Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chester W. Morrison Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in Menifee

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $196,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2011

My son started 1st grade here a few months into the school year because we moved. He had the worst year ever. He went from a boy that loved school to one that never wanted to go. His teachers made him feel unliked and put him in the back of the class facing the wall to do his writing assignements. The worst was they would have him call me at home when he wouldn't do his writting. Not much I could do as a parent over the phone with my son crying. Isn't it there job to get the kids to do their work in class. The next year I took my son out of that school adn transfered him. He is back to the kid that loves school and his teacher. Don't put your kids in chester morrison
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

We started at Kindergarden and the 2 teachers we have had these last 2 years have been remarkable. My son has had a ton of health issue's and through it all they have understood and been great about it. I find you need to get to know your child's teacher to have that relationship with them, learned that from my mom, who helpd out in all of our classrooms. Our new Principal this year, Lynn Hanke has been wonderful, I love how she works with the kids and is willing at any time to speak with the parents. Last year they were giving out awards to the kids, which was nice, however not every child got one and I felt that was sending the wrong message to a child. That is not part of this year program. I have had no problems with any of the teachers or the office staff, I did with one but it was handled very well. I also wanted to add that you cannot judge a book by it's cover, you need to get involved with your child's teach in order to make a judgement and to make school a more suitable invirement for them. If we all work together then any school will be at the top!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

This school has suffored the effects of a weak principal and district. This school often has no administrator on campus and teachers have been overheard making negative coments about families, very unprofessional. Let's hope that the new principal can turn this school around and provide a calmer, drama free environment for our children to learn in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

great school friendly staff my son really loves it there and asks to go to school on saturday and sunday so he can learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

My daughter has attended this school since she was in First grade and is currently in 5th. She has always had the best teachers. She loves the music program and has a great music teacher that just inspires her. All the noon supervisors are great, along with the health techs. We were year round on B-track up until this year when the school district went to semi-traditional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

All out rating for me with this school is 4 1/2. All schools have room for improvement. 98 % of staffr and teachers are very concerned for their students. We all have a bad day once and awhile. The 2% I was not impressed with have gone on to other schools. This school trys hard to help out not only with the mnstudents but with the community. If you don't like what is happening at any school get up and make a difference. Join in , help, volunteer andmake sugestions. If you get no help from teacher go up the line to the principal, then to the disatrict. Stop complaining unless you help retify the problems. I do know the staff and they are not rude. They do check I.D.S as I have observed this first hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

I think since the former Principal left, Murdock, the administration has suffered. The Principal now is nowhere as friendly. Only gets to know a selected amount of parents and students. The former Principal got to know my children and even talked with me. I live so close to this school, but am a bit disappointed now at some of the staff. I used to be a wonderful school, now just average. I hope the Principal learns some more people skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

My daughter spent most of her kindergarten year at this school and I was not quite impressed with the curriculum level.The homework I thought was something that should have been given to pre-schoolers. I just don't believe you can learn enough in three hours. As far as staff goes, I think they are rude,and I think the principal does not have good leadership skills. I do know that there are some really good teachers there but in order to be a top school you must have a good administration lead by a competent principal,and the curriculum should be at or above grade level (preferably above).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

The office staff here is very rude and not very safe. They never check id when you are picking up early and they do not go out of their way for anyone. The teachers are average but I believe that is because the administration is average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

We moved here for this school. The administration are helpful and the teachers care about thier students. They always welcome parental involvement (and they have a wonderful PTA)! The school is going to split in half next year which will create a great advantage for all students who remain. This school was designed for a smaller number of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

First things first, this school starts way too early in the morning 7:30am! Overall, I think this school is just an average elementary school nothing extremely bad and nothing great to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

I've been really impressed with the attention my son's received from his 5th grade teacher. He started here late in the school year and was having some academic problems in the classroom. However, she had conferences with me and gave him the extra tutoring needed and his grades have greatly improved. She always made him feel good about himself and he even received an award this past month. It's so nice to have a teacher who really seems to care about her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2004

I love Morrison Elementary. My son is in Kindergarten going to first grade soon. After only a few short weeks of school, my son's teacher decided to go to another school to teach another grade. I was very concerned due to the fact that my son had already become attached to his teacher. And a few short weeks later they had hired a teacher that had the same caring and understanding attributes that the previous teacher had. My son is a young kindergartner, he turned 5 in October 2003 and now that he is going into first grade, he has excelled in reading and his penmanship has improved dramatically. Teachers are very caring and knowledgeable. I love that and can trust that his 1st grade teacher will be just as outstanding as his Kindergarten teacher is.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

847

Change from
2012 to 2013

+16

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

847

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+16

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Females94%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner73%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females87%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner82%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females49%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)38%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state37%

Math

All Students67%
Females68%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females71%
Males51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females63%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females73%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females80%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students70%
Females83%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 52%
White 39% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 11%
Black 3% 6%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lynn Hanke
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (951) 672-6436
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30250 Bradley Road
Menifee, CA 92584
Website: Click here
Phone: (951) 679-7076

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Santa Rosa Academy
Menifee, CA





On Track School
Menifee, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT