Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Windward School

Private | 7-12 | 550 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $615,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2010

After more than 3 years I can say with certainty that Windward is academically disappointing. While a few teachers are outstanding, my child gets more than one dud every year. The school is particularly sub-par in terms of new hires: it doesn't seem to be able to pull in the best and brightest. BTW, AVERAGE academic class size for our student this year is 20. I don't like that it advertises 16:1 but my child has had classes of 24 or 25. Also, beware: many upper school sports teams don't have a JV - just because this school is small doesn't mean your child will get played on Varsity! On the upside: the school has a culture of "nice" -- it avoids a lot of Los Angeles private school social pressures. ps I am really trying to be honest in this review, not out to trash Windward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2010

Windward is awesome! Kids have a wonderful experience and parents enjoy a supportive, caring atmosphere from an excellent teaching staff. School spirit is amazing, Go Wildcats!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

This is the best school that I have seen so far. My kids are so happy here and have made many new friends. Although the school is not in the nicest area, it isn't in a completely bad area and has security guards just to make sure the kids are safe. and is a very nice school. This school has gorgeous facilities and is one of the best schools my child has been to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

After attending Windward for the past 5 years, I have realized what a mistake I made coming here. Despite what they say, you are just a number and some of the faculty is not up to par. While parents are impressed with the school, the kids for the most part are unhappy here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2008

I am now in my 8th year at Windward and each year I ve seen the school grow in its commitment to its core values, while working diligently to expand its understanding of the changing global world so that it can best provide the intellectual, social, and ethical support for its students. Windward s commitment to diversity in particular is tireless. The school is consistently growing in number to reflect the larger community (Los Angeles) in terms of socio-economics, religion, sexuality, and more. But what I find most appealing about Windward s view on diversity and what is evident in student interactions and student/faculty relationships is that it is one based in inclusion. The environment that is always being honed is one where everyone feels a part of the community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 26, 2008

By the end of this school year, our family will have been at Windward School for 14 years. Our experience has been great. Our three children who have gone on to college were academically well prepared by Windward. The school's strongest attribute is it's faculty. They are well educated, gifted teachers who are also supportive and caring towards their students. The school is not so large that kids get 'lost', but large enough to offer many varied activities for learning, sports, and the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2008

Windward students enjoy a strong academic program, great working relationships with faculty, and the freedom to pursue multiple interests. Participation in sports, the arts, clubs, and school events is widespread and enthusiastic. It has a wonderfully inclusive and fun-loving atmosphere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

Our family has been part of the Windward community for the last 10 years. It has been an excellent match for my two very different sons and a most welcoming and supportive group of parents, faculty and staff. It is an institution that strives for, and maintains the leading edge of academic excellence which is balanced by strong arts and athletic departments. It has been an experience which we have felt privileged to be a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

We have been fortunate enough to have all three children attend school at Windward. While they are all very different students, Windward accommodated each childs interests and potential. The communication between the students and teachers is amazing and as a parent I felt that the teachers are always receptive to dialogue. Regarding academics, my child who graduated last year was accepted at many top schools and is currently doing very well at a UC School. He felt he was very well prepared at Windward for the difficult college curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2008

Windward School has been an excellent choice for my daughter. I honestly cannot praise it enough! It has the ideal mix of great academics , wonderful staff and faculty, excellent sports but most importantly, when you step on campus and see with your own eyes the smiles of the students and teachers, their warmth and approachability and general compassionate and gracious demeanor of all you will know that this is where your child belongs!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

I would just like to point out this is a great school. But it isnt all what these parents are saying. Mostly it is an art school olny it isnt the best if you are not completly into arts. But it does have an athletic program but not the strongest in the city if you are looking for athletics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2006

Without question, the best school in Los Angeles. The faculty is the strongest in the city, the balance betweeen being a strong academic program and a nurturing environment is real and the athletics program is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2006

The quality of academic programs are outstanding. Music, art, sports and other extracurricular activies are available. Parents willingly volunteer at the school. The parents are very involved in their children's education and school activites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

Windward is a great school in that it provides a challanging academic college prep program that prepares students for college. They do and excellent job in the middle school in teaching study and research skills. What I like about the school is that the kids and parents are approachable and not to pretensis. Ths school promotes excellence not only in the classroom, but all aspects of school life including dance, music theater and sports. Their faculty are some of the best in the country and they have world class coaches(. Windward is also improving in the area of diversity of it's student population, but has a ways to go with it's faculty in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 26%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Black 8% 6%
Hispanic 5% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Steven Kierman
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11350 Palms Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90066
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 391-7127

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pacific Ohana Academy
Los Angeles, CA


Palms Middle School
Los Angeles, CA


Adat Shalom
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT