Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Agnes Parish School

Private | K-8 | 226 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $316,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2012

I am very happy I found a good catholic school at Los angles . I moved from La Puente to LA and my daughter was at first grade last year. Excellent teacher, my daughter learns a lot ...thank you so much Mrs. Benitez!! Vey good year we will miss you next year !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

HORRIBLE SCHOOL, TEACHERS THE WORSE. THE ONLY GOOD TEACHER IN THE SCHOOL WHO HASN'T BEEN TAINTED BY THE OTHER ONE IS MRS LOEW, SHE IS A GREAT TEACHER. THAT'S ALL I CAN SAY. THIS YEAR WAS TERRIBLE I HOPE THEY GET BETTER NEXT YEAR.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

I couldn't be more happy with the change in school for my kids, They were at St Gregory for 2 years and I honestly couldn't believe everything my kids missed out of in those 2 years. I am totally HAPPY with the faculty, school security and especially academics. If you are interested in having your children in a Catholic School. ST AGNES is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

St.Agnes is a very great school I just love the education they give the children here.The teachers are great specially Mrs.Anita she is great.


Posted August 5, 2009

i am graduate from st.agnes it was a great school teacher here alway give it their best to make sure you always are putting your effort CLASS 09
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2009

As an alumna I can proudly say that St. Agnes instills integrity, determination, and the fervor to succeed. With inspiring and accredited teachers who constantly seek ways to teach their young pupils, St. Agnes has the ability to produce some of the brightest minds. In addition, Mr. Dempsey, the principal of St. Agnes, is one of the finest head of schools. He always seeks ways to better the learning environment and provides vast opportunities for the students. I am currently a graduate of Marymount High School and will be attending one of the ivy leagues, Cornell University. There I will a premed student majoring in neurobiology and behavior and minoring in literature in order to become a neurosurgeon. I would highly recommend St. Agnes because it provides the proper tools and attention for one's child to succeed.


Posted May 13, 2009

This school was the best i've seen in years my child got into st.Mary's attending this school this is a great school with great teachers i recommend this school to all other parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

As a former student to st. Agnes I must say that the education was great until mr. Chappelle left as well as ms. Karla. After them the schools spine collapsed! Now for years they have tried to become a better school but I have yet to see this happen... good luck st. Agnes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

Honestly, this school gave me an incredible foundation on education, integrity, and professionalism. My professional success is a direct correlation to the hardwork of every teacher at St. Agnes. As a graduate, I'm confident that every student at St. Agnes will have the neccessary tools to succeed in this every changing world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2008

I am an eighth grader at St.Agnes School and I have to say that I have learned a lot at St.Agnes. The teachers really care about their students. I personally feel that I can talk to my teachers baout anything. I would recomend this school to whoever wants a bright future, but also wants school to be fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2008

I attended school under the leadership of Sr. Marie Bernadette - I loved the Family Days. It was a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

My child attended St. Agnes School until she reached the second grade, and we loved it. Ms. Anita Brown is phenomenal, Ms. Benitez is very structured, and Ms. Rice was exceptional. I highly recommend Kindergarted with Ms. Anita Brown.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I am an 8th grader at St.Agnes and I'd like to say that the school isn't the best. But the teachers they have there have a very good relationship with the students. Most of them are there late after school if you're there late and doing your homework and need help, you just need to ask. Yes, I do agree that some of the teachers don't pay much attention to the students and I've gotten away with things in the passed. But the education I got was ok. But the teachers I've had helped with alot. Especially Mrs.Hamilton R.I.P the whole parish misses her alot. =]
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2008

My child attended St. Agnes. I found the school was exceptional. Ms. Anita Brown was a great teacher.It had the right mix of scholastic curriculum , discipline and structure. The school prepared him for charter school he know attends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

As a former student, I must credit St. Agnes and its teachers for the quality of education it provided me. However, once Mr. Galen Chappelle and Sister Karla left this parish the educational level has dimished. The current principle does not at all meet or excel the standards that once principle Sister Karla instilled.


Posted February 9, 2008

As a former student of St. Agnes school i have to say its not a great school. The teachers hardly payed attention to the students and the principal wasn't any better.


Posted November 9, 2006

This is a great school. I am a former student of St.Agnes. I was here since K-6. I am proud to say that St.Agnes has very good teachers who do their best in teaching your children.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 30, 2004

I really enjoy having my children attend St. Agnes. I see the difference in public school children and catholic school children. Mr. Dempsey is a great principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 97% 52%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Kevin Dempsey
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1428 West Adams Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90007
Phone: (323) 734-6441

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Los Angeles Christian
Los Angeles, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT