Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Daniel J. Savage Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1112 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2012

I have been reaching out to the office staff and Mr. Wood for over a week with no results. I have been told several times I would receive a call back in the afternoon only to receive no return calls. I also emailed Mr Wood with the concern about my daughter only to be brushed off. I am greatly discouraged by the response of the administrative staff at Savage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2010

Im a junior in high school now, but I did go here it was pretty good. I was in the orchestra and really appreciatte the music teacher now that I have the one I have now.... haha but yes I would recommend this school but I do feel theres a lot to be desired.


Posted August 17, 2009

it is the best school I've been to and the nicest. The staff is so nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2009

You can't even imagine how much we love Savage middle school! Teachers, faculty, coaches, and band teacher, and yes the principal...you just can't find better! my daughter is graduating this year, and this school will be missed!!!, but the memories, and experiences my daughter will be taking away from there, will last her a lifetime.....She is already talking about when she goes back to visit......that is a sign of a great School, dont you think? Look out Mr Holton....Robertson...she will be looking for you! =D PS Get your child involved!! Sports, band, art, so many things to choose from.....they will be better for the experience !!! I promise!! Go Savage you rock!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

One of the best middle school in the state excellent teachers and classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My son transferred from another school his 8th grade year to Dan Savage with F's and D's,with help of the principal and te teacher's, my son is now graduatating with A's and B's.He loves school and has not miss a day of school. He's whole outlook in school has changed and my famly and I would like to thank the teacher's and the principal for giving my so a chance and a future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

The D.J.Savage staff is great! Teachers,Administration,& counselors alike...we could not have picked a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

My son and I LOVE this shcool! We have moved to the East part of town when he was in 5th grade. We had a city transfer that allowed him to go to a school in a different district. WE decided to send him to Savage instead of finishing his last year of elementary school. He was below average there. Hello! He is now an above average student who now excels in all his classes!! Yay Dan Savage! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

I have 2 children currently attending. This is our first year at Savage. My children transferred from a smaller charter school. In a school this size my children falling through the cracks and not being challenged was my major concern. That concern was quickly assuaged when my children were placed in advanced classes, and through conversation with them I KNOW they are made to work hard in these classes! Moreover, despite the large size of the school, the teachers strive for a small school feel by inviting open dialogue with parents. So far, I am very happy we made the switch!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

I am currently ateendin Daniel Savage Middle School. This school is one of the best schools I have ever been to, and I have attented many. Almost every teacher at this school is so involved in their students' success. Also, our sports teams are awesome! We have the best principal any student would ever dream of, and he is very supportive of our academics and other participations in the school. Mr. Garcia attends every event and remains an awesome romodel. It is a very friendly school and have awesome sports teams, teachers, students, parents, and overall guidance. I love being a part of this school and I wouldn't have it any other way. Kaleen Gamblin
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2008

This school is one of the worst schools in the whole county and has the most prison feeling enviroment that a student could ever wish for. Although the settings of this poorly placed, cow smelling, instution do not at all effect the school's small amount of decient teachers. Not to name any names but some are just simpler than others. -A concered student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2007

I am a proud parent of two boys attending Dan Savage Middle School. DSMS is an amazing school with a diverse student population. Mr. Garcia is a very dedicated and involved principal. He comes thru to any parent issues you might have. This school also has the best music teacher (Mr. Holtan) and football coach(Mr. J),which my boys speak highly of. I feel that my sons attending Dan Savage, that they are getting the best education and becoming well rounded boys who love going to school everyday. Mrs Gonzalez
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

836

Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

836

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
81%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
60%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females71%
Males63%
African American64%
Asian65%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females59%
Males57%
African American36%
Asian72%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females70%
Males50%
African American50%
Asian59%
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state45%

Math

All Students57%
Females57%
Males56%
African American38%
Asian55%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate40%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to state45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students77%
Females82%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females72%
Males52%
African American56%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state43%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students52%
Females63%
Males43%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disability4%
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state20%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students63%
Females68%
Males57%
African American63%
Asian79%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state38%

Science

All Students84%
Females84%
Males85%
African American72%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate75%
Parent education - high school graduate86%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 27%
Hispanic 35% 51%
Asian 8% 11%
Black 5% 7%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 Maid Mariane Lane
Modesto, CA 95355
Phone: (209) 552-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT