents and staff have made Dahlia one of the great schools of LAUSD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

Dahlia is a great neighborhood school! It is committed to the arts and the environment. The new office manager is a joy to be around and Principal Greenstadt is very dedicated. Overall the teachers are good and a few of them are truly stellar! The parent community is diverse and involved. PTA hosts educational speakers, fun community events and fundraisers to support the school. My child graduated last spring and I feel she received a solid academic foundation at Dahlia Heights. She is thriving academically at her new middle school, thanks in part to Dahlia Heights! Lastly, Dahlia is a School for Advanced Studies, so academically-gifted children out of the DHES boundaries can apply to attend. The school holds tours for prospective parents in the winter and spring, so check it out if you live in Eagle Rock or nearby.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

If you believe that shaping your child for the future is a combination of nature and nurture then the team at Dahlia Heights Elementary school, under the leadership of its current principal, are for you and your child or children. I've had both of my children studying there in the last 7 years. I've seen them grow emotionally, physically, and intellectually, proven by the CAT 6 scores, acceptance to GATE, numerous peer and teacher awards that highlight academic progress and moral integrity and my children's own desire to persevere and do better. From the technical expertise of current and novel teaching methods to the character and confidence-bulding you will marvel at how they teach your child from kindergarten to 6th grade. Is it a perfect school? There is none. Dahlia is a diamond int the ruff. DES is a community of teachers, parents, and local businesses. It is the strength in the collaboration of this community that molds your child into a happy ever-driven young adult. Come see for yourself and attend one of the PTA meetings, and be awed. My wife and I continue to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2011

I have had 4 children over 20 years in Dahlia and I went there many years ago. My going there is probably the reason I jeopardized my children's education for so long at such a miserable place. Education is only a priority for a few good teachers there. One teacher is of the opinion that "boys are bad" and is currently still there abusing boys because they are not as good as girls. I should have left sooner. When I asked the principal to address my concerns nothing was done. Needless to say, I have finally given up and moved on. If you are a fan of bullying, a parent threatened my then six year old. Or if you prefer to be told your children are getting the best education in public schools without delivery take your chances and go to Dahlia. Sadly, the school no longer reflects the community it serves. People from far and wide try to get in based on the success of teachers, office personnel, and administrators who have long since retired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

I am an elementary school teacher in another high performing LAUSD school. I'm extremely happy with the school, and the community. The parents are welcoming and everyone is working hard towards making this school the best it can be for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

The office staff is new so I'm hoping it has gotten better, the previous office manager was wretched. I don't believe in brown nosing someone when they have a job to do. The school's score are high because it is in a middle class area, the socio-economic statues of the community plays a major role in test scores. I am not impress with the teachers, it is a hit or miss if you get a decent teacher for the year. The parents are not the friendliest, some are very snobby (Why I don't know? They live in ER). Years ago I tried to join the PTA, we were ignored so why bother now. Kids are not the friendliest, there is a lot of bullying going on. The kids must take after their parents. Not impressed just can't afford private right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

We are very excited about the new 2010-2011 school year. My son got the teacher we requested and seems very happy. The principal helped bring Champios on board and we are very pleased about that. Though she may not have the social attitude parents might want, she is a student advocate and delivers. We are lucky to have such a great small chool in our neighborhood. I wish more parents would give our neighborhoods schools like DH a chance before opting to go to charters or private schools. We do have a gem of a school. Parental involvement is plus so if you are a parent...get involved. Your opinion counts only if you let it be known!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

My child enjoys attending Dahlia Heights and it has been a great school for us as a family. The teachers are wonderful! The office staff has always been friendly. I will say that the Principle Ms. Greenstadt has not impressed me at all. I think she would be more suited to a High School as opposed to an Elementary. She is not friendly at all. In all of the times I have been to the school I have never seen her walking around saying, "Hi" to the children or being sweet in anyway. She only speaks to them when scolding them. I realize that she is administrator but this is a school for young children. Nurturing should be a behavioral prerequisite for anyone working there. Please keep in mind that over all the children are well behaved, I have never seen disorder on the campus. Wonderful school, cold Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

I went to Dahlia Heights today to get information regarding registering my son for Kindergarten. I was very impressed by the friendly staff. Along with my Kindergarten son, I went in with my other 2 boys - both toddlers. The entire staff was warm and friendly. The principal took the time to introduce herself and to welcome us to the school. Further, even the librarian introduced herself, and made my son feel welcome. My son is saying that he is excited to start attending this school. As an educator myself, I am quite glad to have this school as my home school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

This is a small school with a strong sense of community. The teachers are great and most have been teaching at the school for at least 10 years. The school has an arts program, which the students really enjoy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

To the post on March 17, 2010. The negative reviews are from actual incidents that have accured. Or they wouldn't be posted. Maybe spend a little time there and really see things. Before and after school care, terrible. The kids are running like chickens w/their heads cut off. Boys and girls are running in/out of eachothers restrooms and throwing each other. No real supervision. Some teachers are great, Im not saying all are bad. Office staff is bad. PTA does work very hard for the school, but they are not the friendliest. They need to have open doors to everyone, no matter the amount or time they give to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

They believe in arts in education, the community is really involved and the student population is very diverse. School is charming and promotes gardening, recycling and helping others.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

848

Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

848

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females75%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females75%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females62%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state46%

Math

All Students76%
Females71%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females75%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state47%

Math

All Students64%
Females69%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females74%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females87%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students78%
Females83%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females91%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students65%
Females74%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 50%
White 23%
Asian 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Black 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/AN/A
English language learners 6%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School leaders can update this information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 362 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
76%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
70%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
81%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
91%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
85%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
97%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
87%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
93%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
71%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
98%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
71%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
71%
 

District average

 
66%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
80%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
80%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents12338%
Students21394%
Employees2665%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rona Greenstadt
Fax number
  • (323) 344-9129

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5063 Floristan Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90041
Phone: (323) 255-1419

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Grace Christian Academy
Los Angeles, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT