Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palms Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1598 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

110 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 9, 2012

I choose Palms after touring the school twice, what wasn't clear was that the only classrooms toured were the Magnet classes. My child is highly gifted but did not get into the magnet. The SAS classes offer very little in terms of curriculum and homework consists mostly of worksheets that are very easy for my child. The English class has zero outside reading although my son loves his teacher. The only thing keeping us there this year is Mrs. West, the music teacher who I must say runs an incredible program keeping the kids engaged and focused. The school offers zero outside enrichment. There is one after school care program, but there is no way for the kids to connect outside of the classroom. Sadly we will not be returning and implore you to ensure this is the school for you if you do not get into the magnet program as the general education offers no challenge for the gifted child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2012

Palms Middle School has excellent hard working teachers. It has an AMAZING band and orchestra! Ms.West is the best instrumental teacher ever! Im currently a 7th grader and I'm in Gold Band and i started in winds the band theres Blue and Gold band and stings and Orchestra. The office is a little unorganized but out of all that its a great school. If you put your child in Palms you wont regret it. The NEW principal Dr.Dereck Moriuchi is an active principal who gets involed and does'nt stay in his office all day. Im being serious sign your child up for Palms Middle School!!!


Posted May 17, 2012

I think Palms is an amazing school. I've just recently graduated from this middle school and I have been accepted in Mira Costa High, one of the best, high ranking high schools here in California.


Posted April 4, 2012

This is a horrible school... teachers are uneducated and takes their frustration out on the kids. They never return calls and allow kids fail without getting parents involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

This is a great school! The teachers care about the kids, the staff care and the kids care about each other! Middle schoolers kind of lose their minds around this age and think they can skate by with limited effort like they did in elementary school, so it takes a lot of patience to guide them into learning skills like organization and time management. My kids still don't have it down but they're learning at a great place. Palms is terrific, and I'm sorry for the complainers who are not having as good of an experience! Any time we've had a problem it's been addressed right away. No matter where you are - parents need to be involved with their own child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

Worst school to send your kid !!!! they only care about score,and MONEY<MONEY. thats it.your kid will be a stadistic only.no personalized at all!! it took us a long time to meet the principal and she rushed us out of the office....... reserch better do not be fooled by looks and reviews go and watch their interactions ....be smart do not send your kid there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

My son just started 6th grade. Already, we are experiencing problems with the staff. We never received information regarding 6th grade orientation called "Camp Palms". Registration materials were supposed to have been mailed last June. When we asked about it several times, the office staff either said "Oh, the person you need to speak to is not here." Later, we heard "Oh, it's too late. You should've registered." At parent orientation, the tone was also dismissive and condescending. The principal did a lot of finger pointing, saying "Check your child's backpack!" "Make sure your kids are not tardy!", "Don't honk your horns!", etc... Excuse me? But most parents already know this! The second day of school, this morning, I was walking my son. 50 feet in front of the main entrance, by the street, one of the office staff was literally "shooing" parents away. For now, I will wait to see how things turn out academically, with my child and his teachers. If things don't turn around, I am seriously considering transferring my child to another middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

Coming from a rated 10 elementary school with a 955 API score and coming to this school that has an astonishingly horrible 857, I was very dissapointed, well actually not really because I didn't really think it was going to be great but I expected it to be at least better than what I got. I basically didn't learn any English in my class and I learned little new things of math. Now that I look back, I think, "Seriously?" I don't think the teachers here are nearly as talented as the ones I had in my elementary school that allowed me to stay in the 550's or more-always in my CST's


Posted July 10, 2011

I like this school and some of the teachers. Some of the teachers are a bit stubborn. But they show effort to teach the students. Palms Middle School is a safe enviroment and has a great music and drama program. The only real bad point is that it may not always be the most sanitary school. In all Palms Middle School is a great school, and I enjoyed my time there. As their slogan says, "Palms Pride".


Posted June 23, 2011

My 14 year old twins are completing the 8th grade this year. Our experience at Palms has been exceptional. My daughter fought me on attending Palms at first, but has since repeatedly acknowledged that it was the perfect choice for her. She loved every minute of it. Both had Mr. Kravetz for Algebra in 7th Grade and Ms. Kavicky for 8th Grade Geometry. Other standouts were Mr. An, Ms. Garrett, Ms. Eddington, Mr. Santana and Ms. Igarashi. Stage crew was phenomenal. Last, but certainly not least, I want to give a shout-out to Melinda Price. spectacular. She plans on visiting him as she congoing to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

I love the fact that students get to experience honor classes based on their grades in their previous coursework. My son's first year experience was up and down, which is fairly normal, considering he came from a small elementary school to this large population. This year, for his 7th grade, all of the teachers have been wonderful and helpful. It has been most helpful, when the school decided to upgrade their website and include a way for parents to email their child's teacher. Communication has improved tremendously!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2010

