Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Menlo Park, CA
 

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

25 reviews of this school


Synapse School 3

Posted May 21, 2015
- a community member
We have mixed feelings about this school. It seems to be one of the few in the Bay Area that is not a pressure cooker of academic rigor, sticking to their philosophy of allowing children to love learning. On the other hand, the school seems to attract children who don't fit in other environments well because of classroom management issues, which can become very frustrating for students who do want to learn from teachers and each other.

Synapse School 5

Posted March 18, 2013
- a parent
Our older child has been attending Synapse for two years and LOVES it. He looks forward to school everyday. The teachers and staff are positive, caring and engaging. They pay close attention to child's needs, strengths and weaknesses, be it emotional, social, academical or intellectual. The open communication between teachers, staff and parents ensure that concerns are immediately addressed and have positive lifelong impact on the child. The students are curious and most have age appropriate deep and logical thinking skills. Each morning the teachers check in on the children's emotions and their progress during the day. This helps the children to be emotionally secure and confident which is fundamental for their social, intellectual and academic development. After a year at Synapse, our older child (who has been Mensa member for years) experienced an increase in his IQ score by 11 points, and is more mature and responsible. My 3rd child also attends Synapse this year. She used to resist new ideas for fear of failing and is now open to new ideas and voices her opinions and is really confident in engaging several adults at once in a conversation. Our children LOVE Synapse


Synapse School 5

Posted March 18, 2013
- a parent
It's hard to make the bold choice to send your child to a relatively new school. Will it be stable...are there effective systems in place...are the curriculum and logistics solid. In short, do these people really know what they're doing? In the case of Synapse, the answer is YES. It's not just that the curriculum is sophisticated and impressively implemented. It's not just that the administration and teachers are warm, approachable and personally invested in the success of each student. Or that the environment is joyful, vibrant, and a touch nerdy. The kicker is that everyone -- teachers, administrators and parents -- is here by choice, and is fully committed to the mission of the school. The parent community is engaged and supportive, not just of the students and teachers, but of each other. And in return, the administration respects and supports parents, helping us to learn and grow along with our children. As an institution, Synapse is very nimble, and issues are handled in an efficient, humane and thoughtful way. The emphasis on Social and Emotional Learning is woven into every interaction at every level. Synapse doesn't just talk about it -- they do it, day in and day out.

Synapse School 5

Posted November 08, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter started in September as a Kindergartner (Level 1) and we could not be happier. At the end of the day we were searching for a school that would keep her fire and passion to learn alive all while having a lot of fun. The things that drew us to Synapse (to name a few) were the block scheduling, the low teacher to child ratio, the helical model, the injection of fun and humor, the social-emotional component and the fact that they were incorporating the latest research as to how kids learn into the school imagine that?!? The school really seemed too good to be true based on what we heard a year ago in the Parent Information night, but I have to say, we are 3 months in and we are thrilled Synapse is walking the talk. Our daughter has a great group of classmates that fortunately come with an awesome set of parents that we are enjoying getting to know. Our daughter comes home each day totally charged with all the new things that she has learned and we see her applying what she has learned all the time. Synapse just keeps adding oxygen to that fire and it-is-a-blazing and we love it. Thank you Synapse!

Synapse School 5

Posted March 18, 2012
- a parent
We have found this school to be the right fit for our gifted child. Synapse uses a helical model of instruction, which allows the children to explore and idea before formally learning about it. As a result, they have a greater ability to understand and retain both concepts and details. The community, like most communities in this area, has a wide range of people. Thankfully, everyone seems to share the commitment to this out-of-the-box approach to curriculum. Therefore, despite huge personality differences amongst the parents, it is still a cohesive, collaborative community in which we enjoy mom's nights out and school-wide outings.


Synapse School 2

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
Beware of the glowing reviews. I found these administrators and parents to be entitled elitists. It was a lot of money that equalled no bang for the buck. Don't waste your money.

Synapse School 4

Posted December 11, 2011
- a parent
What works: Amazing eclectic, talented, friendly, highly involved parent/student community---the best! Interesting curriculum, effective differentiation, teachers know individual students and work with their respective needs/learning styles, safe/accepting social environment across genders and ages, teachers and administration inspire intellectual learning and personal growth, highly experienced administrative staff (unfortunately only there part-time) What needs improvement: For financial efficiency and effective execution of complex curriculum, NEEDS a single, full time head of school with solid leadership skills and experience working with/managing innovative learning environments for gifted children, would do well to increase job search range to beyond Six Seconds and Notre Dame for the sake of leadership strength, effectiveness and accountability, one or two teachers are highly talented with gifted children, others are above average and will be better with a few more years under their belts and some classroom management training

Synapse School 5

Posted December 06, 2011
- a parent
My child started attending Synapse this year, after attending a very highly regarded public school. His previous school was very "one size fits all," and he was bored. He never shared classroom experiences at home. We knew we had to get him in an environment that was a better fit for his personality and talents, or he would slowly lose his enthusiasm for learning. We found it at Synapse! The teachers are incredibly involved, and knowledgeable about gifted learners. The other students are bright, well behaved kids. The parent community is very welcoming. We love the fact that there are TWO teachers for 15 kids! Best of all - my son doesn't want to come home at the end of the day! He has a learning "buzz" every day after attending Synapse. Highly recommend!


Synapse School 5

Posted December 02, 2011
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about this gem of a school. From the founders (the founding team from The Nueva School) to the teachers (bright, creative,hard working, passionate) to the community (wonderful, committed and involved families) the school is amazing. My children love it! I have never seen them so engaged and so inspired to learn. Synapse represents the best of Silicon Valley-- innovative, creative, passionate and entrepreneurial. I feel very fortunate that we found such a wonderful school.

Synapse School 5

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
My gifted kids LOVE this school. The hands-on learning, individual attention and integration of emotional intelligence make this an atmosphere where they thrive. I am SO impressed by the depth of learning and the creative approaches to subject areas. My children have never before been so engaged and excited about the learning process. The Synapse community has been a gift for our entire family.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Synapse School
3375 Edison Way, Menlo Park, CA  94025
(650) 294-4570
Last modified Synapse School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Synapse School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top