Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-5
Public
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 1,238
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hooper Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
horrible place. horrible faculty.horrible principle.horrible classes.horrible in general i would say if i didnt like this school... but i do. its an ok school for where it is located ;)

Hooper Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a community member
To start, it's a school with many students, I would say over 800. They have lots of great teachers and staff and many that are not so great. Parent involvement is not good; many parents if not most do not attend meetings and don't seem very eager to know how their children are doing at school. Academically the school is not doing good, they fall behind compared to other nearby schools. I like that even thought it's not very noticeable the school does make an effort to improve in all areas of the school from the yard to inside the classroom. This school definitely has more room for improvement. Some of the yard staff can start with putting their cellphones away while on duty and stop avoiding the sun in a far corner and can start taking care of the students. It would also be nice if the front office staff learned some people skills as they do not know how to handle many problems and can be very rude. The school could also improve by sending meeting notices on time and not a day before or a day after. If only the school and parents could come together in a civilized way with students and teachers being the main priority, there could definitely be big changes.


Hooper Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
School has not improved a bit.The best teachers left the school Becuase of the new principle.Grades dropped a lot , and people don't even listen most of the staffs who work there always tell me they don't get paid a lot.I know a staff who works there and I told him if I can borrow a dollar he said he broke and I replied why don't you work here and he said Iam working at hooper you think they pay me enough.

Hooper Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted July 20, 2013
- a community member
Hooper has improved tremendously since the addition of its present principal. She is bright, experienced, and truly understands what it takes to make a school work in today's very complicated education setting.

Hooper Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted November 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Hooper Avenue Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
The principal has failed to help the school. Many of the best teachers have left. Everyone looks sad. And test scores have not improved.

Hooper Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted September 25, 2008
- a parent
My son used to go to this school. Luckily he had that one teacher that was great. But unfotunately the shcool itself and other teacher is bad. Teachers there don't show involvement. They don't go above & beyond for teh kids. Other factors that play role in the schools rating is the limitation in funds. I guess if tehy had more funds they could probably ooffer more activities. Seems to me that as the school keeps being a 1 the teachers care less and less and unfortunately being that its a low income neighboehood with working, non-english speaking parents that also has equals the students performance that equals the schools perfomance. It's been too many years and teachers still don't step up.

Hooper Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted May 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hooper Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted June 20, 2007
- a student
Hooper is an average but im sur eit would be better if it had more funds.

Hooper Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted March 08, 2007
- a teacher
Excellent teachers. Excellent coaches. Administration could more supportive of parents and teachers. The arts are lacking at this school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hooper Avenue Elementary School
1225 East 52nd Street, Los Angeles, CA  90011
(323) 232-3571
Last modified Hooper Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hooper Avenue Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top