Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 785
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Athens Elementary School 3

Posted August 27, 2013
- a teacher
This school has made continuous growth in their API for the last few years. Every new hire has a strong background and those veteran teachers that stayed on are the ones that really care. There's a stronger parent involvement than ever before. I'm proud to have this school in the community.

West Athens Elementary School 3

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
West Athens Elementary School is going through change. In the past two years, there is a new principal and many new teachers. The staff is committed to improving the school with the School Plan it wrote two years ago. I am excited to see change occurring not only internally but externally. The campus is cleaner, the kindergarten area is getting a face lift thanks to the teachers, parents, and volunteers who have painted and will paint in the future. Together with parents and students we can make this school a success for everyone.


West Athens Elementary School 2

Posted September 14, 2010
- a teacher
This school has been grossly affected by influx of undocumented people. It is over, over, overcrowded, many of the teachers no longer care or are spending too much time teaching the English language to students. While the principal is a caring she is not in control of this massive problem. This school gives ammunition to individuals who are for closing the borders and limiting services to noncitizens. It's sad but the school can not meet all of the needs of its immediate neighborhood.

West Athens Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 05, 2008
- a parent
The school has grown each of the last 5 years but has a long way to go. Kids need to be serious about school and parents need to be supportive. The staff really tries but many parents just don't care.

West Athens Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 01, 2007
- a parent
I think the principal is great and the teachers are hard working. Safety is a community problem that spills over to the school.


West Athens Elementary School 1

Posted July 14, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

West Athens Elementary School 3

Posted October 12, 2006
- a parent
I attended West Athens Elementary school 32 years ago. My last child is now there and in the second grade. ALL my children tested 'gifted and talented', my only regret about the school is that there is no 'special program' for them once they are tested, gifted children 'need' to be challenged,if not they can be tabled, be cause they get bored. Fortunately my children had great teachers that recognized their needs and gave them 'extra' work. I think the school should look into a program for those students who are advanced academically, so that they can reach higher heights.

West Athens Elementary School 3

Posted February 22, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


West Athens Elementary School 3

Posted June 16, 2005
- a parent
Constantly improving. Has good teachers, but needs more parental involvement.

West Athens Elementary School 2

Posted May 29, 2005
- a parent
This school is doing a horrible job in letting the parents know when there are meetings to attend. A day notice is not enough. There are some dedicated teachers there but some are only there to get a check!!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Athens Elementary School
1110 West 119th Street, Los Angeles, CA  90044
(323) 756-9114
Last modified West Athens Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Athens Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top