Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Berkeley Hall

Private | K-8 | 220 students

Strong character education that leads to greater academic & personal success.
 
 

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,077,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2014

Our son has thrived since coming to BHS! He was miserable at our local public school and the positive change in his attitude and academic performance since enrolling here is amazing! The teachers and staff really care and are so nurturing. We couldn't have asked for more- well maybe one thing- that BHS continued on through high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Our two children have attended Berkeley Hall since their nursery program. (BHS is nursery - 8th grade.) We have loved the families we have met there. Berkeley Hall emphasizes academics, but equally emphasizes character education, which is very important to us. For the most part, students are kind, and there is interaction among the grades, which is sweet. The campus is beautiful - 66 acres of beautiful greenery and nature. The sports program is excellent, with a huge percentage of children playing after-school sports. The student body is quite diverse, with parents with many different backgrounds. The head of school is doing excellent work in academic strides for the school. The art program is now excellent. The only weak point is the music program, which isn't horrible but could be better. Nonetheless, the students get wonderful experience in all grades in performing and public speaking. The school is rather "low key," (in the best way,) and families are there for the well-rounded education. Overall it has been a wonderful school community for our children, and us as parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

My children joined Berkeley Hall school last year , I wish they had joined this school earlier. The school has an amazing campus perched on a sprawling 66 acres of land overlooking the LA basin with a spectacular view. Away from the bustling city noise this campus offers a peaceful nurturing environment for the children . The teachers are very friendly , professional and have free open lines of communication with the parents . The school curriculum is very well structured and organized. We have a wonderful parents community in the school and we participate in numerous activities which encourage fellowship and bonding between the school families. The school camp out, Halloween Haunting, father's tennis tournament ..to name a few. The best feature about this school is that our children come home smiling and are excited to go back to school the next morning !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

I have already posted my review and have confirmed it as well. Thank you and hope BHS wins!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2014

Exceptional Junior High experience. The teachers are skilled in teaching until the child thoroughly understands and can apply the concept. We feel such confidence in them and our child has responded positively to their expectations of his competence as implied by their expert teaching skills. There are opportunities to explore all arts, sciences, music, sports and social events. Everyday is "great" and it's a relief to watch our child's confidence grow in such an organic way at such a pivotal time in their life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

Amazing property, nice teachers, caring staff....weak academics. Kids are bored, teachers are uninspired and teach the same boring projects that put kids to sleep. Sports-- forget it. They can't hire real coaches bc they have to be from the church. We had to leave. Too bad bc the heart of this school is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

My son entered Berkeley Hall in 7th grade, and while most parents opt to have their kids settled in a school that offers high school,(so they don't have to do the application process again) we felt that our son needed the two extra years to become the student he is today. The teachers are nurtuting yet challenging. They are always available to answer questions, and are truly invested in making sure each child is grasping and excelling in the ciriculum. If a child is advanced in a topic, the instructor makes sure to give advanced coursework and assignments to keep them motivated and engaged. Dr. Staley is wonderful, and leads the school from both an educator and a parent perspective. The director of admissions, Nathalie, is equally fantastic, and is not only involved in admitting the students, but is instrumental in high school outplacement. Dr. Staley goes the extra step in preparing these middle school kids for high school by actually prepping them for their high school interviews--meeting individually with each student and having a mock interview. This is a priceless experience for the kids. My overall experience with Berkeley Hall has WELL over exceeded my expectations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

Berkeley Hall's junior high program worked miracles for my daughter. The faculty here actually care about the students and really do help each child realize her or his potential. I truly felt we were on the same team as the teachers and working collaboratively to help my child excel. The social environment is nurturing as well -- my shy daughter was elected to student council twice, was in all the plays and was one of the graduation speakers. They make each child feel special here, and they were wonderful with helping us find the right high school, and my daughter was well prepared academically for the rigors of high school at one of the best schools in west LA. Berkeley Hall is the best kept secret in Los Angeles. The campus is absolutely magical and secluded, the events and dances wholesome and appropriate. I wish they had a high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

We have been part of Berkeley hall for many many years, and now that we are leaving I am so happy to say that I have a well rounded, happy, confident and prepared child who will transition tremendously to her next school. Berkeley Hall has been a wonderful environment for my daughter, and I am happy to see that although there are good progressions that are happening, the core of the school remains the same. Which is, tremendous care and love for each child, and a real desire for each one to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

My son just finished kindergarte and had a fabulous year! He was challenged academically and pushed to excel at his best while still having plenty of time for social development and naps (remember kindergarten and naps!). New headmaster with a solid vision. A few hiccups as always exists with change but shecomes with a solid background a clear goals for students and educational excellence. Overall a great year! Would highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

