Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
73 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 163 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Roscomare Road Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 15, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Gaeta!! Thank you for being wonderful teacher!!! My child enjoyed studying with you! You made a difference

Roscomare Road Elementary School 3

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
Not the neighborhood gem it once was under principal DiMarco. Crowded classes, 50% chance of getting a good teacher who cares about your child, constant LAUSD testing, inexperienced new principal, pta is broke, constantly asking for money, cutting programs or threatening to cut programs every year, parents are rude and aren't involved. This earlier review was written by pta so take it for what it's worth. You can find better.


Roscomare Road Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
Depends on the teacher. Some are great (Phillips, French, Lily, Boyce, Gaetta and the Tech teacher). Some are terrible

Roscomare Road Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are strict and punitive. A lot of shaming. School isn't fun nor do students feel respected unfortunately.

Roscomare Road Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
Not much focus is given if any to character development of students at this school. Many are rude with curse words.


Roscomare Road Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
This is truly a wonderful school. The teachers and faculty are top-notch and really care about the kids. It only has about 460 kids so it has a small school community feel. They have a lot of Teachers that have been at the school for many years and go way "above and beyond" for the students and the school. And lots of Teacher Aides and other positions that most LAUSD schools don't have which they are able to fund through annual parent donations. The requested minimum donation is just $85 a month ($850 year) vs Warner that starts at $2400 a year. There are a lot of fun activities planned by the parent organization each month, a lot of friendly parents, and diversity. There are also great parent-workshops, a big family Science Night, an amazing Parent night GALA and a not-to-be missed summer "ROSCOFEST" -- all at a PUBLIC school. There is an awesome new Principal who is very involved. Did I mention the adorable library? You'll LOVE Roscomare! Roscomare Rocks!

Roscomare Road Elementary School 3

Posted April 19, 2015
- a parent
Good teachers but huge upper level sizes. My child's class is constantly divided into two and other half is sent out to library while others do math and then it reverses.... Not much math or library at this point. The principle isn't great too, stays away from actively involving/resolving conflicts.

Roscomare Road Elementary School 4

Posted December 31, 2014
- a parent
This school is great until the upper grades, when the class size skyrockets. My son's fourth grade class was assigned 39 students (to one teacher). On the first day, eight students did not have a desk or chair. Families scrambled to find spaces at other schools, and three children from our class managed to transfer out. Still, for one teacher who's alone all day with 36 children, it's a terrible strain on everyone. Our class does not fit into the art classroom, the computer lab, or the music classroom, so students are forced to rotate and the teachers have lost all their curriculum planning time. The other fourth and fifth grade classes are equally huge. The jump in class size is due to the new TK class which started this year, pulling a classroom and teacher away from the upper grades. It is truly a shame, because the student body is great and the teachers are caring and capable. There's just no way that any teacher, however exceptional, can effectively teach such large classes in elementary school. And the principal? She tells parents that they'd better get used to it, because classes in middle school will be large.


Roscomare Road Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
I have had a wonderful expirience at Roscomare Road Elementry!!! I have two kids at the school, grades K and 2. They have both had and continue to have exceptional teachers!! The schools academic standards have surpassed my expectations. The parent body is highly involved and raises monies needed for state cut programs. My kids partake in PE, art, science and music on a weekly basis. The school physically is quaint and small - and is maintained nicely. I do agree that traffic is an issue for some but only for 20 minutes in the morning and again at pick up - if you plan accordingly and leave with time traffic is not an issue. Roscomare is an amazing school filled with wonderful administration and gear families- I am proud to be a Roscomare parent!

Roscomare Road Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Both my children attend this school, and love their teachers. While the teachers can be considered strict and run a tight ship, they are also creative and caring. Every single one of the teachers we have has taught to the standards but also brought something more than just academics. For instance, one teacher would bring a fruit or vegetable into the class, and the kids would draw it, write about it in their journal, and sometimes even taste it. For instance, my son came home from class wanting me to make him spaghetti squash. This same teacher also would have the kids run a lap every day before starting class (and she ran it with them). Another teacher has a beta fish and a house plant on every desk for each kid and this is just in first grade. So even though this is a very academic school, the teachers still make a huge effort to keep in mind that they are teaching children who need more stimulation than just looking at a board. But at the same time, the academic teaching is amazing. My daughter went from barely knowing the whole alphabet when she started kindergarden to reading within 3 months. Parents are really involved and the staff are great.

Nearby schools

Roscomare Road Elementary School
2425 Roscomare Road, Los Angeles, CA  90077-1812
(310) 472-9829
Last modified Roscomare Road Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top