Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Delevan Drive Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2015
- a student
We were floored by this school. Seemed very average at first but after getting a tour and meeting parents, kids and some teachers we quickly realized what a gem of a school this was. We had toured 15 different schools. Private, Charters, Magnets and other public schools in our area. We had applied to all and done SAS and open enrollment where available. We got our son into Delevan through SAS (because it is not our 'home school') and then a week into him going here he was also accepted into a LFCSA (charter) as well as Community Magnet Charter. This was a tough call because both of those schools are excellent but after touring them both (again) and comparing with everything we knew about them we realized we had no reason to move our son. My advice: tour as many schools as possible to get fully educated on all your choices and then make a decision that works best for you. For us it was Delevan and we really couldn't be happier. Give me a few years and I'll come back to update!

Delevan Drive Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 25, 2015
- a student
The principal here is SO dedicated and goes way above and beyond. She is amazing and has a lot to do with how well the school is currently doing. I can't say enough great things about the teachers here too, they really love what they do and it shows.


Delevan Drive Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2015
- a community member
Again and again, year after year I see kids in my neighborhood excelling as they graduate from Delevan Elementary and having the education to go on to magnet schools and advanced learning programs the education they get from this school is outstanding.

Delevan Drive Elementary School 3

Posted August 24, 2014
- a community member
I dont understand the point rating..teachs are teaching to get 900pts ..i wounder if in Japan,japanes students are studing to earn pts . And How does one become a board member of the Pta last year more than 2/3rds where teachers & staff , idn ..other reviews said great parent partisapation , when was this 6 yrs ago With the Previous Administration..Oohh well Some people believe anything they read...Well i agree The lausd teachers should get a rase but not 18% --Please...in bazaro World maybe...& Please please dont Strike.A Strike will only hurt everyone involved ..Children rember who your working for ..

Delevan Drive Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
I love this school and we love Mrs Tharp!! I hope she stays on next year because her enthusiasm is refreshing and the kids have fun learning!! Great school happy to be apart of it!


Delevan Drive Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
My daughter really likes her new first grade teacher Mr. Fiorillo. He is enthusiastic, great with the kids and uses his training in theater to help motivate his students. At last night s Back to School night he said he was planning five field trips for the year. Go Mr. Fiorillo!

Delevan Drive Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Delevan Drive is a great school, the principal Mrs. Velasquez is friendly and hard working, and always on campus. The teachers are dedicated, experienced, and caring. Despite budget cuts there are after school activities, a garden, and an arts program. But most of all, the kids are a happy and enthusiastic, which is the surest sign of a successful school.

Delevan Drive Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
Delevan Drive Elementary is a wonderful learning community for our kids. The teachers make genuine connections with the students and each year our test scores continue to climb. The Principal and other support staff care about the students and are a constant presence on the playground and throughout the campus. Sometimes it seems like there aren't enough parents getting involved in school activities and events but the parents who do show up, really put in a lot of hard work and volunteer hours. This is an overall awesome school!


Delevan Drive Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
This school is excellent! My daughter has been attending since 1st grade and sadly this will be her last year, she just started 6th grade. All her teachers through her school years have been so great. The principal and staff do a great job. The PTA is awesome, thanks to it our kids have after school activities. We feel so lucky to have such a great LAUSD school just down the hill from our house, and last but not least, the after school program is also great to have, the staff are so good with the kids. Now we're wondering where to send our daughter for middle school? Is going to be hard to find another LAUSD schoool as good as Delevan Drive. P.S. I'm sorry to read a bad comment/review about Delevan, a teacher (Ms. Rivera) and our principal. I have never experienced anything bad with any of them or any other teacher re: my daughter or her classmates.

Delevan Drive Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2012
- a community member
As a former student, I'd like to say how amazing this elementary school is. When I think of Delevan, all that fills my mind are positive thoughts & memories. The people working at this school have produced some of the most hard working people I know. Even the "troublemakers" have grown to be mature & successful. My fellow classmates now attend universities such as USC & UCLA. I firmly believe that because of these wonderful teachers, we were well-prepared to be successful in middle school, high school, & so on. I highly recommend! If I had kids, Delevan would definitely be #1 on my list. Now in regards to the previous rater complaining about one ot the teachers... I would like to say that first off, stating this teacher's name is going against guidelines & goes against her privacy. Second, this particular person was my 1st grade teacher in '97. Not once did I ever see her be negative towards anybody, especially a student. All I have to say is that she was the most caring of them all. If there are any real issues going on between you & this teacher, I'm sure that the problem started from your end & not hers.

Nearby schools

Delevan Drive Elementary School
4168 West Avenue 42, Los Angeles, CA  90065-4631
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. (323) 255-0571
Last modified Delevan Drive Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top