All of my children have attended this school since nursery. They have not only had a wonderful academic experience, but have been nurtured and supported in having good values and good characters. Our oldest child was accepted to all three high schools he applied to and is thriving academically and socially. We have had a wonderful experience at Berkeley Hall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

I love this school!! My son who has been going here since Nursery, LOVES it! The parents are great, the teachers are excellent and the kids get along and love eachother!! I couldn't be happier, this school is a perfect fit for both me and my son!! Hooray!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

I have been a student at Berkeley Hall since Kindergarten. The teachers have never failed to teach me and support me through everything and we could not have asked for a better headmaster. We have science, art, wood shop, music, physical education, and drama in addition to many core subjects. I have never wanted to go to another school, and don not intend to until I graduate. Berkeley Hall has given me so much!


Posted June 8, 2010

Berkeley Hall School has given us more than we could ever have dreamed of. Lured initially by the beautiful 66 acre campus, we have been delighted and inspired by the high level of teaching and genuine warmth and love that the teachers convey to the kids. Our 3 children have been at the school for 5 years and are thriving academically, socially and physically. They love their school, their teachers and class-mates. BHS focuses on the development of each individual as a whole and while teaching a demanding curriculum, reinforces the importance of morality, social skills and mutual respect. The kids are happy, well-adjusted and therefore free to focus on learning. The classes have a good teacher-pupil ratio and are culturally and socially diverse. There is a fantastic after-school program and a strong, competitive athletic program. Our daughters have learned to be real team-players in soccer, swim team and volleyball. Parents are highly involved, their enthusiasm contagious which enriches the sense of community. It's a privilege to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

I am a veteran public school teacher and Berkeley Hall is the best school I have ever seen. My son transferred there this year and I can't find anything but goodness at this school. The curriculum is outstanding as are the teachers. They care about your child in every way. Academics are important but so is character and kindness. I would recommend this school above all others for an excellent and well-rounded education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

I am amazed at the exceptional educational experience my grandchildren are receiving at Berkeley Hall School! Academicaly, socially, emotionaly and physically, they are challenged, supported, praised and rewarded. But best of all, is the self-confidence they have developed in these children - not an arrogant self-conficence, but true, accurate and balanced self-confidence. Thank you, Berkeley Hall!


Posted October 13, 2008

i love this school! it is amazing the teachers are amazing specially the junior high teachers! I just love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

Antiquated methods and teachers who are not in touch with each child's specific needs, which is what they preach when you are inquiring about the school. Not a big pool of Christian Science teachers to pick from, leading to mediocre teachers who are either really old or who don't have a strong teaching background. A new Admissions Councelor is set on filling up each classroom with no regard to the teacher/student ratio. Campus is big and beautiful, but the buildings are crammed into each other with no cafeteria and some of the grades having to play on the blacktop of the parking lot in the mornings and after school. Great parental involvement. Great school for teaching good morals and ethics to your kids, which is quite important as well, but don't believe they will be getting a top notch education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

Eureka! Finally a school that gets it. It is about helping your kids learn, and fostering their love of learning. Our son has attended 7th grade here and wow what a difference from his other school. The teachers are genuinely interested in him, and make exceptional effort to help him with all of his studies. He is enthusiastic about learning again. As to concepts he needs extra time to learn, he gets all the help he needs. As to those he excels at, he is prompted to learn more. The focus is not on just running him through the curriculum, but on teaching him so he can learn to the best of his ability. They take him beyond the curriculum. They are also very focused on developing his character as a person, and citizen. The administration is very effective and efficient. The campus is incredible. You have to see it! Amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

My kids have been at BHS since the early childhood years and have loved going to school almost (!) every day of the last 8 years. We've seen a lot of growth at the school in the last couple years in particular. It's no longer the best kept secret in LA ! Teachers are caring and engaging and really strive to bring out the best in students, the academic program is constantly progressing, the athletic program is growing with BHS teams competing and winning (!) against other big-name schools, and cultural diversity is a huge plus. One of the best parts of the school are the grounded families who are not afraid to choose a school that helps kids achieve success and still be kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 26%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Black 10% 6%
Hispanic 9% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Lisle Staley
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (310) 476-5748

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Variety Show, Campout, Halloween Howl
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 30, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Various pre-schools
Public school
UCLA Lab School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$8000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Viewpoint School
Campbell Hall
Harvard-Westlake
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16000 Mulholland Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 476-6421

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mirman School, The
Los Angeles, CA


Westland School, The
Los Angeles, CA


Curtis School
Los Angeles, CA


Wise School
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT