Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Millbrae, CA

4 stars
Based on 40 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


62 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mills High School 1

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
This school is just horrible, do NOT send your children here, send them to somewhere like CAP. Mills is just getting worse and worse, I would advise you to send your children to CAP.
1 person found this helpful

Mills High School 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is fantastic. The students, teachers and administration are friendly, down to earth and committed. No snobs and no heavy partying. The balance of academics, the arts and sports is just right. The teachers and Principal are committed to making Mills an excellent place to learn and thrive. I've been involved with PTAs since my kids were in elementary school, and by far, the staff at Mills are the most approachable and receptive to parent/student input. The Principal takes the time to "know" the students and parents, and listens to complaints and most importantly, works with parents, students and staff to make Mills the best that it can be. If you are looking for a high school without all the drama, but with academic, artist and sports excellence and spirit. this is the place to go.


Mills High School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is starting her Senior year at Mills. She has stuggled in school since Kindergarten. Dispite my best efforts she was never able to obtain an IEP from Millbrae elementary, but kudos to Mills for providing her with an IEP when she stuggled as a freshman. The faculty are very positive and flexible with alternate learners, and willing to work with the Special Education staff to ensure evaluations measure learning. The Principle is in touch with students and parents and comes across as very professional at school board meetings. Additional kudos to the Track and cross country coaching staffs for building strong individual and team work ethic and supporting growth in student athletes.

Mills High School 4

Posted June 25, 2014
- a community member
Mills high school is a good school, great teachers, needs some updating on it's appearence, but other then than it's great, I would send my daughter here.

Mills High School 5

Posted January 09, 2014
- a community member
This school is very academically centered. That can be a good and sometimes bad thing however I found that being motivated to be the best and have good grades to be a very positive thing. I noticed a comment about classes being too big, as a former student I never saw a class above 35. I don't know where they found 40... The teachers made sure to get to know everyone and always payed attention to everyone. I absolutely love this school and am glad to be a Mills Alumni. By the way, the theater is the best!


Mills High School 1

Posted June 23, 2013
- a parent
I moved my daughter from this school after 9th grade. She did fine academically but the classes were not focused enough on learning. The class sizes were too large. There was not a class with less than 40 students. There was a non caring attitude from some of the teachers and a emphasis on teaching to the state testing.

Mills High School 5

Posted August 14, 2012
- a parent
Principal has excellent rapport with students, faculty, staff, parents. Knows most students by name. A parent himself, he understands the pressures families and kids face. He is very frank about challenging the notions of success in our competitive culture. Most teachers are excellent, though like at any school there are a few duds. But many go the extra mile for their students, especially the extracurricular advisors. Mills has terrific extracurricular programs like Model UN, Mock Trial, Robotics, FHA-HERO, Quiz Kids. As an active volunteer, I have met some of the friendliest, nicest, well-mannered young people at Mills. Student and parent communities are VERY welcoming. My kids transferred in but quickly made friends. I was readily accepted by PTO (not at all clique-ish, like many parent groups). My kids and I have really enjoyed experiencing another facet of California's diversity. (Our middle school was about 50% Hispanic/Latino, Mills is majority Asian.) Many people say Mills is "too hard" or "too competitive." Not so. My kids came from a middle school that is in program improvement and excelled at Mills, which is a welcoming, challenging and nurturing environment.

Mills High School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Mills is the best in the district in academics (; We rock in most sports. school spirit is off the charts! 2012 (;


Mills High School 5

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
I feel I'm a part of everything they do, we're like family(=

Mills High School 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a student
It Has won many 'most distinguished school' awards, and it is extremely spirited.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mills High School
400 Murchison Drive, Millbrae, CA  94030
(650) 558-2599
Last modified Mills High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mills High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. Top