Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Jose Street Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
MS BROWN MS SHAKIRIAN MS GOMEZ MS B THANK YOU FOR BEING INVOLVE WITH OUR CHILDRTEN EDUCATION

San Jose Street Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
some teachers have different teaching methods' s than other teachers overall its good and effective.


San Jose Street Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
it just right for our kids in between their school and sports HOME ASSIGNMENTS thank you !

San Jose Street Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
PRINCIPAL IS ALWAYS ALERT WITH ALL HER STAFF/CHILDREN/AFTER SCHOOL PROGRAM IS AWSOME! THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR SUPPORT GEORGE CONTRERAS / XAVIER CONTRERAS

San Jose Street Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
XAVIER CONTRERAS IS MY SON WITH A DISABILITY OF AUTISM SAN JOSE HAS BEEN SO WOUNDERFUL TO US .OUR PRINCIPAL AND STAFF , TEACHERS MAKE THE DIFFERENSCE IN OUR SONS EDUCATION ONCE AGIAN THANK YOU!


San Jose Street Elementary School 2

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
The new teachers need A LOT of highly gifted trainings, ethics (honesty), and communication skills. Where is the administration who can train them better?? For Math, until you get into the higher grade with 5th grade teacher, this is NOT the place to be poor explanations and lazy teaching methods. The Academics are not that hard --it's easy for these kids. There's little to no homework also none for the last month of last year. The 5th grade teacher is the best and hopefully she will not transfer out as the other great teachers have left this past year--ask around. This has left us parents and our kids with teachers that the school just pulled in Only 1 person interviewed for the job of 4th grade teacher I think it was the case for the 2/3 teacher as well. Sorry to admit this but the teacher quality stinks in Magnet starting in 2013 for 2/3... Go see the teacher(s) and judge for yourself. The regular home school is trying to do it's best and some teachers are very good at bringing in the common core and still making the curriculum interesting (in resident school) good luck if you end up here.

San Jose Street Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a community member
Both of my daughter attended this elementary school from Pre-K to 5/6. Being a public elementary school, my daughter really enjoyed attending the school, loved their teachers, - who are really caring and help my daughters achieve their best. Most of the staff and teacher are very friendly and care for the student at San Jose Street School and are committed to maximizing individual student performance, inspiring students interest and instilling a sense of self-worth among all students. As a parent one of the most important components to your child's education is being involved and building a relationship with your child's teacher, be it volunteering in the classroom, doing things from home or just donating items to the classroom. We as parents must work along side the teachers to make sure our kids are staying on track and working with them when they need that extra support.

San Jose Street Elementary School 1

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
Reading other postings regarding bullying was very upsetting that this school allowed this type of behavior to occur on school campus! The Principal, teachers and yard duty staff all need to take a seminar class/meeting on bullying. This behavior is not acceptable nor should it be tolerated without facing some serious consequences.


San Jose Street Elementary School 1

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
This school is big disappointment to me and my son. This school did not help him when he was bullied over months in schoolyard. He was called bad names and was told he was weird and stupid by kids that have no right saying this. My child felt very bad about himself and is not trusting toward others because others were not responded to his complaints. He felt that the teachers did not care about him or hear him. It is very sad to see my child hating school and he is good studnt.

San Jose Street Elementary School 1

Posted June 08, 2013
- a parent
We are in regular school and are extremely disappointed and very upset. Some of the teacher are good, but we experience a lot of bullying and nasty talk. Some of the playground personal should not be working with kid since they have no skills at handling kids and the problems coming along with them. My child is so happy the school year is over.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Jose Street Elementary School
14928 Clymer Street, Mission Hills, CA  91345-2111
(818) 365-3218
Last modified San Jose Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
San Jose Street Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. Top