Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Mission Viejo, CA
Students enrolled: 995

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


La Paz Intermediate School 1

Posted November 15, 2014
- a parent
This school needs new leadership! It's time for the district to replace the Principal with a person that actually understands what the students need. The administration is about appearances and test scores and not about students and their needs. Student safety and student learning should always be the first priority and with what my child experienced at La Paz it was clear that student safety was not the first priority!

La Paz Intermediate School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
My 8th grader has really soared at this school. He went from average grades to all A's and a few B's. It is obvious how much the teachers enjoy teaching by their enthusiasm and my own student's development. The parent involvement is pretty great. Those parents who are involved put in 100% and put together: International Day, 7th grade Renaissance Fair, Zombie Fundraiser, etc. I would only suggest that the District invest in more technology including a more robust wifi for the technology classes.


La Paz Intermediate School 4

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
In response to the previous review. The scores speak for the school. I suggest you use spellcheck, or review the more rigorous English curriculum before posting.

La Paz Intermediate School 1

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
This school is awful they do evrything there own way not the districts way, and the music teacher is awful she visited my daughters school and look at her and said "i bet you want me to shut up now dont you" this school deserves a 4 too much ressecces los alisos only has one its a way better school

La Paz Intermediate School 5

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
My son is in 7th grade and absolutely loves La Paz. One of his comments was, "You can't not learn there. The teachers make it so easy." He has become so much more independent and responsible with his homework. The teachers are very involved with each student's progress and encourage them to achieve their best.


La Paz Intermediate School 1

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
I have never seen such a high concentration of teachers who refuse to teach and instead assign worksheets that they *hope* give some knowledge to the student. I feel bad for the few teachers who really try to teach and who's reputation is just ruined by the others.

La Paz Intermediate School 5

Posted September 05, 2012
- a parent
Excellent. I am very happy with this school. My son just graduated from the school. He has gain the skills and confidence he needs to prepare for high school. The teachers are 6 stars. Everything was super, including the fun sports activities during lunch time. Best pick intermediate school.

La Paz Intermediate School 5

Posted July 25, 2012
- a parent
with only two years of middle school & 900+ students, people have a variety of experiences. My sensitive 7th grader had an easy entry b/c of the WEB program (Where Everyone Belongs) & that La Paz places all students in groups- "tribe, village, or camp"- where they share the same teachers. Yes, there will be some students who tease & bully others, & you may not like a teacher anywhere, but the school culture matters. Staff involvement in school activities was great (even after school--better than our top-rated elementary school!) & when my student had a tough time, the school counselor, VP, & teachers were extremely helpful. Love the music program (band w/ Mr Robbins-- I hear great things about orchestra too). Since it is a daily class, with performances at night, kids feel a part of something special. (I hear similar things about Drama, & the Arts electives from other parents.). The key for me is parent involvement, & since many struggle to find a balance b/t allowing their tween some space yet staying involved, it's sometimes lacking. Office staff are very helpful, the principal (Ms Carroll) is amazing, with just the right amount of the "cool" factor for the kids & authority.


La Paz Intermediate School 5

Posted August 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

La Paz Intermediate School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2008
- a student
I am a student in the seventh grade at la paz. It is a great school, and has the best teachers in the state. It would be very hard to find a better than this. All of the classes are really intense, though, and require a lot of effort and focus. But it's because of the intensity of the school that I've learned so much. The teacher are really involved, and they're constantly doing things to make the experience at La Paz more enjoyable. This would be a great school option. Trust me

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

La Paz Intermediate School
25151 Pradera Drive, Mission Viejo, CA  92691
(949) 830-1720
Last modified La Paz Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
La Paz Intermediate School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top