Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Welcome to Grand View! Our Spanish Immersion Program was the first ever in LAUSD, and is now stronger than ever as we celebrate our 25th silver anniversary year. Our superb English Learning Academy is reaching new goals in stride with our dedication to rigorous academics. Thanks to our incredibly committed, dynamic teachers, API test scores jumped +126 in five years, placing us in the top 5% of schools for growth. We expect the same excellence in the transition to Common Core standards. Our school integrates students with special needs in our extended curriculum in P.S. ARTS, District Arts, Adapted Physical Education and our excellent Garden School Foundation Seed to Table program. Our fabulous free Pre-K is offered in English or Spanish Immersion. Our students have access to a wide range of enrichment choices, plus free before and after-school care with clubs and homework assistance. Parents get involved with workshops at our state-of-the-art Parent Center and PTA, which enthusiastically works to help all children by fundraising and hosting a fun array of educational and cultural events. We are proud to be the home of such a vibrant and collaborative community. Come see for yourself why Grand View is the first and only choice for so many families. Go Dragons! -Principal Ortiz
October 20, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grand View Boulevard Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
My child is finishing his first year at Grandview dual immersion program. We left a high performing school district to come to this school and we couldn't be happier. The kindergarten teaching is excellent. The well-rounded education includes music, art, gardening, and cooking. I love the diversity of socioeconomic status, culture, and special needs. The school immerses him in art from the classroom, separate art classes, and after school art classes. Do not let the test scores fool you. My son picked up Spanish easily and continues to learn English well. The PTA, parent and community support is excellent. The principal is supportive and well liked. I love this school and it is worth the drive every day.

Grand View Boulevard Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
I seriously am in love with this school and ow everyone from principal to teachers to parents to PTA organizers come together to create a positive school culture which celebrates our kids. Both my children are enrolled in the Dual Immersion Spanish Language program and I'm thrilled with the results. I absolutely love participating in all the school's cultural events which recognize various heritages ranging from folkloric dancing for Dia de los muertos to honoring Black History month to celebrating Chinese New Year. Thank you so much for all the hard work you put into feeding our children's hearts and minds. <3


Grand View Boulevard Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
They have a full integration program for students with special needs. Rather than keeping them isolated from the general ed population, the students are integrated in order to create more equitable conditions and access for all students.

Grand View Boulevard Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 28, 2015
- a teacher
I am thankful for being part of Grand View's learning community. The beauty of this community is that it represents all of the stakeholders.

Grand View Boulevard Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 28, 2015
- a teacher
Our school promotes integration between general and special needs students helping them to develop compassion and empathy. We also work hard to create a positive multi-cultural environment.


Grand View Boulevard Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 28, 2015
- a teacher
Grand View students benefit from our integration between general and special education students. It helps students develop empathy and compassion. Integration also helps prevent bullying because the students have meaningful experiences with children they might otherwise view as different.

Grand View Boulevard Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2015
- a teacher
Grand View has so much to offer! In addition to a caring and experienced staff, Grand View has a very vibrant and active community. Our PTA is a true collaboration between parents and faculty working for the benefit of all of our students. PTA helps provide art, music, and garden programs as well as field trips for all classes.

Grand View Boulevard Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2015
- a parent
I love being a gv parent. my children have teachers who work hard and work together. the Spanish immersion program is the oldest in lausd, yet the teachers are innovative and caring. the parents and staff are great--it feels like a real community. we are so lucky to have found this school!


Grand View Boulevard Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
My experience as a parent at Grand View has been phenomenal. I have witnessed the school continually transform into a work of art with color, murals, and beautiful gardens. My daughter adores her teachers, the academics, art, music, dance, theater, gardening and cooking classes. It has been a privilege to be a part of the fabric of this school. The teachers and parents continue to inspire me with their energy to make Grand View a healthy, safe and fun environment to learn.

Grand View Boulevard Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
I do love this school! I have a 2nd Grader and a TK kid in the Spanish Immersion Program. They are doing very well in language, math, science, art, etc. This is a great neighborhood school. Very active PTA, caring parents and staff, Principal and a welcoming Parent Center. We have a great Seed to Table Garden Program! Art, Music, Dance, Theater. We are now fully intergrated with the Special Education Program that was formerly known as McBride (off Centinela)!

Nearby schools

Grand View Boulevard Elementary School
3951 Grand View Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90066
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. (310) 390-3618
Last modified Grand View Boulevard Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top