Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Alphonsus School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $240,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2013

This is a GREAT school my children are very happy here. They feel at home. This school is great because the parents and teachers are very involved. The school also has a new Principal who is making changes and he's doing a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

Attended school and it started off good, but I must agree that the moral for the school to do better is for the parent to be more involved but there is also a problem when the principal does not accept ideas or enforces other parents to participate whether to encourage them or to make the fees high enough to make the parents get involved. The success of the students' future has to be hand in hand with the school and teachers, but the principal conforms to the results because school is situated in the middle/poor level community. School needs lots of improvements in education and lots of work to the classrooms as well. Also, many students get into high school but need to take summer classes to catch up, thats not good either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

i somtimes wish thhat i could enter into a public school, but then ST.ak=lphonsus makes me change my mind beacause i was taught the religeous education that i won't get anywhere else in east los angeles
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2009

This is school is a good school. The only flaw is that there are some parents who don't cooperate to improve it. Coolaboration is essential. The principal and teachers can't do it all by themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

This is a great school. My child has learned a lot more that at other schools. I highly recommend it to other parents. The teachers encourage the parents to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

The school challenges each student to be successful and achieve their goals. As an alumni St. Alphonsus has taught me to follow my dreams and never stop giving up on my self.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 10, 2004

The school is ok at best, but must make certain that teachers have teaching credentials and have earned a B.A., as some have none of the above. Must make certain that ALL teachers are following teaching standards correctly as to assure students are learning at grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2004

The school is an excellent place academically and spiritually. The principal, Mrs. Hughs is the best and it shows in the staff and their positive attitude. The school has a no bully poicy and everyone gets along. They strive for the children and it shows in the students attitude about the school and their teachers. The communication on dates needs improvement but overall I love the school and teachers! Thank you for all you do.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 98%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
White 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Black 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

552 South Amalia Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90022
Phone: (323) 268-5165

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

KIPP Raices Academy
Los Angeles, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT