Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 250
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Van Ness Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2014
- a community member
This is a very well prepared school I think staff is very freindly with students especially Mrs.A.Mercado very well trained professionals we would consider this school for others

Van Ness Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
This school is on the path to becoming a very sought after elementary. Every year it gets better and better. More of the Larchmont locals are sending their children there because of that.


Van Ness Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2012
- a parent
After trying without success to get our son into a charter or magnet school he started here in September and we could not be happier. The class size is relatively small compared to other schools, the principal and other staff know each and every child, everyone from the teachers to the cleaning staff really care about this school. The effort of the staff, teachers, and students shows in the latest test scores which went up again to 855. Our son is very happy here and with growing support from local parents Van Ness Ave. will only get better.

Van Ness Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
There is ongoing bullying at this school. Personally I don't think the administration is capable of creating a culture where bullying does not occur. I find the administration unctuous when what is needed is to create a culture of compassion. Look up Larchmont Charter, another public school that is nearby. At this moment they have 618 overwhelmingly positive reviews on greatschools.org. They also have a waiting list of 1,000. That should tell you all you need to know.

Van Ness Avenue Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
Is a small school. Going to her more than 200 students. School direktor and other staff are very commited to the implementation of how difficult his job. My grandsohn attend akinder class,thanks to high educational advantages a teacher, makes very good progress.


Van Ness Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
My child is a student at Van Ness Ave. We are pleased witht he staff, the teachers are great. There's excellent communication between the staff and parents, Mrs. Iriarte is awesome and adores the students, she is always involving the children in activities and recently made it possible for Paramount Pictures to donate a reading garden for the children!!! Van Ness Ave. Staff, you are the best!

Van Ness Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2009
- a teacher
As an afterschool teacher for G2, I see how the children are learning from their regular teachers. The school is small and provides all the help a child needs to read and write at the appropriate age. I am very impressed with Principal Ariarte.

Van Ness Avenue Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 22, 2008
- a parent
Van Ness is a great school that deeply cares about the education and well being of its students. All teachers are highly involved in the well being of all its students. The principal is one of the best. She puts students first and is highly active in increasing scores and providing the best education for the students


Van Ness Avenue Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 05, 2008
- a parent
What an amazing transformation has taken place at this school. My children feel safe as it is organized and everyone feels welcome. They run an outstanding after school program. They practice an open door policy. I am so pleased to have my kids here.

Van Ness Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Van Ness Avenue Elementary School
501 North Van Ness Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90004
(323) 469-0992
Last modified Van Ness Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Van Ness Avenue Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top