We picked Palms because it was our home school and they had a gifted Magnet. Their API scores were close if not better then the other schools we looked at and it was close to where we live. LACES goes to 12th grade. Some people see that as a plus, for us, it wasn't, I wanted my son to have the experience of being an upper classman more then once. Paul Revere was too far with basically the same test scores and the same education. New West Charter was too small. We couldn't be happier at Palms. All the schools are basically the same. You are not going to get a lesser education or better education, no matter which school you choose. Also, remember: They are not seven year olds anymore. Don't over protect them, let them fall and get up, let them experience. Palms has been a great and exciting adventure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2010

My daughter graduated from Palms last year and my son is currently in the 7th grade here. Both of them have enjoyed their experience. Is the school perfect? No. Is any school on the face of the planet perfect? No. However, my kids have enjoyed their time at Palms and I have had only positive interactions with the staff and the Friends of Palms parent organization. Some of the excellent teachers I have encountered include Ms. West (Band), Ms. Garrett (7th grade History), Ms. Bourman (8th grade History), Mr. Kravets (Algebra) and Mr. Ambriz (Counselor).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

well i use to go to this school last year and its the best school that you can think of!! im serious! they have really great teachers and there always understanding.they make school and classes fun! they make palms so diffrent from other schools and the teachers there actually "teach" in a fun and easy way! shout out to mr. nicholson (my old history teacher) but yeah its really great and fun in a way that makes the students there including me wanting to go to school each and everyday, with enthusiasm:)) BEST SCHOOL EVER! PALMS ROCKS:D


Posted April 22, 2010

Palms Middle School is an excellent school. The majority of the kids are well behaved and the teachers are so caring and very involved in the children's wellbeing. Some standout teachers are Ms. Wallace (Math), Mr. Scott (Science/Health), Ms. Calpin (English) and Mr. Nicholson (History). My son loves school due to these wonderful teachers and I applaud them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

I go 2 palms and it is the best middle school in the world!I love playing my trombone in the school's gold band!the teachers there r funny, nice,caring,and dedicated 2 teach.I've been there since 6th grade and my teachers then were so caring and nice 2 me.The students there r very funny,nice,and caring! I love my school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2010

I am a proud student of Palms Middle School.This school has many great and friendly teachers and staff.Amazing electives for students and great education.This school teaches a student a lot!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2009

My older child went to Palms; my son is there now (both in the magnet). The academic program is very strong, teachers and admins are dedicated, there are nice kids, and the parent group is very active. My daughter is at at a public high school with a very rigorous academic program, and I know that Palms prepared her well. Is it perfect? No. But I've compared notes with other parents on Revere, Webster, and LACES, and I have absolutely no regrets about choosing Palms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

well im going to 8th grade and palms is a great school some teachers are very strict and set you straight while others are like your friend and make u feel comfortable and welcome palms has the smartest kids ive met and there all very welcoming ive been there since 6th grade and sixth grade was great teachers welcome u and teach u how to ..be in middle school :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2009

Palms Middle Scool is the best school in the District because most of the 8th grade students scored high in state tests and as a student of Palms I think you should send your child there.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

878

Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

878

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

530 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

562 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
37%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

568 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

559 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females80%
Males74%
African American77%
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state81%

Math

All Students71%
Females71%
Males73%
African American69%
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African American100%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state100%

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females83%
Males75%
African American75%
Asian88%
Filipino86%
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate81%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state76%

Math

All Students59%
Females59%
Males58%
African American52%
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disability26%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students74%
Females77%
Males71%
African American73%
Asian95%
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state78%

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females74%
Males65%
African American64%
Asian88%
Filipino71%
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability26%
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state77%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students26%
Females25%
Males26%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)28%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability31%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only30%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented46%
Parent education - not a high school graduate15%
Parent education - high school graduate10%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)23%
Parent education - college graduate36%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state29%

Geometry

All Students96%
Females96%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state95%

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students67%
Females65%
Males70%
African American61%
Asian89%
Filipino65%
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability28%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state73%

Science

All Students75%
Females74%
Males76%
African American69%
Asian91%
Filipino76%
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability43%
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 41%
Black 27%
White 16%
Asian 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/AN/A
English language learners 6%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 1674 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
63%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
66%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
59%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
77%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
65%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
90%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
67%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
82%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
52%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
67%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
62%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
54%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
70%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
59%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
59%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents15114%
Students148894%
Employees3531%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Derek Moriuchi
Fax number
  • (310) 559-0397

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10860 Woodbine Street
Los Angeles, CA 90034
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 253-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Adat Shalom
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT