Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 431
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Virginia Road Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
My son goes there he is a pre-k student I like the school y he's learning a lot in this year is a very good school and the staff principal vice principal especially the teacher he's going to continue going there definitely .

Virginia Road Elementary School 2

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
My child is in kindergarten and there are to many kids in the room. The teacher is excellent but needs a lot of help.


Virginia Road Elementary School 3

Posted March 09, 2010
- a parent
This is a cute little neighborhood school. Though the diversity of the student body is lacking, the excellent caring and committed teachers make up for it. Test scores are rising, the school recently installed new play equipment for the kids, and all of the office staff are really warm and motivated. Could the school improve? Absolutely. Will it continue to rise under the leadership of a strong principal? You bet it will. Give this school a closer look. You won't be disappointed.

Virginia Road Elementary School 4

Posted February 15, 2010
- a parent
I've had two children attending this school and the results are rewarding. Their both A and B students and that says a lot about the teachers at this school.

Virginia Road Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
This is a school on the rise. We had a 65 point API jump last year! That is a huge credit to the talented and committed teachers and administration at this school. Don't listen to the bad reviews posted here, come down to the school and check it out for yourself. It's getting better every year!


Virginia Road Elementary School 1

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Virginia Road Elementary School 1

Posted February 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Virginia Road Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 27, 2008
- a parent
There are some discipline problems at this school. Children are encouraged to maintain silence all day, even during recess. No wonder their behavior escalates once they get into their classroom.


Virginia Road Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Virginia Road Elementary School 2

Posted November 20, 2007
- a parent
There are several discipline problems and little resources. Many students at Virginia Road are in the foster care system and have severe behavior problems. The school Psychologist is only there 1 day a week and there is not a Speech Teacher on staff. Many students do not receive resources mandated in their IEP because of lack of resources. When I pass this school I constantly see students fighting, cursing, and hiding behind the bungalows. The bungalows and gates need repairs. The school is all concrete and no grass. There is no equipment for the Pre-Kinder and Kindergarten students to play with. It is sad to say, but inner cities schools are not safe and are not enriching to our children. I do not recommend this school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Virginia Road Elementary School
2925 Virginia Road, Los Angeles, CA  90016
(323) 735-0570
Last modified Virginia Road Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Virginia Road Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top