Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John Sinnott Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in Milpitas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $400,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2014

This is best school I have known. They are very strict about bully, All teachers my kids had(have) are great. the current principle Mr. Frascone is full of energy, and good to kids and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

My little Girl attends Mrs. Barber (Also known as Mrs. Hughes) class since grade 1. Now she is grade 2. We are very happy to have Mr. Barber as my daughter teacher for 2 years. Mr. Barber is a creative and charming teacher who can teach and lead little boys and girls to trigger their desire to learn. She is a great communicator with parents also. Every week, we receive her class letters to update class progression and news. It is also very lucky that grade 2 have many devoted parents who care about the education. Some of parents spend time to help grade home work or support some activities. Mrs. Barber classes are academic strong and also socially strong. We also are very happy to have Mr. Frascone as the principle of John Sinnott Elementary. He makes John Sinnott's teachers and administrators boost morale. School API just jump to 927 and become the highest elementary school API in Milpitas in 2013. Although I am not a fan of Golf or Football, I can feel his energy to want students to adopt healthy life style and have warm feeling in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My little girl attended Mrs. Hoeppner's class (kindergarten) last year and she loved it. Mrs. Hoeppner was strict, but was very attenative through one-on-one connection and hand-on experience with her students. She taught my daughter a lot of things among them are discipline and the importance of being on time at school. The only complain that I had is the drop off zone right in front of the school. The flow of traffic and the limited drop off zone does not allow efficient time for my kid to make it to class on time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We just started this school but from day 1, my 1st grader is all smiles. He has been to several school, most recently from a private school and never have I seen him this happy! He has never showed this much enthusiasm and joy! With high API, I knew it wouldn't be a disappointment but I'm very surprised how much he likes it. Only complaint is that his teacher doesn't update her website like other teachers do. I wish she was more technically savvy and use her site to communicate to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

Best Elementary school in Milpitas. Great ! Teachers My daughter public speaking skills has been improved lot. She loves to go to school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

While Sinnott's API score was a 9 last year, there's a new principal who reaches out to parents (Mr. Frascone) vs. last year's principal who was fairly apathetic, the office staff is seemingly overwhelmed at the start and end of school, but has plenty of time to chat it up when class is in session, taking their SWEET TIME to attend to parents coming into the office with questions/concerns/etc. They weren't even chatting about school related business, mind you. My child has been at Sinnott for almost three years now. For the most part, I think most of the teachers are great. I haven't had any problems with the teachers. A big downside that compounds traffic and irritation from obnoxious students and surrounds the younger ones at the elementary school w/ negative examples is the nearby Rancho Middle School. While this review is of Sinnott Elementary, the schools adjoin and are separated only by a driveway/parking lot. The students from Rancho go over to the elementary school after they get out of class and shout obscenities and partake in disrespectful behavior towards one another ON Sinnott School grounds and notifying the front office staff did nothing! We hope to move soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

What a great school. Everyone, from teachers to principal to parents, are fully involved in taking the kids and school to the next level. My 2 kids go here and they really enjoy the diversity and teaching style.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

This year my son is in Ms Shieu's fourth grade class and he loves it ! She is a really great teacher and makes learning fun for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2011

My daughter has been attending this school for the last 2 years. We are very happy with the quality of education here. The teachers are experienced, sincere, and highly professional. The student body is a diverse mix of all social, ethnic and economic groups.There are variety of other extra-curricular activities for students as well. The PTA is also very active and organize fun filled events throughout the year. Comparing my child to other children who attend expensive private schools (read Challenger, Stratford etc.), I really don't see much difference overall. We are very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2011

Great school with great teachers. My kids are thriving here and I love the diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

My Daughter has been attending Sinnot for the last 2 years and I should say that I am very happy with the teaching and the extracarricular activities this school has to offer. This year she has Mrs. Adrianne Barber as her second grade teacher. She is such a wonderful teacher!! Her ability to connect with her students and her talent at teaching simple concepts, as well as more advanced topics, are both truly superior. She accomplishes these tasks with great initiative and with a very positive attitude. Talented and enthusiastic, she always finds new and creative ways to teach the most challenging material. At the same time she is very patient, encouraging and has a great sense of humor. My daughter has enjoyed each and every day this academic year , she looks forward to go to school which is such a surprise from a girl who used to look for reasonsnot to attend ... I can t recommend Mrs. Adrianne Barber enough..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

Mrs. Cochrane is a great teacher. I'm glad that she's staying in 1st grade because I coudln't have asked for a better 1st grade teacher for my son when he was in 1st grade (2 years ago). After a bad year in kindergarten, we considered a private school nearby, but we thought we'd give this school another chance before we moved our son. That was the right decision. Mrs. Cochrane was a fantastic! She had the right combination of discipline with compassion and understanding, for an active 6 year old boy. She connected with him on what interested him personally. To this day, she is his favorite teacher. I couldn't have asked for a better 1st grade teacher for my son, and I hope my daughter will have her as her 1st grade teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

Ms Taft in 4th grade is the best,my dtr wants to be a teacher like her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

Mrs. Barber (2nd grade) is an excellent teacher. She is very creative and make fun environment for kids to learn naturally the best way of learning! I think kids in her class made great progress in both academically and socially, since her continual efforts to encourage children. In fact, Sinnott is a great school; they emphasize on learning but not spent too much time on improving testing scores (scores come naturally after good learning). I like Sinnott!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

Our three kids have all gone to Sinnott. Most recently we have seen the most difficult of economic times hit our school system. But I can't say enough of the quality of the teachers dedicated to teaching and committed to do the best they can during this period to the extent that they shield the kids from the administrative issues. Very, very professional and knowledgeable teaching staff. Very safe environment for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

My daughter was in Mrs Barber's class last year, she loves to go to school because Mrs. Barber makes learning fun, and she keeps close contact with the parents so we know our kids is in good hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

This is our first year with a child at Sinnott Elementary. We've only had a month of experience with the school, but so far, so good. I'm adding this review primarily as a counterpoint to the two reviews below indicating that the current principal, Ms. Espino, is unapproachable and condescending. I've had reason to have a couple of extended personal interactions with her regarding our child, as well as a few group interactions, and I've found her to be VERY approachable and not at all condescending. Her constant emphasis has been on a collaborative approach to the education of children at Sinnott, involving parents as a very important part of the process. I'm new to public education as a parent, and Ms. Espino (and other staff) have been very available and helpful in providing me information regarding the content and process of public education these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

Sinnott Elementary is amazing! My daughter is always exited to go to school. Miss Acosta did a great job in kinder class in building up academic performance to student. I feel safe with sinnott Elementary for nice & freindly environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2008

Sinnott's been an excellent school. Most of the teachers my child has had have been top notch. This year, I rank it very poor, not because of the teachers but because of the prinicpal. Because it's her first year here, one would think she would develop a rapport with the parents but she's been unapproachable and is totally different from last year's administrator who was very personable . I know many parents who feel the same. How unfortunate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

The teachers at John Sinnott elementary school are dedicated to personalized connections with their students. This learning environment truly enhances a child's esteem and love of life long learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

927

Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

927

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females71%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females88%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner87%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females79%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asian76%
Filipino77%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner73%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students92%
Females94%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learner88%
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females93%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipino80%
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner76%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females91%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner88%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females91%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipino58%
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner94%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females94%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian98%
Filipino67%
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner72%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students88%
Females91%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian98%
Filipino67%
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner94%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females88%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females84%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 72% 11%
Hispanic 11% 52%
White 11% 26%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2025 Yellowstone Avenue
Milpitas, CA 95035
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 635-2674

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Merryhill School
Milpitas, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT